We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“not to be used again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dogana Vecchia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dogana Vecchia
Ranked #107 of 128 Hotels in Turin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not to be used again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

having stayed in this Hotel several times ,was very, very disappointed to be shunted into the back annexe into a miserable apology of a rooom , sort of Hotel terminus, circa 1950!. Wifi hardly reached us. Reception staff not at all interested and to add insult to injury at breakfast, in their large empty open space the staff tried to oblige us to take a small corner table so they didn't have to walk so far!! we could have been alerted to the change of room but no, just had to accept it having arrived at 9pm!! no apology, no nothing! Just a pity that the Hotel Liberty changed its location as that was always a very nice place to stay

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lagrsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    93
    77
    40
    43
See reviews for
55
76
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice hotel in the middle of historical center of beautiful Turin. The location of this hotel is great and there is a parking available. Our room was nice, old fashioned manner, and the bathroom was contemporary. Parking is a bit expensive. The staff at the hotel are friendly, and generally I had a very good stay there. The breakfast room was one of the loveliest most atmospheric rooms. All in all, a very nice hotel conveniently situated for Torino's tourist experiences!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardonne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice hotel in the middle of historical center of beautiful Turin.
Good service, very clean, impressive old style interior with many elements related to Mozart.
Very good value ratio.
What could be improved is choice of the breakfast. Being in Italy you would expect a variety of fresh bread and better choice of fruits. A lot of room for improvments here.
Summarizing, worth to stay in.

Room Tip: Room 319 very quiet with nice just refurbished bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas-Carioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The location of this hotel is great and there is a parking available. The rooms are spacious and clean but no luxury. The staff at the reception was very courteous and helpful. However, with such an historic hotel (among its guests Mozart, Napoleon, etc.), they could do more with the decoration, ambiance, etc. to improve its charm and attractiveness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is beyond a shadow of a doubt the one hotel in the world where I have spent most nights in my life. Over a period of ten years I must have racked up a hundred by now if not more. That would be good, right? Well I don't know. I really like the place but that's in good part because of the location, which is absolutely brilliant, in good part because of the staff, which are extremely friendly (but hey, they would be if you've spent so many nights at their place), in good part because I like the setting and, it must be said, in good part because accommodation in Turin is so grossly overpriced. The breakfast room is splendid, the rooms won't fill much on your camera's memory card (which is a good thing in a city like Turin) but it must be said, they are far more spacious than those of many hotels in this price range. Unfortunately, the room decoration and general ambience of the halls are no match at all, which is odd and a pity because this place oozes history. The facilities are a bit run down but in a charming way. I know many who dislike it, I like it except for the fact that there's no bar :(

Room Tip: The rooms in the "new" (read: drab) wing are the quietest, if that's what you need. De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I am afraid to say that my daughter and I were very disappointed with our room. We were paying Euros 125 per night and were expecting a comfortable room, not grand luxury, but not the tasteless room with which we were confronted. The beds were a little narrow with metal frames and no headboards, very functional bedspreads, no valances and hard, uncomfortable mattresses. The wardrobe cupboard looked like something out of a cheap boarding house. We had to gaze up at a ceiling garishly painted to look like the sky and we also had a strange area of wall painted to look like a window with two twee black cats sitting looking out, the sort of thing my children might have appreciated when they were very small. The only part of the room which did not offend was the bathroom. Come on Dogana Vecchia - a little Italian style please!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in one of the comfort double/twin rooms @ Euros 125 per night. The rooms @ Euros 170 ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Centro
Azalea Hotel
Azalea Hotel
#76 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Centro
Hotel Artua & Solferino
Hotel Artua & Solferino
#65 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Le Petit Hotel
#41 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
NH Torino Santo Stefano
Centro
Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour
Albergo San Giors
#85 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dogana Vecchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dogana Vecchia

Property: Dogana Vecchia
Address: Via Corte d'Appello 4, 10122 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Centro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dogana Vecchia 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dogana Vecchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dogana Vecchia Turin
Dogana Vecchia Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing