We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value, decent choice for business or travellers on budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Torino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Royal Torino
Ranked #93 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good value, decent choice for business or travellers on budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'm a little surprised by some of the negative reviews as this is not an 120 euro a night 4*, but rather a 60 euro a night 3* plus posing as a 4* - bear that in mind and it's a decent choice. Check-in was efficient and friendly and my room was nicely furnished and clean, if small - I was on the top floor and the bathroom was miniscule - I had to clamber around the shower to get to the loo, hitting by head on the roof angle. Colleagues, however, were on lower floors and had good seized rooms for the same price. There was no kleenex, but good toiletries, a flatscreen with 200 satellite channels (almost all Italian - none English) and the room was overheated. But is cost me 70 euros with breakfast - that's the point - and the breakfast was very serviceable with fresh pastries, cereals, fresh fruits, hot dishes and an espresso machine. Front desk serv ice was friendly and helpful and the general area, while not posh or very central, seemed safe to me with some decent restaurants, cafes and a small supermarket a few doors down to buy water etc. Wifi was free and worked reasonably well. Good value and well run - but don't go there expecting a posh 100 euro a night plus 48 or 5*

Room Tip: ask for room off the main road (a it noisy) and not on top floor where they are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    147
    148
    74
    25
See reviews for
76
122
32
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
105 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Mercure Torino Royal confirms what I already knew about Mercure Hotels i.e. that they mix good, comfortable hotels with sub-standard properties. Unfortunately the Mercure Royal Torino is in the second category. The building may date back to the 60's or 70's and renovation has only been partial. Probably the minimum needed to get the Mercure brand but far what would be necessary to fully modernize the property and turn it into an attractive hotel. Room size is correct but decoration shows clear bad taste with flashy, ill-matched colors. Maintenance is also obviously poor with walls and furniture in bad condition. Replacing faucets is definitely not enough to renovate the bathroom which was small, dark and with horrible dark green tiles. Manual sliding shutters also give the impression that time stopped many years ago. In addition, I was unable to find foreign speaking TV channels which is strange for a hotel supposedly catering to foreign travellers. Lobby and restaurant suffer from the same shortcomings as the rest of the property: they look tired and worn-out. Breakfast - correct - is served in the small and grotty restaurant. A last motive of irritation is the car park: 15 € for an external spot and 18 € for a covered spot is a rip-off especially when room fare is 55 € excluding breakfast. I spent one night at the hotel on my way to France for holidays but should I stay in Torino again I would certainly select another hotel and recommend other travellers to do the same thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turin hotels

holidays
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel is very clean and staff are very helpfull and friendly. The breakfast is very good with a good buffet selection. the rooms are very modern and well furnished, they have a safe and desk with 2 chairs.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet, and have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aambrosone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was in Turin visiting friends who were actually not that far from this hotel so it worked out nicely. And for the price I thought the Royal was a good deal. One thing my room had was those double doors--you know, you go in the door and there is the bathroom on your right, then there is another door to the bedroom. For sound and noise-conscious people like me those double doors are a godsend. I don't know why people feel the need to shout and scream and hold long cell phone conversations in hotel hallways but they always seem to, not to mention door slamming. Whatever happened in this hotel corridor, I don't know about! And that is thanks to the double doors. Also the walls seemed to be relatively thick so I could never hear my neighbors. Also the room was very clean. On the downside, the a/c wasn't working. That's kind of the American traveler's theme song by now when reviewing continental hotels. The a/c never works. Half the time it is due to some archaic city laws about when you can turn on the heat and when you can turn on the a/c and the other half of the time the hotels are just pretending the a/c doesn't work so they can save money. I don't know which it was in this case. I asked for a fan, they said they'd try, but the fan never materialized. Also the Mercure chain has a nice little feature which is the electric kettle. Coming in from America it always takes me a while to get over the jet lag and I really like being able to brew myself a cup of instant coffee at 3 a.m. Do I like instant coffee? Not particularly, but it is warm and comforting. Anyway the Royal Mercure didn't have them. When I asked, the desk person rolled their eyes and murmured something about "an internal policy." I insisted and eventually got my kettle but those things are annoying. If the kettle comes with the Mercure then they should provide the kettle and the internal policy can go to the devil. That's one of the reasons people choose a particular hotel chain, like Mercure, over Joe's Hotel. I have to say in passing though that having stayed in Mercure hotels both in Italy and in France, the Italian Mercures are not at the same standard. The staff was mostly really good. Great pizza shop right next door if you want a snack.

Room Tip: I liked the street side room better. When they gave me a courtyard side room for a few days some idi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Not near the centre of Turin by any means, this hotel nonetheless offers very affordable accommodation at a decent standard, just not a 4 star one. The drop off zone is basically non existent, if more than two cars are using it you have to drive around the block to find a park and walk back to the hotel with luggage. Staff at reception were courteous and spoke good English, I would have expected more help with bags and directions as far as using their parking lot, being a 4 start hotel. Also to go to your room there are some steps to climb and I would have liked the offer to help with bags. Rooms are good, not big but clean. Don't open your balcony door if your room is facing C.so Regina Margherita as the smog and dirt will get in. Also, if you have a room on that side you will wake up with the first tram in the morning (at around 5:45 am), the tracks are right in front. At 65 euro/night I'll use it again but will ask for a room at the back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PipMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Art Hotel Olympic
#42 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Pacific Hotel Fortino
#31 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Parella
Hotel Residenza delle Alpi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Diplomatic
#40 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Hotel Master
#60 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#109 of 128 in Turin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Torino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Torino

Property: Hotel Royal Torino
Address: Corso Regina Margherita 249, 10144 Turin, Italy (Formerly Mercure Torino Royal)
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Torino 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualys hotel Royal is located in a great location: a few minutes walk from the historic centre of Turin, less than 1 km from the Duomo, Porta Susa Station and the nearest underground station, about 1.5 km from the Juventus Stadium, 10 minutes away by car from Reggia di Venaria. Access to public transport in front of the hotel. Excellent location for sightseeing, to visit Juventus Stadium, to visit museums, exhibitions, cinema Museum, Egyptian Museum, Royal residences, movida torinese the quadrilatero romano and in Piazza Vittorio Emanuele along the embankments, possibility to park the car in the garage or the car park of the hotel. The hotel has a restaurant with regional and international cuisine, two bars and a modern and well equipped conference centre suitable for any type of meeting or event, for both for business, to organize private events baptisms, weddings, birthday parties. The property offers tastefully furnished rooms, Soundproofed and equipped with modern amenities. You can use your laptop for free WiFi in every room. The easy access to Torino Caselle Airport, the ring road and highways for all directions make it ideal for any need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Royal Torino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Turin
Mercure Hotel Torino Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing