We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed for those arriving in Porta Susa”
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #34 of 130 Hotels in Turin
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I chose this hotel because of it's location in regard to Porta Susa. What I found was that it was conveniently located and took less than 5 minutes walk from the train station.

The hotel staff were friendly and checked me in very quickly. I had also written them an email asking when I could check-in and they responded in good time, which was appreciated.

The buffet breakfast was very well laid out with lots of choice available. I'm sure most tastes would be catered for. However, it was a shame that real fruit juice wasn't readily available (or perhaps was and wasn't marked).

The room was spacious enough and I had been given a single room. Satelite TV was available and many channels were free. However, I would say two things about the room itself. The carpet was a little worn and the power of the water coming out of the shower wasn't great. When you're in a hurry and you need a quick shower then don't count too much on this one!

I paid around £55 per night during my stay and for what I got I would say it was good value for money. Considering a buffet breakfast was in the price then I would go back again if needed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,809)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Diplomatic
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We choose this hotel for the position and for the excellent price offer. We stayed just one night and we really liked the hotel and above all the kindness of the receptionist: we booked an economy room without the car park, but they offered us the car park for free anyway, and they let us leave the car in the car park even after our checkout time for all the afternoon! This was very important for us cause the parking zones along the streets are very expensive! In that way they allowed us to visit the city for the day. Room was really clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was really good, with a lot of different things

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed there for five nights in August 2013 with my wife. The room was small and ragged, with lots of old and ruined furniture. The water from the watertap was thin. The water tap had stains. The bed had small wheels, always moved and never stayed in its place. Moreover, the bed made disturbing noises in every movement. The breakfast was poor and was served in a restaurant in the basement; and the restaurant was not clean. I even saw a dead insect on the floor. I stayed in many hotels but I cannot even say "fair" to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehmet974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very good location, good breakfast, fast wireless internet, clean room. Bad experience: we did not know that city tax is not included in price on Galahotels invoice and had to pay 25 EUR for 2 persons/4 days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Good location for train station, good restaurants a couple of streets away. Breakfast had plenty of choice, only small gripe was returning to hotel at 11.15pm for a night cap to be told the bar was closed!!! Not by reception staff who were all great.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBKlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel at which we have stayed a few years ago for its location and the availability of secure parking. A misunderstanding about parking directions given by the receptionist. Francesco, was cleared up to everyone's satisfaction & this young man's eagerness to create a good impression of the hotel & of the city was impressive. Rooms are adequate for a city break. The relatively newly extended metro line to Lingotto & the wonderful Eatily is just a few paces from Hotel Diplomatic. Recommended & we look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is located very close to Porta Susa railway and metro station. It is a short walk to the Piazza Castella, for touring and sightseeing. The hotel was very pleasant and clean and the room was large. Breakfast was very satisfactory, although not very atmospheric as it is all self service and located in the basement level of the hotel. But a very satisfactory range of food on offer. There is a lovely ice cream shop next door, called Grom, for an evening treat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Centro
Hotel Dock Milano
Hotel Dock Milano
#38 of 130 in Turin
1,221 reviews
Le Petit Hotel
#42 of 130 in Turin
644 reviews
San Salvario
Best Western Hotel Genio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crocetta
Residence Sacchi
Residence Sacchi
#5 of 130 in Turin
505 reviews
Hotel Cairo
#52 of 130 in Turin
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Address: Via Cernaia 42, 10122 Turin, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range: $70 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomatic 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomatic hotel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Turin, located in the historic centre of the city, a few metres from the Porta Susa railway station, the main hub of high-speed rail transit between France and Italy.However you choose to get to the Diplomatic, the hotel is convenient due to its proximity to the Torino Caselle "Sandro Pertini" airport terminal, to the new underground line which takes you to the "Lingotto Fiere" Congress Centre in a few minutes, to the Polytechnic University of Turin, the Olympic Stadium and the new Juventus stadium.Strolling under the beautiful and historic arcades in Turin you reach the city’s most beautiful squares (Piazza Castello, Piazza Vittorio Veneto, Piazza San Carlo, Piazza Carlo Felice), the main places of “Turin nightlife” (the Roman Quarter (Quadrilatero Romano), the Murazzi, the Banks of the River Po, the Dora Docks, the Valentino Park), the most important museums and cathedrals (the Egyptian Museum, The Museum of Cinema, the OGR Officine Grandi Riparazioni, the Mole Antonelliana, the Chapel of the Shroud, the churches of Gran Madre and Maria Ausiliatrice). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing