We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, poor service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante All'Opera

Ristorante All'Opera
Ranked #442 of 3,554 Restaurants in Turin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The food was excellent, typical of the best food in Turin. However the service was terrible. We were the second couple in the restaurant and they tried to give us the worst table because we were foreigners. I asked for another table, and the waiter tried to give us another bad table. Finally we got an OK table. The waiter never once came by the table to ask how things were, and never came to pour the wine. Go there for the food, not the service, but it would be nice to have both!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    131
    54
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, rude servers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ran into Christophe in the Piazza near by, and figured it would be an easy stop for lunch before heading to the Egyptian Museum.

Before we sat down, however, my daughters observed the wait staff pointing at us and laughing. One daughter is heavy, and very self conscious (I'm NOT) and I had no idea this was going on or I would have left immediately. Making fun of a teenager no matter what size is just not ok, especially if you want my business. Once I was informed (in the middle of lunch) we made the decision to not order anything else in addition.

The food was good. Service ok, a little quicker than usual Italian lunches, so maybe they were trying to hurry us along for a change. The seafood and pasta was wonderful.. . I had the Caprese and the mozarella was very fresh and the tomatos flavorful. My other daughter refused to eat, which made the lunch environment difficult.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tlbkwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable service, food, prices, location. Nice lunch! Caters for all ages and types of clients. I'd happily lunch the again.

Helpful?
Thank Los T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch, probably also for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Were looking for a good Italian lunch and found it in this restaurant. Were not disappointed. Very good food and good value. We can recommend it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C-Vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Restaurant with a small frontage down a side street but well worth looking for. Good range of local items on the menu and reasonably priced for the centre of Turin. Staff are friendly without being "over the top". Try the windmill pizza.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john_bradley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante All'Opera also viewed

Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 
Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Ristorante All'Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing