We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So many positives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Torino Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence Torino Centro
Ranked #23 of 182 Turin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“So many positives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We chose this hotel simply for its convenience and proximity to Torino Porta Susa station (for the early morning TGV direct to Paris) as well as the Avis car hire branch where we needed to return our car and we were not disappointed. Infact this hotel has many more positives to report including: large spacious rooms, and a decent sized bathroom, a big balcony and doors opening onto it. All perfectly clean. Very helpful staff at the front desk. Convenient parking right outside, useful for the luggage drop off before returning the hired car. There was no urgency to move the car either until we had checked in and were ready to return it. This was appreciated as parking is a premium. Free wifi. All this for a very competitive rate.

Excellent proximity to Torino Porta Susa. If you have heavy luggage there is an elevator just a few steps from their door which drops you down into the station. No need to struggle with stairs. The station is one of the cleanest and classiest I have seen in a long time. It's only a pleasure to travel through there. Avis is on the other side of the station, and there too you get excellent, pleasant service from Lorenzo.

The gelateria on the corner La Romana gives you instant access to some of Torino's best ice-cream. A great restaurant within easy walking distance is La Capannina (see my other reviews) and the main centre is also a very pleasant, even if a bit of a lengthy walk. Could take you 30-60min depending on how many shops you stop in at.

This is a great hotel choice, it's not overly glam, but it delivers. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisylu2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    113
    48
    5
    3
See reviews for
80
65
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our three-night stay here started out badly. We booked a room with a group through a travel agent. When we arrived at the hotel, it was very hot and we discovered that the air conditioning was not available. Our room faced a very busy street, and with the window open, it was quite noisy. So, I requested a room facing the garden. We were then given a much smaller room with a very small bed. When we first settled in this room, I used the free Wi-Fi (that barely worked) to check the hotel prices. At that time they were offering the room at about 82 euro for the first two nights, then 60 some euro for the last night. We had paid 95 euro through the travel agency and had ended up with a very substandard room.

I went to the reception desk and explained my dissatisfaction, especially given the price that we had paid. The young woman at the desk was somewhat rude and said that she had already explained why the air-conditioning wasn't on (either the heat or air-conditioning could be switched on, depending on the season, but they weren't yet sure if the weather was going to stay hot). After some discussion, she suggested that I speak to her supervisor in the morning. Then, I asked her if there was a room with two single beds facing away from the street. Finally, she realized that there was and we were moved to a very nice, large room.

So, in the end we had a decent room, although we were stuck paying too much. The initial exchange with the reception clerk left me feeling that this was not a very friendly place. Other front desk staff were equally unfriendly.

Although part of the building is beautiful and old, most of the rooms are with characterless.

I will choose another hotel next time I go to Turin.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street are very noisy with windows open. They seemed quiet enough with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaBItaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for three nights at Torino Centro, in a lovely refurbished room with wooden floorboards and a modern bathroom. Our room was large, spotless, and was serviced daily before we had even finished breakfast. We had requested a quiet room on a higher floor, which we received.

Free wi-fi was available for the duration of our stay.

Breakfast was in the café next door (enter directly from Reception), with excellent coffee and a very good continental buffet with a wide range of choices.

Every member of staff we encountered was polite, friendly and helpful.

The hotel is right next to Torino Porta Susa railway station, which is served by the new Italo high speed trains. People with large luggage or mobility problems should note that there are a few stairs from the street to Reception. Construction work at the station during our stay resulted in some station exits being blocked; this was not a huge problem, it just meant there was a slightly longer walk between the station and the hotel. We did not notice any construction noise while in the hotel, and our sleep was not affected.

Central Turin and the Palazzo Reale, Palazzo Madama and Piazza Castello are a pleasant and easy 20-30 minute walk from the hotel, along Via Garibaldi; alternatively, there are buses, trams and the Metro.

For a 3-star property, we thought Torino Centro was excellent value at approx. EUR 80 per night including breakfast for two.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCB1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've been there for 3 nights, weel located, excelent reception, free internet, ladies at reception very good and very helpfull. excellent breakfast food and service. Quiet area. I recommend it NO DOUBT. If I go back to Turin definetely I'll hire this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graciela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel was spotlessly clean - the staff were generally helpful BUT the breakfast was poor and in my view the hotel was expensive for what you got.

There was a group of us visiting the hotel and the hotel lacked a common area where we could get a drink and chat without going to someone's room.

NB at the moment the New Railway Station is being completed and all the access routes to the other side of it are not fully completed.

Room Tip: Great access from the Railway station BUT more of a challenge if you want to get the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60LikeToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lovely receptionist, beautiful large, clean room for a family of 4 with king bed and double pull out couch. Quiet area, across the road from Porta Susa station. Beautiful breakfast. Well priced and free wifi.

Room Tip: Room 211 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou46Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here for work and my hotel room was very clean and comfortable with good Wi-Fi.
The breakfast was ok but not amazing.
This hotel is conveniently situated next to Porta Susa station. I'd say thhat this hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyFoncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Centro
Hotel Dock Milano
Hotel Dock Milano
#29 of 129 in Turin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Hotel Diplomatic
#38 of 129 in Turin
3.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cit Turin
Eco Art Hotel Statuto
Eco Art Hotel Statuto
#49 of 129 in Turin
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Centro
NH Torino Ambasciatori
Centro
Hotel Artua & Solferino
Hotel Artua & Solferino
#65 of 129 in Turin
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Torino Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Torino Centro

Property: Hotel Residence Torino Centro
Address: Corso Inghilterra 33 | in front of the new station of Porta Susa, 10138 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Cit Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Torino Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence Torino Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing