We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Principi D'Acaja
Ranked #69 of 129 Hotels in Turin
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good choice for the price”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Firstly this hotel is a little way out of the main centre of Turin, but in a clean and nice area of the city

Walking it takes you about 15-20 minutes to get to the main square

Quite a beautiful old (but not worn out) art nouveau styling's

My room was on the ground floor, single room with bathroom/shower
Good air-con and a spacious room
The included breakfast was basic but more than enough
Friendly staff, spoke good English and happy to help out

I was looking for a hotel of very good value with car parking that was close (walking distance) to the city centre.
This was my second time in Turin and I would choose this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesCoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    74
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
26
63
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our three children. The place is really beautiful, a palace built for a prince in the early 1900s. Breakfast was very good, all the people kind and helpful. The only problem we had was that the air conditioning was not working in the kids' room, so they changed them to another one. I don't suppose it would normally be a problem, but those days were particularly hot. The hotel is very well located, we could take the subway to the old town and then we took it to the train station. Very large, comfortable rooms. I'm glad we stayed there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I booked two rooms one single for myself and a twin/double for my sons, we went for the football and an extra day to look around the Turin. The hotel was very clean, quiet and close to public transport, very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Fernando the Manager is very helpful with all different requests and gave us some recommendations for sight seeing. The hotel is 2 minutes to a metro station and also close to other bus and tram transports with a 15 minute walk to the town center. The breakfast at the hotel is continental and very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is after a reasonable hotel with good quality. Close to the hotel is an excellent authentic Italian Pizzeria see other reviews and a great bar that does late food called New Castle Bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HughL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I booked this hotel for one night, arriving from Saluzzo, with the goal of not driving too far for the very early morning flight from Turin airport, and yet I wished to see Turin’s center in the evening. The hotel served the purpose quite well, and overall I was pleased with it.

1) I booked “Large room with Art Nouveau furniture”, and indeed the room was very spacious, with high ceilings and stylish furniture. There were many nice touches, like little tablecloths on tables and nightstands, bed mats, beautiful chandelier, window treatments. The whole impression from the room and the hotel overall was surprisingly favorable, it was indeed decorated in Art Nouveau style and the hotel impressed as a place well cared for and well-maintained.
2) In addition to the bedroom, my room had a bay window seating area with a table and sofa, and it was extremely convenient for the computer and other electronics. The Wi-Fi signal was excellent in the room, both my Android phone and the computer worked fine with it. I really liked the comfort of the seating area, full of light, although the chairs were not of leather but of some cheap plastic upholstery.
4) The bed was quite good and comfortable; there were extra blanket and pillows.
5) The shower was very good, the bathroom clean and efficient, although the bathroom heater was not working. I was explained that in May the heating in Turin was off by law.
6) There was a little fridge/minibar in the room, a definite plus.
7) There was an elevator, which is an advantage for luggage, etc.
8) I managed to park right in front of the entrance, this street parking is free.
9) The personnel were friendly; they helped me with my bags and provided a brown-bag breakfast for my early departure.
10) The elegant hotel building and interior, much superior to other buildings in the neighborhood, suggest that in the past it must have been a fashionable district, perhaps it was at the outskirts of Turin, surrounded by greenery.
11) The drive to the airport was about 30 minutes at 7 am, not too difficult with GPS, although the traffic was intense already.


Disappointments:

1) The reasons why the hotel is reasonably priced considering the very good quality of the building and the rooms are: the outside traffic and a congested neighborhood of no distinction. The traffic was very heavy but after 8 pm it subsides considerably. Since my room was very large and the bed was away from the window, the sleep quality was good.
2) The hotel is somewhat away from the city center, it took 20 minutes by car to get to Piazza San Carlo after 8 pm, although it is not because of the great distance from the hotel to the center; it is due to the fact that traffic in Turin is heavy.
3) There was no radiator heating available in May, per portiere suggestion I tried the wall-mounted A/C, but it was too noisy to use.

Overall the hotel is a reasonable place to stay at its rate, quite elegant inside and out. I like places that have personality and which are built and run on a humane scale, and this hotel turned out to be like that, not like many faceless establishments that abound these days. It is certainly not a princely residence anymore, unless the Prince is a Pauper.

I would recommend this hotel as a good value place for one night; although on my next 3-days voyage to Turin I preferred to stay in a hotel closer to the center (Best Western Hotel Crimea) and in a quieter yet smaller room, even though it was considerably more expensive.

The relatively remote location of Principi D'Acaja makes it an unsuitable place to see the cultural sites of Turin, its main advantage being the closer proximity to the airport than any centrally located hotel.

Overall the hotel scene in Turin is rather disappointing for the price/quality ratio.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the road are quieter, although the best room "Large room with Art Nouvea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was a little bit of a get what you pay for hotel. We had a little trouble finding it, mainly due to construction around the train station. It was simple but clean and fine. We were only staying 1 night so it was all we were looking for.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Depemding much on the room you have, your stay may be ok or less ok. The top floor rooms---at least the one I had been offered---are not acceptable, the first floor rooms ok. Breakfast can be skipped without loss. But the staff is very friendly and helpful. All in all, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padgoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Notwithstanding the fact rooms int the hotel may seem very simple, it has many winning points: 1. position almost inside the historical centre of the city, 2. very nice and clean (situated in an old building with marvellous staircases), 3. very good breakfast, 4. VERY HELPFUL and AVAILABLE staff, that helps you with any information you need.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igorvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
San Donato
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#109 of 129 in Turin
154 reviews
Star Residence
#17 of 129 in Turin
245 reviews
Cit Turin
Eco Art Hotel Statuto
Eco Art Hotel Statuto
#53 of 129 in Turin
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Dock Milano
Hotel Dock Milano
#36 of 129 in Turin
1,204 reviews
San Salvario
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
Centro
NH Torino Centro
NH Torino Centro
#38 of 129 in Turin
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principi D'Acaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principi D'Acaja

Property: Hotel Principi D'Acaja
Address: Via Principi d'Acaja 8, 10143 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > San Donato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 129 Hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Principi D'Acaja 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Principi D'Acaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing