We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'd be better off walking around the beautiful streets of Milano”

Museo Nazionale del Cinema
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.61*
and up
Turin Cinema Museum Guided Tour
Ranked #4 of 368 things to do in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Museum is one of the most important of its kind in the world thanks to it vast collection and the many different scientific and educational activities it carries out. But what makes it truly unique is its special exhibit setup. The museum is located inside the Mole Antonelliana, a bizarre and fascinating monument which is the symbol of the City of Torino. And the various areas inside the Mole Antonelliana were the starting point for the Swiss set designer François Confino who, with talent and imagination, multiplied the museum's itineraries. He created a spectacular presentation that offers visitors continuous and unexpected visual and acoustic stimuli, just like when we watch a film that involves and moves us.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“You'd be better off walking around the beautiful streets of Milano”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent an hour or so looking around the museum but was very disappointed. Yes they do trace the origins of photography and film from the very earliest days but it is boring and lacked interest. Areas are so dark that it is very difficult to read the information cards on the exhibits. Took lift up to top of building which was nice but there were no signs to show you what you were looking at. All in all very disappointing unless you are a film anorak

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bernie680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,817
    2,497
    627
    163
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Curious, hard-to-negotiate museum”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The best part for me was the history/beginning of movie film. It was educational and fascinating (did YOU know there movies (short films) in 1897?). Nice Western movie section. However, it does not flow at all; it is not laid out well. When I came out, I asked "isn't there a ____ section?" I'd missed it and had to go back in again and ask directions. I never knew which way to go. On the bright side, their cafe is nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For movie buffs or those who want to see a unique museum”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The National Museum of Cinema in Turin is an excellent attraction to visit if you love film, want to see a great museum (but are tired of the usual galleries) or even just to visit the top of the Mole Antonelliana, the building in which it's located, for a view.

I went to the the top of the building first on the glass elevator, which gives a great view of the inside of the building. It might be a little scary if you're afraid of heights, especially going up in the elevator, but it's a beautiful view inside and out once you arrive at the top.

I then went to see the museum after a break in the cafe. I'd skip the cafe, it's an Autogrill subsidiary; it looks quite attractive from the elevator, but isn't that great in terms of food or atmosphere.

The museum itself is incredible and has a superb summary of all the aspects of film-making, including a comprehensive history of the technology. There are a few interactive elements as well, which although not that exciting, add some nice variety. The first part is more or less rooms around the walls of the building to see different styles of film, elements of creation of films and a smattering of famous names and their contributions. Very interesting for film buffs. Luckily, there was a special exhibition of the work of Martin Scorcese on the day, which gave great insight into his contribution to cinema, especially his letters. This part of the exhibition is on the inner wall, which is followed by a ramp that passes in a circle around it, allowing a great view of the inside of the building as well. I'd say the special exhibition could make the visit great or mediocre; today it was great. The rest of the museum is still worth visiting, but not that spectacular, although the building itself is worth seeing so check out what's on before you go if you have a choice.

If you just want to see a different type of museum, it's worth a visit for this, too. I'm a big movie fan and like a lot of Scorcese's work (not an expert) so I really appreciated the day. I think I spent over 5 hours there in total.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolute must see”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This museum is absolutely fantastic. There is nothing like this. The cinematic history that is captured is brilliant. The staff are extremely helpful. The elevators are reserved for people with disabilities, kids, strollers etc. Lot of walking to do. Do take in any special exhibitions. The special exhibition hall is brilliant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ranjan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique museum - must see!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Housed in the Mole - a Torino landmark building with a unique lift that's a 'must do'. We were lucky enough to catch the Martin Scorcese exhibition at the museum which was just fantastic and worth 1-2 hours of your time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank greattravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Nazionale del Cinema also viewed

 
Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Museo Nazionale del Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing