We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, food not special”
Review of Eataly Lingotto

Eataly Lingotto
Ranked #233 of 3,662 Restaurants in Turin
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nizza Millefonti
Description: Eataly is more than a supermarket with restaurants. It is an energetic marketplace--an opportunity to taste and take home the products of artisans who create the highest quality products at a fair price
Belgium & Argentina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Poor service, food not special”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I read the good reviews of this restaurant and we went while on a city trip to Turin. I was largely disappointed...! First, the service is disappointing for a place that bases its appeal on slow food and quality ingredients, with the corresponding upmarket prices. Example: I asked the waitress in Italian what the pasta of the day was. Her answer was: "what's written on the blackboard there". I'm short sighted and even with my glasses on I couldn't read it! She said that wasn't her fault... I ordered a pasta of cylindrical shape, which was dry, tasteless and not cooked enough. My husband was more lucky with the seafood spaghetti, well cooked and tasty. Considering that there are so many restaurants in Turin where you can eat a good pasta, what's the point of going to this one? You pay more and get poor service for a meal you could get in several other places. Not recommendable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georginamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,367
    1,656
    742
    352
    205
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice idea, great marketing, average food, poor service”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

You would expect better food after all the context and the commitments to ingredients, traceability, producer, transparency, quality etc that form the background of the whole store. We tried the pizza section and the fried food section. In both cases service was confused and slow: after a long wait for the fried mix, the waiter wanted me to pay for wine while I was eating. The quality of food was just beyond the acceptable level, similar quality to any average restaurant in town, definitely not at the level of the gourmet ones. They need to improve, in order to deliver what they say in their marketing campaign.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I go there almost every week, pizza is tasty for an affordable price, and ice cream is so good, especially the chocolate, I'd say I'm lucky cause I live nearby

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“True italian gastronomy”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've been several times here and each time I found it delicious! Pizza and pasta are amazing... Maybe the best pizza in Turin. Speedy service and great atmosphere... Maybe a little expensive but it's worthy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick_med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saignon, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Italian Food Heaven”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Slow food movement started here by and has expanded to some other cities in Italy, US, Japan. Huge food emporium where you can find top quality fresh vegetables and fruits, pasta, cheeses, deli, meats, fish, sweets, oils, wine, coffees, etc, etc. all under one roof an d you can have lunch at one of the several food bars. Stocked up on parmagiano, mozzarella, scamorza, wines to take home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Provencals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eataly Lingotto also viewed

 
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Eataly Lingotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing