We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem.”
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #24 of 199 Turin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An absolute gem.”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Quaint, Cute, Charming & Spotless.

Facilities great (mini-bar at realistic prices, hairdrier, air-con, Internet, Guest Lounge) Very clean hotel. Staff most obliging and friendly. Central but very quiet at night.

I have never stayed in less than a 4 star & as fate would have it, with just arriving on speck, we couldn't get a vacancy in a 4 star in the area. I'm not a hotel snob, but I like my comfort and I got this and so much more in the Chelsea. It does not have a corporate bland feel to it and I sincerely hope that it never bows to pressure to do so. What a fantastic find. Do not be put off by the 3 star rating (or the neon sign) this is a classic hotel with a charming feel.

Excellent central location, but no noise.

Excellent work from Mario and his team. I just love this hotel!!

Room Tip: Stayed in room at back of hotel. Very quiet. Yet, this Hotel is very central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannesapartment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    92
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
49
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Truly this family owned genuine hotel has been a magnificent discovery - a home away from home. It is the best located hotel in town, round the corner with Piazza Castello and via Garibaldi. Staff was courteous and friendly. The room was unpretentious, yet clean, comfortable and quiet. Nice Italian breakfast. Hotel provides Wi-Fi, a reading area, pc and anything else you need... you just ask. To top all this: at a very decent price.

Mario, the owner, made us feel like old friends. He brought fruit and home-made dried apples to our room. We noticed him giving personal attention to every guest, yet with a discreet and non intrusive manner. He baked fresh cakes himself for breakfast (delicious) and his capuccino and cioccolata calda reminded us why we came to Turin at the first place!

Turin is a magnificent city. Now that we have discovered this hotel we know that we will be visiting more often.

We missed eating at the Ristorante "La Campana", the hotel's restaurant focusing on the Puglia cooking traditions, Mario's native land. Well, this is another reason why we will be returning to Hotel Chelsea very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antono_Ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Very nice hotel just off one of the main squares & in the city centre. Perfect for a 1-night stay if your plan is to see the centre & then move on. Very friendly staff, good breakfast & reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauloferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The chelsea hotel is a small (16 rooms) hotel located just a stone throw from the city center. Since it is a family-run businnes, it would be extremely unfair to directly compare it with the vast majority of the other hotel in Turin that are operated by large chains. While some aspect of the hotel may strike you as quite basic, the warm welcome and the kindness of the owners make you feel like you are actually visiting some friends as opposed to to cold professional approach of the large hotels. The room I was in was reasonably large and provided a good level of service (room safe, minibar, tv, ecc.), on the contrary the bathroom was a tad small and obviously obtained by "shrinking" the bedroom.. Breakfast was adequate and on par with a 3-star hotel; nothing fancy but largely acceptable. Worth a mention the hotel restaurant (specialties both local and from Puglie).

Recommeded to:
Tourists seeking a convenient starting point (and looking for a good bargain)

NOTE:
two things should be mentioned to potential customes:
A) while the entrance is on Via Cappel Verde, some hotel rooms are actually facing Via XX Settembre. This road is small and pratically reserved for the local tramway. so if you are in one of those rooms you may experience some noise that may be annoyng to light sleepers - even keeping the windows shut won't help either.
B) The hotel offers a parking place (15 Eu/day). but be advised that the place is minuscule. If you need to leave your car there, please book well in advance. Or you can leave your car in a nearby parking silo only a short walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauslyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at the Chelsea Hotel for two nights after a long car journey from France, very tired and in awe of the Turin driving style! The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. On first impressions the furnishings and decor of the hotel seemed a little dated but as we settled in we realised that this was definitely part of the hotel's charm. This is the anti - faceless chain hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable complete with tv, hairdryer and minibar.
This seemed to be a family run operation and they really went out of their way to make you feel relaxed. There is secure parking for around 15 euros a night and the food & wine in the restaurant is excellent and definitely had an authentic, local feel. Located one street over from the Royal Palace, it's perfect for those who want to be central without the night-time noise this usually brings. All in all we couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennaAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown,NJ
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

This is exactly the kind of family run hotel that I prefer to stay in. Staff was very friendly. My single room was perfect for me. Even the bathroom was OK, not miniscule. The furnishings were a bit faded and the tile floor was cold, of course, but very clean and relatively quiet. The rooms had double glazed windows, so you barely heard the streetcar that ran outside. The best part of the hotel is the location. You are literally steps from the major attractions in the historic center, so if you are Turin without a car this is ideal. Breakfast was decent. I had some very obviously home made orange cake that was delicious. I also ate one night in the restaurant and it was also very decent and reasonable with specialties from Puglia. As someone else has pointed out, there is no elevator, so be forewarned. I'd go back again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bropaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel couple of time and I really like the owner, staff and the feel of this hotel. The rooms are small but nice. The location is near the heart of the shopping district.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siv_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
TownHouse 70
#6 of 129 in Turin
899 reviews
Le Petit Hotel
#43 of 129 in Turin
625 reviews
Centro
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#61 of 129 in Turin
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Azalea Hotel
Azalea Hotel
#78 of 129 in Turin
48 reviews
Centro
Bed & Breakfast Palazzo Chiablese
Centro
Residenza dell'Opera
Residenza dell'Opera
#4 of 199 in Turin
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Property: Hotel Chelsea
Address: Via Venti Settembre 79/e | (corner of Via Cappel Verde, 1/d), 10122 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing