We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was fine, but awfully warm”
Review of Grand Hotel Sitea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sitea
Ranked #3 of 130 Hotels in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is a bit old fashioned, but quite nice. We had a good sized room with a big comfortable bed, mirrored wall, big flat screen tv, sofa and a separate walk-in closet. The breakfast buffet was very good.
Only a few problems: the entire hotel was really hot. True, it was unseasonably warm for October, but when we wanted to turn on the airco in our room, we were told that they had switched from airco to heating and it was therefore not possible to cool the room, so we should simply turn off the heat. We obviously already did that, but it remained very hot, even with the window open (and as we were unfortunately on the street side, it was quite noisy).
The reception desk is in a small space by the front door and always crowded so not easy to get the staff's attention (use the phone instead!). Note too that wifi does not work well at all - very intermittant service throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: avoid a room on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was my first visit to Torino. It was unforgettable, mainly because of Grand Hotel Sitea's special offer that I took. It's called "Visiting Historic Turin":
The hotel provided us with a 48 hour Torino+Piemonte Card which enabled us to visit all the museums, palaces and historic sites for free. It was really worth it as we used it a lot: we saw the Egyptian museum (a must), the fantastic car museum, the Royal Palace, Mole Antonelliana and the majestic Sacra di San Michele convent.
On our second morning in Torino we got a complimentary 2-hour private organized tour of the city center. Fabia, a fantastic licensed tour guide, met us at the hotel's lobby, and gave us a sweeping, dynamic, interesting and enriching tour that opened our eyes and made us understand the rich history and style of the region. The tour with Fabia alone was worth the trip to Torino!
The hotel is located in a pedestrian area, within a short walking distance from all the interesting sites, shops and restaurants. We got a huge, magnificent room, very comfortable clean and modern: nice bathroom and a big walk in closet. Breakfast was rich and tasty, and the reception staff was wonderful. There's a free Wi-Fi at the hotel, which is good and small gym, open 24 hours a day.
I really loved Grand Hotel Sitea, and I am looking forward to another visit there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiladIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Everything about the Grand Hotel Sitea is top-notch. Helpful front desk staff, a lovely room, delicious breakfast, terrific location, and much more. We couldn't have asked for a better place from which to explore this fantastic city. Be sure to look for the pet turtles in the garden!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street are quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

5 STAR QUALITY AND SERVICE. EXCELLENT HOTEL and very good location just blocks away from old town and easy walk to historic buildings and train station. The hotel room was very modern and one of the largest rooms we've had in Europe. We had a king size bed with a separate sitting area and large bathroom. The breakfast buffet that came with the room was SUPERB with the widest selection of food (eggs, bacon, 2-3 kinds of cold meat, 4-5 kinds of cheese, fruits and salad, juices, champagne, croissants, rolls, breads, coffee and a wide assortment teas. The front desk staff (especially Fabio and Gabriele) was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLWOrangePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was the first leg of our trip so we were very happy that our room was so quiet and comfortable after the 24 hour flight from Australia. We quickly found that most of the major attractions were within easy walking distance from the hotel. When asked, staff were friendly and helpful with good restaurant recommendations and directions. The hotel organised our driver from Milan airport to Turin which we very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelMarkBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

US citizen - arrived to find professional, courteous, multilingual and helpful staff. Great location, clean comfortable room/bedding and free internet access. Bathroom was elegent and clean with bidet and heated towel rack. Was offered friendly assistance, sightseeing guidance in close proximity to hotel. Elegant tasty free hors d’oeuvres served with cocktails in relaxing bar area - a real treat. I would definitely enjoy the opportunity to stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Bravo Grand Hotel Sitea!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Yes, this is how I felt , indeed, staying at Sitea. Torino was the first destination of our Italian trip this year. After travelling from the US West Coast to Europe all you want is to relax first: and relaxed we did! The room was quiet, very cosy, the bed was comfortable and we took a nice nap immedeately, nothing interrupted it.
As we were ready for our first walk around the city the helpful staff supplied us with the map, suggestions for the sightseeing and the place to have dinner (this will be reviewed separately, as it deserves it! It's called Osteria degli Ottoni).
The location of the hotel is superior- walking distance to all major points of interest, close to the subway and peaceful, quiet and safe at the same time. Altogether I felt safe in this city (I am sure there are areas which need to be avoided, but we did not come across those at all).
Brekfast was very good and the service was corteous. It was a great way to start the trip as it was not too overwhelming, gave us the right starting pace and put us into a nice hospitable and friendly atmosphere- very typical for Piedmonte, as I discovered along the way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Crocetta
Turin Palace Hotel
Turin Palace Hotel
#1 of 130 in Turin
1,595 reviews
Centro
NH Torino Santo Stefano
Centro
NH Collection Torino Piazza Carlina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Victoria
#8 of 130 in Turin
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sitea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sitea

Address: Via Carlo Alberto 35, 10123 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Turin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Turin
#1 Business Hotel in Turin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range: $147 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Sitea 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Grand Hotel SiteaA four-star hotel featuring history, tradition and elegance in the heart of TurinBuilt in the early 1900s and featuring a traditional brand of hospitality, the Grand Hotel Sitea in Turin is superbly positioned for those who want to be able to get about the city centre on foot for shopping and other needs.Located in the elegant heart of Risorgimento Turin, just off the very central Via Roma and Piazza San Carlo and a few minutes' walk from Piazza Castello, this four-star hotel charms guests with its discretion and reserve, and is characterised by a refined atmosphere and attention to every detail.Its traditional cuisine and attentive service make the Grand Hotel Sitea's restaurant an appreciated gourmet stop. A Turin point of reference for its high-profile hospitality, experience and well-equipped spaces, the Hotel Sitea offers a congress centre that is formed by four well-lit rooms for 100 people.Benvenuti al Grand Hotel SiteaUn albergo 4 stelle di storia, tradizione, eleganza nel cuore di TorinoSorto nel primo Novecento ed improntato ad un'ospitalita di tradizione, il Grand Hotel Sitea di Torino vanta una posizione ideale per chi desidera spostarsi a piedi fra le vie del centro, cosi come per fare shopping.Situato nel cuore elegante della Torino risorgimentale, proprio alle spalle della centralissima Via Roma e di Piazza San Carlo, a pochi minuti da Piazza Castello, quest'hotel 4 stelle affascina per discrezione e riservatezza, caratterizzato da atmosfere ricercate e curate in ogni dettaglio.La cucina di attenta tradizione e il servizio curato rendono il ristorante del Grand Hotel Sitea un'apprezzata meta gourmet.Punto di riferimento a Torino per l'accoglienza di alto profilo, con la sua esperienza ed i suoi spazi attrezzati, l'hotel Sitea dispone di un centro congressi formato da quattro luminose sale per 100 persone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Sitea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing