We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo
Ranked #110 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

We booked a stay at this hotel because of its location. When we checked in, we were told that there had been a mix-up in our reservation and that they did not have a room for us. To their credit, they found us another place and paid any extra cost. When we came back to check in for our second night, we found that a "private double" did not include a private bath. However, the place was clean, and the location really was primo. The two common shower facilities were marginal, one being much too small and the other not having an adequate enclosure. The guy that runs the place is very nice and speaks very good English. It wasn't great, just ok.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank docdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    34
    17
    18
See reviews for
13
32
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

Basically you get what you pay for. We wanted a cheap place in a good location and this hotel is certainly that. The guy at check in and check out was perfectly polite, and there was no drama with our booking. We found a parking just around the corner and there is plenty of restaurants etc. within easy walking of the hotel. My only complaints on the rooms, was that the bed was super lumpy and the showers really, really tight...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lumpy bed
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJC_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2005

While staying in Turin Albergo San Carlo is the place to stay at! The Hotel is in the heart of Turin! You cant tell from the outside thats a hotel and when you get in you need to go up the stairs or take the elevator thats when you realize that your in the hotel. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are super clean! The only thing that I didnt like was the shower! Its a small box and I felt closed in, but while in Italy be prepaired for uncomfortable showers. Either there in a box or no shower curtain at all or doors that move all over the place. Thats the only thing I dont like about Italy are there showers!

  • Stayed November 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2005

I stayed in the Albergo San Carlo this winter and it was a highlight of my trip. The location was terrific, in an old building on the grandest square in Turin. Although the rooms are simple they are attractive, with plenty of sunlight, nice traditional dark wood furniture, and various thoughtful touches. The hotel was blissfully quiet and peaceful, too. But what set it apart was the proprietor, who knows Turin inside out. When he recommended a restaurant a few blocks away it turned out to be welcoming and lively with delicious food; the staff at the self-service laundromat he suggested sent me off to sightsee while they did my wash and folded it; and when I needed a dancewear store to buy pointe shoes, he knew where there was one of those, too. One of the very nicest small budget hotels I've stayed in, and I've found less solid comfort and quiet at some luxury hotels.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewYorkWrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2005

This was the first stop on our European tour, and was not a good start! We ordered a twin room and ended up sharing a double bed, was not too comfy! Room needed a good clean, the light was covered in so much dust, there was no light! It was also impossible to stand up in half of the room due to the sloping ceiling and very low beams and im only 5'6''! The shower was a real effort to get in and out of, door was tiny, and the water coming out was more of a drizzle than a shower; still manage to overflow the blocked tray though! We were given no information about Turin from the hotelier, and didnt see him apart from checkin in and out, even then we had to find him! To give it its dues, it was in a good location and offered an excellent view of the square. But overall not worth the price!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Centro
Azalea Hotel
Azalea Hotel
#76 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Centro
Artua & Solferino
Artua & Solferino
#73 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Le Petit Hotel
#39 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#61 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
abanyta hotel
#54 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Centro
Best Quality Hotel Gran Mogol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Property: Hotel San Carlo
Address: Piazza San Carlo 197, 10123 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Centro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Carlo 1*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Hotel
San Carlo Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing