We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The right place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
223 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The right place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

if you travel to Turin for business or leisure, this, is the right place to stay.
Strategically located in the city center, near the railway station (that do not affect you at all), near the Metro, with taxi, bus and tramway in near the corner and a super protected private parking.
City center and shopping are are just a 1 minute walk.
The hotel is completely refurbished with a fantastic historical atmosphere.
Although inside the furniture are quite simple, but very elegant, you will have a very comfortable bed with excellent spaces also for work.
WiFi is very good and fast, only the breakfast is, at my advice a little bit poor but, you can easily integrate or have it in one of the hundreds bar near the hotel.

This hotel really deserve an higher star rating.
Price is super competitive.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, you will be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UBMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    226
    104
    27
    9
See reviews for
54
163
46
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ufa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Yes, when you approach the hotel from the railway Porta Nova station, you believe that in the older times it must have been the best hotel in town.Now it's struggling to give the best service given the lack of inside space. Reception staff was sincerely polite and efficient.
It was nice to find yourself there being immersed in an aura of a old dignified edifice - because soon they'll give way to concrete modern soulless hotels.
The most touching was the old "triple" window - the outer jalousi wooden blinds, window itself with 19 century fixtures and inner whole wood shutters (may be before electricity times they were supposed to keep the room warm in winter).
The room and the bathroom were impeccably clean. Though the bed base was too soft - you lie as if in a hammock.
Breakfasts are good, but the breakfast room staff seemed not very hospitable. Wi-fi was normal even within thick walls.

Room Tip: Choose rooms loking inner yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35Gulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We ordered the "Basic Double Room", and couldn't upgrade since the hotel was full. So I recommend ordering any other kind of room, and then the only thing we didn't like at this hotel won't bother you. Our problems with the room were the following:
A- The room's door was plastic, that felt alarming and not secured enough.
B- The bathroom (with the same kind of plastic door) was super small. Really not comfortable.
C- The shower had an annoying curtain that kept sticking to you, and the shower head was super uncomfortable without a handle.
Except from that, the hotel and the room were beautifully designed (we even had a small balcony), and the breakfast was good.
Also, the location is very good. Close (or in a walking distance) to every attraction.

Room Tip: Don't order the "Basic Double Room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Masha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are currently staying here, and wanted to share our obsevations. As ususal, there are good & bad things.
The good:
Great location. Easy to get around to various sites & shopping from this hotel. The room is slightly larger than usual, and it is clean. The bathroom is also large. There is free internet in the common areas. They have off street parking available on a limited basis. It is not cheap but is convenient.

The bad:
This location is noisy. Lots of street noise. No way to avoid it. The walls transfer sound from the adjacent rooms and you can hear literally everything yuor neighbors are doing and saying. This can make sleeping quite difficult.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank high_standards_4_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is at the very heart of Turin. The "fancy" part of the city (Channel, Dior stores) are 2 minutes away. The architecture of the entire nearby block where we happened to walk the evening of the night when we stayed here consists of covered corridors along the buildings, including the hotel. The area at night looked a bit run down with grafiti and drunks around. Perhaps this is typical of Italy as this was my first time there. There was almost nothing open at the time (food stores, restaurants), not even at the train terminal nearby. We did eat at a nearby place where they sold pizza and hot dogs which was fairly good for "night food."

There was public parking on in the plaza in front of the hotel which was free from 12 a.m. to 8 a.m. There is a meter around the corner from the hotel which allows you to add money for the morning as well which is convenient so that you don't have to get there by 8 am to put in more money. I am not sure if they actually check for receipts there.

The hotel itself was interesting. It is in one of the buildings forming part of the typical city centre architecture which makes it a unique experiences. The concierge was not friendly but explained everything fairly clearly. He did confiscate our passports for 20 minutes when we checked in which was very unusual and disconcerting, but we got them back. There are elevators to the rooms, including a new glass one which is pretty cool as it is inside the main large square staircase. The room itself had high ceilings and old solid wood furniture which didn't seem to match but looked very solid. The TV was CRT which looked a bit antique. The bathroom was clean but the shower fairly inconvenient as most of the water sprayed beyond the small square tub.

The breakfast was included. It was very good with a large selection and amazing coffee which you make yourself at this super coffee machine that also makes hot milk. The breakfast area has an exit into a small inside courtyard.

Wifi was terrible in the room as the walls are thick concrete. There is good wifi in the lobby but make sure to ask for a code for each device you intend to use for wifi. The room was 79 Euros.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petochok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

On arrival had a bit of a problem with parking being threatened by a 'person' demanding money or, 'Not safe' made my own threat and returned to find my bike spat on...not a good start and I was not impressed with staff reaction to this occurring!
The hotel was really lovely though, room was elegant and spacious
Breakfast was superb with good choices and included in price
I would certainly return here, quite impressed and impressive!

Room Tip: Be careful about parking when you first arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in Turin for two nights. First on the upside: the hotel is in a great location, just at the edge of the limited traffic zone and the breakfast is absolutely great. And then there it about stops. The room, though inexpensive, seemed to stem from the 1950's, crummy furniture, an noisy old loose aircomachine with a hose through the window, so the window could not close. Small balcony, connecting other rooms. so it feels very unsafe, both at night and during the day (for your belongings). The room itself has a key and lock more simple then the cupboard locks in our house. And no room safe. So don't leave any valuables in the room. The bathroom is simple and also old-fashioned, but it seemed clean.
There is a parking facility advertised. It says on the website you can't reserve it. In reality there's only six places, so with a hundred rooms, forget getting one. The desk clerk seems completely uninterested. He referred us to the underground parking garage across the street, but could not be bothered to come to street to help collect our luggage first. When we brought the luggage in ourselves, we could it leave it at the desk while we parked, but it did not occur to him to have it brought already to our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Centro
Best Quality Hotel Gran Mogol
San Salvario
BEST WESTERN Hotel Genio
San Salvario
Hotel Urbani
Hotel Urbani
#29 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Dock Milano
Hotel Dock Milano
#30 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Crocetta
BEST WESTERN Hotel Luxor
Centro
Adalesia Boutique Hotel
Adalesia Boutique Hotel
#38 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour

Property: Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour
Address: Piazza Carlo Felice 60, 10121 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma e Rocca Cavour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing