We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apalling customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Apalling customer service!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding party at the end of last month, and never, ever, have I encountered such apalling service. Clean well looked after hotel, beautiful location but the owners/staff in this hotel need basic lessons in customer care. No hello, miserable unfriendly faces. I actually thought it was a wind up!. We also heard that that they had tried to accuse fellow guests of breaking a terrace door handle for which they wanted reimbursement for...despite the fact the door was unusable during the stay, and posed a health and safety issue had there been a fire on the corridor outside. Laughable!. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

Room Tip: Different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank belle a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    68
    35
    20
    26
See reviews for
40
121
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Wow the owners of this hotel must have attended the Basil Fawtly school of charm from which they emerged with a distinction!
The hotel is clean and in a great position however when you are spending your hard earned money the least that you should expect is a smile and maybe a "Hello". None of which is forthcoming in this establishment run by a mother and daughter team who would be better employed running a Gulag labour camp in Siberia.
In the 3 days that I spent at this hotel the nearest I got to a smile was a frosty sneer as I asked if I could have an extra pillow! They were constantly arguing with each other in the public areas and on one occasion my wife was brave enough to ask for a cappuccino at breakfast and after 10 minutes one was slammed on the table in front of us..
The town of Orta San Giulio is charming and I would readily recommend it however stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cityscanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orta San Giulio hotels

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked this hotel for our wedding last weekend. We had done a bit of a research trip earlier in the year and sussed out the town and the various accommodation on offer. We had a lot of people travelling with us so we wanted somewhere central, near the Church, near the marina, near the square. Location of the hotel was perfect. We looked round the rooms on offer, very nice. We had a very cold welcome from the owners but decided that despite them the hotel was the best one for our criteria.

Was really staggered at how inhospitable and rude the owners could be. Miserable, never a smile, always a disapproving sneer. They went out of their way to make people feel unwelcome.

We had booked about 20 rooms booked and everyone commented that the hotel was beautiful and Orta itself was idyllic but that the hotel owners were terribly rude.

We actually stayed ourselves the night of the wedding and I stayed the night before. They did not even congratulate us. They did not smile. They did not leave a card in the room or a bottle of wine or even acknowledge that it was a special day. It was completely bizarre.

Anyway to sum up. Despite their best efforts they didn't spoil it for us. We had a wonderful wedding weekend in a beautiful location. They could have provided the icing on the cake but instead they have driven us to leave this stinking review which I would never normally do.

Don't let this put you off Orta, just don't stay there!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judith_Chalmers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently stayed here as guests of our dear friends, as part of their wedding celebrations. The location itself is truly beautiful - the hotel sits directly lakeside with unsurpassed views across the lake providing a dramatic backdrop. Couple this with direct access to the quaint square it makes for a wonderful stay. However!!!! The previous comments offered here are quite correct - miserable staff with attitudes that could sink a battleship. Rude, discourteous and glum sums them up. Indeed, its often the smallest acts of kindness that often create the greatest resonance - the bride and groom, having booked at least 15 rooms for guests, didnt even receive a complimentary bottle of asti or a mere congratulations from the guards..sorry, staff. Such a shame as this hotel has great potential to do so much more. Given the current economic climate one would have thought the staff and management would have given consideration to providing more in terms of customer service - we would certainly return to this wonderful part of Italy - but sadly never to this particular hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fanucci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Public areas and room were clean and well maintained, although room was small (less than 3 metres square excluding the entrance corridor). Location is central but one night noisy drinkers kept us awake till 3am at the Venus Bar opposite in the square.

Sadly thats about as good as it gets. The place is run by people stuck in some kind of time warp who still seem to think that just by being there is enough to keep the guests coming through the door. The attitude is terrible, you are lucky if the person on the reception desk even looks up as you come and go, let alone offer any sort of greeting. When we were there (at a busy time for all the other hotels in the region we stayed in) the place was virtually empty - so its not as if they were rushed off their feet. Breakfast was minimal with barely enough to go round for us and the other couple of guests staying there and when we had the temerity to ask for fresh bath towels we faced an inquisition about whether and when we last used the ones we had. What we were then given wasn't fit to wash your car with. Such a shame because the building seems to have so much potential.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillS274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel has a great location right on the lake and on the main piazza. Although the village centre is pedestrianised it's only a short walk from the car parks and there are routes that are ramped rather than steps so pulling a case with wheels is no problem at all. We stayed in a basic room and it was very nice. Not massive but in the traditional Italian style. A lift is available to take you up if you want to avoid the stairs. Our room opened onto the second floor terrace shared with two other rooms, this had a superb view of the island across the lake and was a real sun trap in the evening, a few tables and chairs are provided to sit and relax with a view of the lake. The room had a great shower and was cleaned and made every day. The TVs have been updated to small flat screens rather than the older style CRTs shown in the pictures.

We didn't try the restaurant but it was busy each night which is a good sign. Breakfast varied depending on the amount of guests staying each night but was a nice traditional spread of meats, cheese, fruit, pastries, cereals etc. Juices were cartons rather than fresh which was a shame. The only other issue was when I asked for a fried egg this was happily served and was excellent but unfortunately a 4 euro charge for one egg appeared on my bill when I checked out - I hope Leon D'Oro read this as that was a slightly bitter taste after what was a superb overall stay.

In summary the location couldn't be better, the rooms are great and the service is good too even the two ladies who frequent the dining room don't deserve some of the previous reviews and greeted us with a welcoming smile or maybe they just guessed I would be ordering eggs.....if you book this hotel you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsham
Level Contributor
481 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Tradional hotel in great location. Stiff owners and food okay. Better hotels in town but no real complaints

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Rocco Hotel
San Rocco Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta

Property: Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Address: Piazza E. Motta 42, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leon d Oro Orta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing