We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best surprise”
Review of Il Giglio

Il Giglio
Ranked #147 of 3,662 Restaurants in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“one of the best surprise”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Gosh, I only can recommend this restaurant.
We were planning to go to another restaurant in the same street, but when we saw the windows of IL GIGLIO, I knew that there was the place where I wanted to have a dinner.
IL GIGLIO looks like the italian restaurant you can see in old movie.
The price were perfectly fair, the local white wine (owner) is delicious (8.50 for 1 liter), the food is .... amazing !! and we've been offered a grappa.
No seriously, everything is perfect. The owner is terribly friendly, speak english and everything is clean. Just 1 advise, GO !! don't hesitate

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yanspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    178
    47
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leonberg, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, wonderful baked fresh fish.”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We arrived at the restaurant right at 7:30 when it opened. We were the first customers. The menu is only in Italian, but the owner translated and described the dishes to us. We chose the squid ink pasta with crab and the baked fish with olives and potatoes. The pasta was ok but the fish was delicious. It was baked whole and then filleted and served to us. The house white wine went well with it. Soon after we arrived the restaurant filled up with both couples and families. So make a reservation or go early. The fish is worth it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sszeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago.IL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly owner, good food”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had branzino and fritto misto at this little restaurant, and found both to be excellent. The owner was helpful in explaining the menu, and the service is good. Don't hesitate if you like fish and seafood.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Donaldsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good fish and seafood restaurant”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Il Giglio is a very good fish and seafood restaurant with familiar atmosphere. Antonio was very helpful in explaining the Italian menu and his recommendations were great. I will come back next time I am in Turin.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
“amazing meal”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

This place was absolutely amazing. We were only in Turin for 2 days, but Il Giglio was the highlight. Euphoria on a plate...I would go back to Turin just to eat here again. As stated already, it is a seafood primarily (or only?) place. So, so good! It was a great value too.

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
Thank pescatarianDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giglio also viewed

 
Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 
Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Il Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing