We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food and wine for a fabulous price”

Stefano Fanti al Ristorante Circolo dei Lettori
Reserve with
Stefano Fanti al Ristorante Circolo dei Lettori is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 3,585 Restaurants in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and wine for a fabulous price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Normally we choose our restaurants from a Michelin or similar guide but now we chose to follow the reviews from this website. And we were certainly not disappointed. What a great place! Four courses of Italian cuisine for only 37 euros in a beautiful restaurant in an old palazzo in downtown Turin. And this four course dinner served no less than 7 dishes on the tables when you include the amuse bouche and the other extras. The mousse of rabbit, the home made ravioli, the perfect vitello tonnato, the chocolate dessert, the veal's cheek braised in nebbiolo, everything including the presentation of the dishes was superb! Another nice thing is that you can choose the price range of the accompanying wines. But even the most expensive variety (25 euros for 4 wines) is still very reasonable for the quality of the great wines you get. The Michelin guys must have certainly missed this wonderful place!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank nailman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    256
    33
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A piece of history, not only excellent food and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Turin, the city where I spent my student's years, and where I often return with pleasure, has changed in many ways, but not in her deep respect for history. For the Restaurant del Circolo dei Lettori history is embedded into his essence, you can read it in each item in the menu!
But history is hanging from his walls where a beautiful collection of self-portraits of Piedmonteses' artists accompanies with self-indulgence your food and drinks, rigorously from the history of the territory.
This restaurant is a sure pleasure for a food and wine connoisseur, but not only an extemporary one. When you are there you will understand that there is a solid treasure behind the façade, that the food is prepared with the same sober self-modesty that has inspired the authors of the paintings hanging around you. It is solid and un-pretentious, a bit like the box of chocolate you can buy only in this city, half a kilo of pure delicious chocolate with the size of less that half a brick! No non-sense!
Even if this restaurant is less than half a mile form the "cathedral of the piedmontese cuisine" Il Cambio, I suggest you try both, and you will be pleasantly surprised by the Circolo degli Artisti, where for an extremely reasonable price you can taste the tradition of this region in a leaving environment. Bon appetit

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LNT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravedona, Lago di Como
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

I found the restaurant through an Internet search and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. Everything was perfect: the helpful staff, the outstandingly good food and the wine. The readers' club is hidden away inside an old palazzo with no indication from the road of its existence. Don't be put off...we were let in to the courtyard by a security guard on duty at the outer gates. On the 1st floor there were literary talks going on ( right up my street anyway) and an atmosphere of liberal arts, if that's not too 'pseuds corner'. The restaurant is on the floor below, with dozens of self portraits of artists on the walls because it was once an artists club. We chose the tasting menu for both food and wines, and found the standard quite superb. So much so that we booked again for the following (our last) night.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodieinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I have been to this restaurant three times and on each occasion the food served was an
experience.The presentation was impeccable, the home made pasta was like no other and the desserts just out of this world.
Everything that is served is fresh and the menu changes according to the season to ensure this freshness. The wine list is vast to compliment the menu chosen.
I will definitely return.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stefano Fanti al Ristorante Circolo dei Lettori also viewed

Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 
Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Stefano Fanti al Ristorante Circolo dei Lettori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing