We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Mole & Museo del Cinema”

Museo Nazionale del Cinema
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.82*
and up
Turin Cinema Museum Guided Tour
More Info
$41.89*
and up
Turin Sightseeing Pass: Torino and Piemonte Card
Ranked #4 of 398 things to do in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Museum is one of the most important of its kind in the world thanks to it vast collection and the many different scientific and educational activities it carries out. But what makes it truly unique is its special exhibit setup. The museum is located inside the Mole Antonelliana, a bizarre and fascinating monument which is the symbol of the City of Torino. And the various areas inside the Mole Antonelliana were the starting point for the Swiss set designer François Confino who, with talent and imagination, multiplied the museum's itineraries. He created a spectacular presentation that offers visitors continuous and unexpected visual and acoustic stimuli, just like when we watch a film that involves and moves us.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Mole & Museo del Cinema”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I visited on a grey-ish, rainy day, when I wanted to be "safe and sound" inside, rather than tackling the elements! I purchased the combined elevator/museum ticket. The transparent elevator takes you on a breath-taking ride up through the centre of the Museum to the top of the Mole Antonelliana. There is an observation deck, where you can get uninterrupted views across Turin.

I happily spent a couple of hours exploring the museum. It takes you from the earliest steps in projection theatre (e.g. shadow puppets), right the way through to modern day techniques (in fact, there is a sequence of 1.5min films that take you through the production process). There is also some basic scientific explanation of how lenses work (although the written explanations are only in Italian). There are "mini-cinemas" with a range of subjects, and you can view movie scripts (including Psycho!), costumes or replica costumes and props, and a huge collection of movie posters.

Definitely worth a visit!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,066
    2,612
    656
    171
    55
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
State of Rio Grande do Sul
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best attraction in Turin”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Museo Nazionale del Cinema is trully amazing, certainly the best of its kind in Europe. Located in a building that was originally conceived as a synagogue, the Mole Antonelliana (the building itself is already breathtaking), the museum houses a huge collection of everything related to cinema from posters to cameras and other devices. The visit culminates in the "temple", an ample space in the center of the building dedicated to the cult of cinema, it is just amazing. The museum is also very interactive, there's a lot to touch, listen, see and learn. And you also have the option to take an I-pad mini with you to guide your visit! When I went it was not charged, but now I think it is. And if all that is not enough, in the end you can take the panoramic elevator that takes you to the top of the building for great views of Turin!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meraviglioso”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

However, despite the commentary being in Italian, not speaking the language doesn't in any way diminish the pleasure of this wonderful museum. If you love film, you'll love it. The history of the moving image gets you started but it's the booths in which the various aspects of film-making are examined and the mini cinemas where you see lots of clips of different genres of film which are the best bits (you lie on a circular velvet bed and watch clips about love and romance on a screen mounted in the canopy, or sit on a toilet and watch clips from the cinema of the absurd - brilliant stuff. And the building, well that's pretty impressive too. Take the glass lift and rise through the massive main hall all the 55 metres to the roof where the view is splendid. My knees were knocking as I don't like heights and there is no lift shaft - but it was worth it. I've been three times over 12 years (most reecently last year) and will go again. It's an absolute joy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Duegatti58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
“a trip through film history”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

there are 2 parts: the tower and the museum itself - we went for both but you can get separate. take you time for the queue as it takes a while.
First we went to the tower, although raining outside really nice view of the whole city and cool experience as you get in about 60 sec up (87m).
Second the museum gives a really nice history of cinematography development. you also have a really relaxing area where you can just enjoy some old movies that are projected on a couple of huge screes. When you reach the top there you can record yourself in one of the movies (when i was there it was Matrix) and then you can see yourself on o big screen "acting" :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcytty_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty and Charming”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My visit to the museum was wonderful. It was one of the most interesting museums I've ever seen. Besides, you can climb up to the top of the mole and see the whole Turin.

Helpful?
Thank 1canB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Nazionale del Cinema also viewed

 
Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Museo Nazionale del Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing