We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and helpful staff, cheap stay, very clean”
Review of Hotel Original

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Original
Ranked #93 of 129 Hotels in Turin
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“friendly and helpful staff, cheap stay, very clean”
Reviewed September 14, 2010

the good:
+ staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room on the first night was too noisy, upon our request, they moved us to a very quiet room. Make sure you ask a room that does not see the street
+ it's very clean, no problems whatsoever
+ you can park your car in the garden. That costs 5 euro extra per day, we found it ok. Street parking is free also, but space might be limited. You can leave your car in the garden even after checkout, they don't make a problem out of it.
+ free fast internet connection

The bad:
- the breakfast is pretty basic (I am not sure if this is how Italians have breakfast). A sweet brioch (jam or chocolate) and some cheap fruit yoghurt, that's it. Coffee is not very good either
- it is not very close to the center, i would say about 7-8 km. You can take tram 4, it will take around 20 minutes to reach via Garibaldi. Tickets cost 1 euro per person and can be bought from tobacco shops (they close early, and supermarkets don't sell these tickets, so make sure you get one for the way back as well!)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graymountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
20
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Quite a quirky hotel - with mirrored headboards rather than your standard style. My room was painted gold on the walls which gave it a style all its own! Sadly the air con didn't work nor was there any hot water for the entire duration of my stay - and I ened up having to borrow a work colleague's room to have a shower. The hotel is also situated on a main road right next to a bus stop - which makes packing ear plugs an absolute essential. That being said, it was cheap and cheerful - the roms were clean and generally well maintained and the family friendly. The biggest drawback was the distance from the city centre - approx 20 euros by taxi!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules-and-Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balestrate
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

I decided to book a room in this hotel based on reviews found on internet. I must say that I was happy to use the possibility to be picked up from the airport, by one of the staff members, for a good price, lower than a taxi. The room was big enough, clean and silent. The owner are an extremely warm family, very helpfull and nice. I had a wonderful time in the hotel and Torino is a beautiful city to visit.

  • Liked — The warm welcome
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Balestrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

The hotel appears to be family run and they were friendly and helpful to a fault. The decor is wonderfully kitch and the breakfast was the best presented (and at 2euros a bargain) we had in a 3 week stop in Southern Europe.

So why the poor review: well, there was a cockroach in the bathroom. Just the one, but that was enough. To my discredit I didn't report it to the management, but it put me off the whole stay. As my partner pointed out though, this is quite common in August in a hot mediteranian country. All the same....

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radioheadkiduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Giada
#104 of 129 in Turin
32 reviews
1.8 mi away
Albergo Guido Reni
Albergo Guido Reni
#110 of 129 in Turin
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Hotel Torino 1
Residence Hotel Torino 1
#79 of 129 in Turin
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Torino
B&B Hotel Torino
#41 of 129 in Turin
403 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Sharing
Hotel Sharing
#95 of 129 in Turin
175 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cairo
Hotel Cairo
#46 of 129 in Turin
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Original

Property: Hotel Original
Address: Via Arturo Farinelli 4, 10135 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 129 Hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Original 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing