We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation!”
Review of Hotel La Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Bussola
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

A cosy and sharming hotel in a beautiful area! The hotel is very Nice, the rooms are practical, and have The most beautiful view! The service is outstanding, and we felt like home from our first day until the last one, 9 days later! The breakfast has all You ned for a good start of the day. Will recommend this to familys with children as well as couples who is looking for a romantic vacation! A BIG plus for the pool-area!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

This a chalet style building located on the hill leading down to Orta S.G town. The area is almost surreally pretty, and the views of it all are unbeatable from this hotel (make sure you get a lake/island view room though, as a few aren't.
The breakfast terrace is gorgeous, and the buffet pretty good too. The pool is lovely, and the grounds spacious, with plenty of parking.
Our room was a disappointment - fabulous view, but from a small window, with a very small terrace. The room was clean and functional, but lacked any character, and was pretty small. Obviously you don't spend that much time in your room in a place like this, but it was a bit grating given the top dollar pricing.
There are some small niggles too - chargeable wifi, chargeable pool towels, and worst of all, air con which bizarrely goes off at midnight.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank oscillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked a suite on the third floor and our balcony looked right over the lake and island. It was very beautiful. The room itself was large with a good bathroom including spa bath. The room was a little on the dark side and did get a bit hot at night being under the eaves in the attic. Breakfast is a cold buffet which was adequate but not inspiring. However I would recommend this hotel for a couple of nights due to its location. It is only a 10 min walk into the town although it is uphill on the way back! Bit on the pricey side but they didn't charge for pool towel or wifi as we had a suite.

Room Tip: Book suite at the top for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SnowQueen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Orta is somewhere we visit regularly and if we can we plan our touring holidays to have a few days relaxation here. On the last four visits we have stayed at the Bussola. This year we were a little earlier than usual and the whole of Orta still seemed to be getting itself ready for the summer season. Apparently they had a bad winter which had delayed everything. This was true at the hotel too but that did not spoil our stay. As ever the staff were friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English, and as far as I could tell French and German too. Breakfast is a buffet but they will cook omelettes or fried eggs on request and sitting on the terrace overlooking the lake is the perfect location to enjoy it. As has been mention by several reviewers turning off the air conditioning during the night is the only negative.

Room Tip: The ones with the lake views are the best, mountain view rooms seem better than garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaveNKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Orta San Giulio is a lovely old small lakeside town,with beautiful views, and an unusual hilltop World Heritage site of Sacre Monte.The hotel is well situated, with a view over the lake.It has a long covered balcony on the first floor with lake views, on which you sit out for your meals - very pleasant indeed. Our room was of good size, with a modern bathroom, and extremely effective shower. The bed is large, but a bit on the hard side. Bedroom and bathroom were very clean. All staff pleasant and helpful.Plenty of onsite parking. Had to pay 3 Euros for 24hrs wifi, but this could be taken in small bits spread over the days we were there.Food was of good standard, and value, so we ate in most nights. Only niggle was that there was a wedding one evening, which took over most of the balcony, and which carried on until after midnight. On the other nights we slept well

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are in roof, but are larger, and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paddyk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a hotel to be recommended if you like to visit the Town of Orta San Guilio. Ask for a room with lake view. Parking is availlable and we have choosen to have dinner at the restaurant of the hotel, which was not a too bad decision. Although we stayed only one night, one can imaginge to spend a week of holiday at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schmumues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good location, great Breakfast, clean room but so so front desk services. The pool is under repaired for the moment. Breakfast services were very good. The waiter is very good and
full of funs. Overall is very good.

Room Tip: Room face the lake is bit pricy but worthy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnT641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
238 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bussola

Address: Strada Panoramica 24, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: $139 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bussola 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing