We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything you'll need”
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #35 of 130 Hotels in Turin
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here end of December 2012.

The room and bathroom were both clean, although both were quite small. The staff at reception had a good grasp of English.

The included breakfast was surprisingly generous: bacon, eggs, salami, croissants, coffee etc. We had dinner there one night and it was nothing to write home about.

The hotel’s location was great. Only about 15 minutes walk from the main piazza in Torino and via Roma (main shopping street). Metro stations Porta Susa and XVIII Dicembre are both a few minutes’ walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjg120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed end December 2012 for a weekend at the Hotel Diplomatic. It is perfectly situated in walking distance to the center, or you can get the tramway or bus. The staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. We enjoyed the typical old fashioned European city hotel atmosphere, nothing splendid but perfect for a travel stop. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We left the car in the hotel garage during the stay and were even allowed to leave it longer on the day of departure as we went off again by foot into town. We had an excellent internet rate, so the price/quality ratio was absolutely perfect. Will choose it again next time without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcNat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel just one night.
I got the room for half a price, thanks to an offer I found on internet (otherwise it would have been too expensive). So I was really lucky. In fact the hotel is really good. It's close to the porta susa train/metro station (5 minutes on foot). It's at 10 minutes from the city center.
The room is very clean, you've everything you need (and you don't need). The personnel is kind and competent. It was a very good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFlash17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

So the hotel is 4* but in this case only an average one.
Nice breakfast, quite some choice.
We had there dinner as well, it was not exceptional.

Unfortunately our room was cold, the air condition did not work properly although somebody came to "fix" it. It didn't help. When we woke up in the morning the temp. was only 20deg - for me it's definitely too few, especially we both had a cold at that moment. And surprisingly the air condition started to work (blow warm air) once we were up and leaving our room - so sorry folks, too late!
Strange room decoration and this funny old fashion equipment, amazing that you can still find such things in hotel.

There was free wifi but also working strange? To have access I was supposed to log into some social network (for example facebook, google....etc.) and what if someone doesnt have any of those? So basically I just log into my gmail and after this I had an access to Internet....
One point: be careful when watching TV, it seems for some channels you are supposed to pay... o_O

But anyway enjoy Turin as it is a great city! Many small markets in a places you wouldn't even suspect. On Sunday there was also some market not far from hotel.
So location is fine but not so close, still there is some min.15min to get to main square.
There is also some tram not far and subway station.

Room Tip: avoid street site rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmyh0bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed two nights with my wife. Our room was a nice size, but I have stayed before and had a very small room. This is a basic hotel, but it is well placed to access public transport and the town centre. It is a typical old fashioned European city hotel...I like it. The breakfast is basic, but this time around our evening meal in the hotel restaurant was excellent. It is clean and the staff were fine and importantly for we Brits they spoke excellent English. A good bet for a reasonable weekend break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickDud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is in a great location for getting around, sight seeing, or just a bit of shopping. The airport bus stops less than five minutes away as well so all in all it is fairly convinient.

These things are always a mixed bag, so for what it is worth I thought the breakfast was excellent (although the coffee machine takes for ever to produce a cuppa!) and the rooms were clean, tidy and (although a little on the small side) comfortable.

The staff were very helpful and the free wifi was both free and available (although it only worked properly in the lounge. It seems like you get two types of wifi here, a more limited one in your room for some reason).

All in all I would happily stay here again and I guess thats as good a recommendation as you can give really.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruudi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located
Clean old and somehow strange room decoration
Good breakfast
No coffee in the room and not really set for bussines travelers
Bad free internet
Grate chocolate next door
Food is good at any pizza you will try
Just wallk

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abasher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Centro
Hotel Dock Milano
Hotel Dock Milano
#39 of 130 in Turin
1,227 reviews
Le Petit Hotel
#45 of 130 in Turin
648 reviews
Crocetta
Residence Sacchi
Residence Sacchi
#5 of 130 in Turin
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Star Residence
#18 of 130 in Turin
252 reviews
San Salvario
Best Western Hotel Genio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Address: Via Cernaia 42, 10122 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range: $66 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomatic 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomatic hotel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Turin, located in the historic centre of the city, a few metres from the Porta Susa railway station, the main hub of high-speed rail transit between France and Italy.However you choose to get to the Diplomatic, the hotel is convenient due to its proximity to the Torino Caselle "Sandro Pertini" airport terminal, to the new underground line which takes you to the "Lingotto Fiere" Congress Centre in a few minutes, to the Polytechnic University of Turin, the Olympic Stadium and the new Juventus stadium.Strolling under the beautiful and historic arcades in Turin you reach the city’s most beautiful squares (Piazza Castello, Piazza Vittorio Veneto, Piazza San Carlo, Piazza Carlo Felice), the main places of “Turin nightlife” (the Roman Quarter (Quadrilatero Romano), the Murazzi, the Banks of the River Po, the Dora Docks, the Valentino Park), the most important museums and cathedrals (the Egyptian Museum, The Museum of Cinema, the OGR Officine Grandi Riparazioni, the Mole Antonelliana, the Chapel of the Shroud, the churches of Gran Madre and Maria Ausiliatrice). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing