We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ai Savoia B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ai Savoia B&B
Ranked #62 of 195 Turin B&B and Inns
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Dark rooms, small beds, no service.
For 115 euro a night, there is better to find in Turin...

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartVDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    65
    43
    22
    7
See reviews for
29
87
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We were in Turin for the showing of the shroud, and I'll admit I looked at lots of other places closer to the Duomo. But this turned out to be a very good experience.

It's more a historic hotel than a B&B. The proprietor didn't speak the best English, but we managed just fine.

I never did figure out if they took credit cards, as he asked for a bank transfer to secure the room and we paid in cash just in case.

We checked in at the main building where breakfast was served. One of the staffers then led us across the plaza and down a street to the building where our room was located. Three keys and a tiny elevator later, and we were there.

The room was spacious -- one of the biggest of our whole two-week stay in Italy. The furnishings fit the historical nature of the room, although the bath was modern and we had a fridge and cable TV. It wasn't luxurious, but we were quite comfortable.

The toilet seat slipped, the kitchen faucet wasn't attached well, and the stove in the room had been disconnected, but we didn't feel any of these things were a major problem.

One of our windows overlooked Garibaldi, which we enjoyed. We closed the shutters and heavy drapes and had no problem with noise.

Breakfast was back in the main building, and it was fine -- typical meat, cheese , yogurt and pastries. Coffee cups were small, but the server didn't seem to mind refilling our cups three times.

The stroll along Garibaldi to the Duomo and other attractions was pleasant. We didn't feel too out of the way, and we liked the historic nature of the building. We felt it was good value for what we paid.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

Our stay at Ai Savoia B&B was below average at best. Our room was nice enough – good bed, linens, nice décor and decent water pressure in the shower however it was very noisy if you opened the windows at all and a overpriced considering the utter lack of customer service we received.

We arrived on a Friday late afternoon in March and were met at the reception with no smiles, no welcome. We were shown our room (as noted above the room was fine) but the glaringly obvious lack of any customer service knocked my scoring town several levels. Also, if you are coming from the main train station this is kind of a long walk. Particularly if you have heavy bags.

We spend awhile in the lobby looking through guidebooks trying to plan our evening but not once did any of the staff offer their assistance with directions, restaurant or tourist information recommendations, etc. We essentially just took off wandering and did alright but it would have been nice to have had some assistance. Turin is very large and much more city than a lot of the surrounding area – just don’t expect someplace quanit and charming but rather a bustling, busy, noisy city. We went because of the airport but I think besides that or if you are skier I’d avoid.

Moreover, the next morning breakfast was ridiculous. We arrived downstairs and they had a “buffet” with yogurt, fruit, cookies and cereal. They took our drink orders but that was the first and last we saw of any staff. When they finally brought out some bread (croissants, etc.) all the guests rushed over like vultures (likely because we were all hungry from the paltry offerings) and they never refreshed them again. So – we stayed at a B&B to have some yogurt and a coffee?

In the morning the continued indifference to our existence was evident as we struggled with maps and trying to determine how to get to the airport. (just take a taxi, trains are a headache) No offers of help or assistance or even care that we were concerned evident.

Surprised we didn’t get a “good riddance” as we left.

I’d suggest staying someplace where they care about you as a guest and offer a real breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CampnameTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turin hotels

Belgium
Level Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

We just returned from a weekend in Torino. We had the worst experience at this hotel.
Unlike the other reviews, we didn't find the staff (or owners) friendly at all, not once did we see a hint of a smile on their faces! Our room was in the main building on the first floor. The room was very dark, noisy, smelly and not very clean! We had an extra bed for our daughter and the matress on it as well as the one on the main bed were as hard as stone. Our daughter suffers from allergies and because of the muffy dusty room, she didn't stop sneezing. The toilet seat was broken and the heater didn't work. We had to wear sweaters at night and still felt cold. The breakfast is just simple croissants and drinks, there is no cheese nor ham nor eggs,.... The location is good but noisy!
We had a reservation for 2 nights but decided to check out after the first horrible night and they charged us 50% for cancellation in a very rude way. We definitily cannot advise anyone to stay at this hotel (bed& not breakfast!)
Be aware, it might look sweet but everything in the room falls apart if you try to move it!
By the way they do not speak English!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EsBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed in this terrific B&B in Turin for two nights in June. The location couldn't be better as it is within walking distance of the major attractions of the historic district of Turin. The rooms, while small, are nicely furnished and comfortable, and are air conditioned. The hotel was quiet at night. The staff is attentive and friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast area is very attractive and the breakfast was very good. The hotel has arrangements with a parking lot less than a block away. Don't be put off by the rather unremarkable exterior of the hotel.

  • Liked — Central location and friendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jandsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Ai Savoia on a quick gastro-weekend trip to Turin in early October 2006. We had never been to Turin so we weren't too sure where the room would be in relation to the rest of the city, but it turned out to be in a perfect location (well, at least for the price). Sure you might could get closer to Piazza Castello (the true heart of the city), but you would pay for it, and it was just a leisurely 10 minute walk straight down via Garibaldi from our room.

The room was very, very clean with a few antique pieces here and there. The matress was quite comfortable in our room, but since this is a B&B with everything not necessarily uniform room to room, I can't vouch for all of them. The bathroom had modern fixtures, but the shower was very small, no bath. The only real negative was the street noise from via della Consolata, but it is a bustling city afterall, so we weren't too concerned. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel since we were mainly there to experience Turin's amazing coffee bars and cafes, but I did look in and it appeared good enough.

The hotel is split over two buildings. The building we were in was not the one with the office and was located at the NE corner of via della Consolata and via Garibaldi.

Every major historic and cultural attraction is well within walking distance of the Ai Savoia. Although Turin wasn't the most beautiful European city we have visited, it is worth visting for the food, coffee, gelati and chocolate alone.

I would not hesitate to recommend anyone to stay at the hidden treasure of Ai Savoia.

Go straight to their website for more pictures of rooms. The rooms are just as pictured, you can even compare ours to their's.

[----]

  • Liked — Location, price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Road noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room not adjacent to via della Consolata.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetravellerfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

We stayed at the Savoia on holiday for three days while returning from France. I could not have been more pleased with not only the accomodations but the staff was utterly charming. The room was tastefully decorated and immaculate. We did have difficulty finding it as they have two properties within a block of each other. The facades of both are unassuming and you have to really look for the small sign. What we found inside we were pleasantly surprised by. I booked directly with them from their website and received a prompt, polite confirmation of my reservation. I did not have to pre-pay which was a good sign initially and rare these days. Two nice young men actually walked us over to the property where we stayed and one actually accompanied my boyfriend to the parking garage as we had gotten lost with our navigation device. The room was exactly as it was portrayed on their website. It must have recently been refurbished and there is a lift or elevator which is great with luggage. They also carried our luggage up which was helpful. There was a little kitchenette for us to use our Moka for coffee and have tea. I am American and my boyfriend is English so we appreciated this convenience. In the mornings we walked across the piazza to have a lovely breakfast in a small but old world style salon in the other property. They had a nice array of juices, cereals, yogurts, rolls, and coffee that was delicious. Our room overlooked the busy shopping street which was precisely what we wanted. It can be a bit noisy but it is the most central location for walking if that is your objective. It was ours. Lovely shops and restaurants directly below us. We enjoyed the hustle and bustle after touring some isolated chateaus in France. Torino exceeded our expectations as did this little cozy hotel we discovered. We would stay there again if we return. What impressed me the most is after I returned home I realized I had left an item in our room. I called a week later and they actually mailed it back to me! Do not hesitate to stay at this hotel if you would like to be in the center of Torino at a lovely family run Inn. We even became friendly with the woman down in the bar on the corner who assisted us when we arrived. I have traveled all over the world and have never written a review. The attention and service we received was so special and personalized I could not resist. It is not a five star property but more than you will expect for the price and rating. We also visited the palace close by which was equisite. We had just visited the apartments at Versailles. There are some famous landmarks within walking distance of the hotel including a bar that serves a coffee with chocolate that is out of this world. Thank you staff at the Savoia for a pleasant stay we will not forget and returning my item via post. So rare these days and what a pleasure to be treated with such courtesy and excellent customer service.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, and customer service
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmericanainToscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Centro
Azalea Hotel
Azalea Hotel
#78 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Hotel Diplomatic
#37 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Piazzetta Consolata
#35 of 195 in Turin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
B&B Carlo Alberto
B&B Carlo Alberto
#3 of 195 in Turin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Centro
B&B Torino D'Epoca
B&B Torino D'Epoca
#76 of 195 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Centro
B&B A Casa Armenia
B&B A Casa Armenia
#44 of 195 in Turin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Savoia B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Savoia B&B

Property: Ai Savoia B&B
Address: Via del Carmine 1B, 10122 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Centro
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ai Savoia B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ai Savoia B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing