We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not brilliant”
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #36 of 129 Hotels in Turin
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not bad, not brilliant”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel last week, we were in Turin for a family wedding. Room was basic, requested a double and single bed in the room, which we got (2 single beds pushed together but not a problem), beds very comfy, large bathroom with a bath with a shower over. Shower was a bit of a pain, had a mind of its own, very powerful and the holder that the shower head went into was broken so moved around a lot, bathroom floor always quite wet when finished. No tea & coffee making facilities in the room but there was a mini bar which we used to keep our water cool. In room safe didn't work but used safety deposit box at reception. Breakfast was nothing exciting, I personally just had peaches and a croissant every morning, no de-caff coffee that I could see.
Be aware, there is a city tax to pay when you check out which is €3.20 per person, per night (age 12 and over) for the first four nights only. Also, the bar is only open occasionally, think out of our 5 nights it was only open twice at night.
To sum up wouldn't say it was a bad hotel and would probably stay again if we ever went to Turin again, could do with a bit of updating though.
To sum up can't really c

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    726
    390
    136
    60
See reviews for
364
540
137
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Because the diplomatic in turin claims four stara yet the hotel so outdated the service so terrible and the rooms depressing and uncomfortable I lookedinto what a hotel needs to be 4 stars. This hotel has the checklist for fourstars met at the bare minimum and might have been thirty years ago. Now less then two. Why? 1 arrival- two girls working front desk watching a video loudly gave us our keys ignored us. We asked for a map, they didnt have one and said go to the TI at some piazza we didnt know. We asked for open and good restaurants they said only the hotels laughed at the still playing videoand ignored us. 2 the room- three hours after our checking in time, a maid was still in the room. It smelt of urines had a tv from 1995 with three stations stained floora a bed with metal springs almost coming out a phone from 1950 and a shower with a hairdryer from the 70s. Oh and the two calls to fix the tv and air-conditioning where neve answered. After askif once and being told it would be fixed and again when it wasn't I wa told the a. C didnt work nor the tv. 3. Location- closer to station than anything else and far from the ctr or historic sites. Stay somewhere closer to things an easy walk or metro geta u to the station. 4 wireless- as good as a cafe in Mexico. 5 upon waking up- never told the time for the complimentary breakfast as the reception was busy fooling around. Wen we arrives it was almost gone. We had no ac no hot water hardly any internet and no cable. At 630 the old motel looking radio attached to the bed went off. At 10 the receptionist knocked opened our door and was trying to let new guests in. We stayed away all day and left a do not disturb sign up. Wen we returned the sign was gone ignored and all our things moved. The ac was broken and attemptif to use the vending machine for something cold I found it mostely empty. Long storyshort stay somewhere else in this cool city for a little more or go with two or three stars cause this place is one.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadnerb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turin hotels

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Located in the heart of Turin. Don't let the outer look make your mind, it is great from the inside! The personnel at the reception desk were very friendly and polite. When I asked for one, I was told that there was a computer with internet access available to the customers. The room was spacious (we are a family with 2 children) and the price was a little more than 80 Euros (including the taxes). Having in mind that this included a buffet breakfast as well, I found it an ecxellent value for money.
The hotel's parking is very limited. I was able to park for a few hours before leaving (with no charge). I guess that I could have asked to book a space in advance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sotirios T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A basic hotel adequate for our purposes. Close to the train, about 1/4 mi from the main attractions. Clean, standard room. Watch the luggage room if you need to store it...ours went with a tour group instead of staying locked up but the manager took us to find it ...thank God!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Positive points: the location and the price, that's all probably. Negative: too many. air conditioning switches broken and not working. wake up call never made, breakfast quite poor for a so called 4 star hotel. The noise outside the room from the ladies that were responsible for cleaning too much. The reception did not even have an adaptor to lend for the italian plugs. One elevator was broken for a whole day leaving the entire hotel with one remaining elevator that could barely fit 3 people, while the smell was bad.
All in all I would say pick the hotel Only and ONLY if you're just in turin for two days and you don't need to stay in the hotel. The price is at least very reasonable.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the corner rooms. near the elevators. The ladies cleaning the rooms will park the troll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkarase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Rooms are very small and the bed is extremely old and unconfortable.
Could not sleep because of the noise either. Decent location but not worth the savings.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We booked this hotel because it was near Porta Susa station and we were just staying overnight after arriving from Cervinia and going home next day by train to Paris. Wifi was free and available in all rooms (not always made clear on reviews or indeed their own website!) but we had no problems signing in. The room was a bit gloomy in common with so many hotels - why oh why do they NEVER give visitors decent lighting?) but it was reasonably large, very clean and well-decorated. The beds were super-comfy and extra pillows and blankets were available in the wardrobe. I'd have preferred duvets to the blanket and bedspread, which I always feel dubious about in hotels as I don't know who else has sat on them! The double window and shutters made an effective barrier to the tremendous noise from the road outside (the hotel is situated at the Turin equivalent of the lower end of Regent Street where in adjoins Piccadilly Circus!). I don't mind this as I love looking out the window into the street below, watching all the comings and goings. Alas though we didn't check that the aircon worked until we needed it late at night when we wanted peace and quiet - we phoned down to reception and they sent someone immediately who check it and told us it was broken. He offered us a different room, but at midnight who wants to change rooms? We made a mental note to check EVERYTHING works in future hotel rooms before we even open a suitcase! If you want a really quiet room, ask for the back of the hotel where rooms overlook a little courtyard. The bathroom was very clean with plenty of towels although not over-roomy, it was adequate for a night or two. The included breakfast wasn't great, but more than adequate - there were scrambled eggs and bacon, fruit and cereals, rolls and croissants and a huge array of yogurts and jams/spreads etc, as well as ham, salami and cheese. It sounds marvellous but the bacon wasn't cooked terribly well and the croissants weren't very good. But all in all, for the price, we will definitely stay again. We had a lovely surprise with Turin in general - we weren't expecting much on an overnight stop, but we fell in love with the place, it's so unspoilt - around every corner there is yet more beautiful buildings and little squares with cafes around the outside. We will go back, and we will stay at the Diplomatic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if noise might bother you - the street is 24-7 noisy outside with trams a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linden-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Centro
Hotel Dock Milano
Hotel Dock Milano
#37 of 129 in Turin
1,182 reviews
Starhotels Majestic
#16 of 129 in Turin
1,099 reviews
Pacific Hotel Fortino
#35 of 129 in Turin
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crocetta
Residence Sacchi
Residence Sacchi
#5 of 129 in Turin
491 reviews
Le Petit Hotel
#42 of 129 in Turin
619 reviews
Star Residence
#17 of 129 in Turin
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Property: Hotel Diplomatic
Address: Via Cernaia 42, 10122 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomatic 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomatic hotel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Turin, located in the historic centre of the city, a few metres from the Porta Susa railway station, the main hub of high-speed rail transit between France and Italy.However you choose to get to the Diplomatic, the hotel is convenient due to its proximity to the Torino Caselle "Sandro Pertini" airport terminal, to the new underground line which takes you to the "Lingotto Fiere" Congress Centre in a few minutes, to the Polytechnic University of Turin, the Olympic Stadium and the new Juventus stadium.Strolling under the beautiful and historic arcades in Turin you reach the city’s most beautiful squares (Piazza Castello, Piazza Vittorio Veneto, Piazza San Carlo, Piazza Carlo Felice), the main places of “Turin nightlife” (the Roman Quarter (Quadrilatero Romano), the Murazzi, the Banks of the River Po, the Dora Docks, the Valentino Park), the most important museums and cathedrals (the Egyptian Museum, The Museum of Cinema, the OGR Officine Grandi Riparazioni, the Mole Antonelliana, the Chapel of the Shroud, the churches of Gran Madre and Maria Ausiliatrice). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing