We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Excellent breakfast buffet.”
Review of Hotel Urbani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Urbani
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Turin
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location. Excellent breakfast buffet.”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

The hotel is located within 5mins of the main train station, which made getting in and out a breeze. The breakfast was really good with a large selection of cold cereals, pastries, eggs, cheese, cold cuts, and lots of different coffees and hot chocolates to choose from. We had a double room, which meant two singles that we pushed together. It is located in a great spot that allowed us to walk pretty much everywhere we needed to get to. It also had a fridge, which most European Hotels do not, which allowed us to keep white wine and beer cold...a definite plus!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    581
    181
    33
    30
See reviews for
161
412
91
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We wanted a hotel near Porta Nuova Train Station - and Urbani is only 100 metres or so from the station. It was excellent value for money, costing us only 65 euro incl. breakfast. The room was clean, neatly furnished, and had a good bathroom. Initially we were given a twin room overlooking the road.
We returned to the desk and asked if we could have a 'matrimoniale' (double bedded room), and were straight away given keys for a room on about the 5th floor overlooking the courtyard at the back of the hotel. This roomed seemed nicer, quieter, had a small balcony, and the beds made up as a double. Breakfast was pretty good - a buffet. Coffee was do-it-yourself from a machine, so not that nice.
Overall a good value and pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteladdictnumberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Only drawback I would like to point out is that if you are in one of the rooms on the top (first) floor of the little annexe out at the back, if it is raining then you get a lot of noise on the roof. Otherwise it's just about good value. Staff are helpful, rooms are clean, and it's very handy for Porta Nuova station and the airport bus.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We've been in Turin in august 2008 and it was great.
I have chosen based on several reviews on [--] and it was a great chose.
We stayed in a double room and it was very clean. The breakfast was diversified and rich.
The staff was very helpful, they speak English very good.

Turin was also great, but we only stayed 4 days and couldn't do all the staff we wanted. We bought the tourist pass card that saved as a lot of money. With this card we had free access to many museums and free bus transportation also.

Overall we had a great time and i would like to visit Turin also in winter.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniela_mardale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

The hotel was nice and easy to find. Away from the expensive part of town but still within walking distance to all the shops, bars and restaurants. You might read a few reviews about the hotel being in the 'red light' area of town but believe me you don't notice a thing. The rooms were lovely and clean with a small balcony. As for the staff, what lovely welcoming people from the chambermaids to the front of desk people. The breakfast was one of the biggest and best I've ever seen, the choice was amazing.
To cap it off, will we be going back to Turin, yes, and will we stay at the Urbani again, most definately.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — did book a double room but was given a room with tho single beds but this was quickly changed
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrightonMandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

I just checked out after having stayed 3 nights at the Urbani.
Overall this is an excellent choice to stay in Torino. It is in the center of everything, the area is ok, the rooms are great value for money and spotlessly clean, the breakfast is above average and the people working here are very polite and helpful.

This is an excellent value for money choice if you want to stay in the heart of Torino and its position among the tripadvisor review hotels in Torino is fair.

  • Liked — The value for money!
  • Disliked — The "thin" walls...
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank npapachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

I spent five nights in Turin in May 2008 and stayed at the Urbani. I had business downtown on the Via Po and chose the Urbani based on location and Tripadvisor reviews. My experience at the Urbani was excellent. I had no major problems and relatively few minor quibbles.

The hotel is in a five story building with a good sized elevator. The ground floor contains the 24 hour reception/bar, two pleasant lounges, and the breakfast room. My room was on the fifth floor overlooking Via Saluzzo, and as such, had a ceiling that sloped down towards the window, giving limited headroom next to the bed. Other than that, the room was fine. There was usable desk, a safe and a minibar. Don’t expect to find the minibar prices listed anywhere in the room – you’ll find them on the hotel’s TV channel and you will also find that they are the same as the (reasonable) prices in the bar downstairs. The TV itself is a small old CRT job and it didn’t get very many channels. The bathroom was clean, and a good size. It had a shower, not a bath. It had air conditioning but because I was there in May I used the window, rather than air conditioning to keep the room cool, so I don’t know how well it worked.

Via Saluzzo is a bit noisy, especially early in the morning when the garbage trucks come by. I imagine that it’s worse on the lower floors. I’m used to city noises and it didn’t bother me, but if that’s an issue try to get a room on the other side.

The people at reception were very helpful and pleasant. There’s a computer in the lounge that they will set you up on so you can access the internet and your email, although it’s pretty expensive. On the other hand, they sent a FAX for me at a very reasonable rate.

This was my first trip to Italy and I’d heard that the breakfasts in Italian hotels were pretty poor. If so you couldn’t prove it by the Urbani. I thought the buffet breakfasts were great: lots of croissants, buns, cheese, ham, and breakfast cereals. There was also some fruit. The coffee machine coffee was fine, and if you wanted they’d make you a fresh cappuccino in the kitchen and bring it to your table. People who really like fresh juice in the morning are out of luck. The juice machine only dispenses a juice-like beverage.

For me the location was perfect. It’s only one street away from the Porta Nuova station which, in terms of arriving and leaving, is an excellent place to be. The bus from the airport drops you right in front of the station (11 Euros in 2008), if you’re heading to France by train the Porta Nuova is where you want to be, and there’s a metro station right in front that will take you to the othertrain station (Porta Susa). It’s about a 20 min walk to the Piazza Castello and a little less than that to Parco del Valentino.

The hotel is on the edge of the San Salvario district, which has seen a lot of illegal immigration from North Africa and the Balkans and in the 1990s was a little bit notorious as a dangerous neighbourhood. It seems pretty tame now, although there are hookers working the Via Nizza, one street away. In any case, the hotel is only two blocks along Via Saluzzo from Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, and that walk is quite safe. So if you don’t fancy a walk through the San Salvario district, you don’t need to go into it to get to and from the hotel. Incidentally, the walk down Corso Vittorio Emanuele II to the river is very nice day and night and you will find some interesting cafés and restaurants there.

Overall: I’d stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BCBoy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
San Salvario
Best Western Hotel Genio
Starhotels Majestic
#16 of 129 in Turin
1,108 reviews
Centro
Best Quality Hotel Gran Mogol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crocetta
Best Western Hotel Luxor
Centro
Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urbani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urbani

Property: Hotel Urbani
Address: Via Saluzzo 7, 10125 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > San Salvario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Turin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Urbani 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Urbani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbani Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing