We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel on outskirts of beautiful village”
Review of Hotel La Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Bussola
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Useful to have the hotel car park as you can’t drive into the village itself. Interesting walk into down narrow streets into Orta San Giulio, which has a lovely square facing the lake. In fact the whole village is unspoilt and charming. Would recommend the restaurant that has a big sign high above at roof level ‘Albergo – Orta’. You can sit right next to the lake with a fine view across to the island, and the food is good quality and not too expensive. Our hotel room was elegant, comfortable and clean. Even though we had a side room rather than one with a lake view, we still had quite a good view of the lake and the island from our balcony. Brief but enjoyable one night stay, rounded off with a nice breakfast.

Stayed: June 2008
2  Thank LondonEuroweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 304 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2008

We liked this hotel so much that we cancelled our next hotel (on Lake maggiore) and went back!
Lovely views, Orta was one of the nicest towns we stayed at on our tour of Northern Italy.
The first room we stayed in for our initial 2 night stay was on the corner of the hotel on the second floor with views of the lake and the swimming pool. The room was very bright and clean with a double window and two balconies. The hotel is situated on a hill just above the town (about a 5 minute walk from the bars and restaurants - which are very low key). Orta itself is a small and very picturesque town over looking the small island of St Giulio - which you can take a water taxi to see.
We left La Bussola (reluctantly), after 2 nights, to go to the next hotel in Baveno on lake maggiore. As soon as we arrived we wanted to go back to la Bussola. The hotel (although clean) was very dark and anitquated - it was on a busy main road with no-where to walk to and the room overlooked a pebble-dashed roof, nothing like the stunning views we had at La Bussola.
We called the owner of La Bussola and asked if we could come back for another 3 nights ! She had only 2 rooms available (there was a wedding reception on that night) but was very helpful and said that we could come back and choose which room we wanted out of the 2 available.
both rooms were lovely, bright and spotless - they looked recently refurbished. We chose a room on the third floor with side lake views - it was even better than the first room we stayed in, with a lovely modern bathroom.
We were half board at the hotel so had breakfast and evening meal there - i'm sure there aren't many better locations for dinner on Lake orta. The food was very good and the service was even better - all the staff were very friendly (including the resident dog - a dalmation called Ronnie!)
I would definitely recommend this hotel. if there is one negative it would be that the air conditioning was switched off at mid-night .
You can easily visit lake maggiore from here as well as driving into Switzerland, which we did on our way to Lake Como.
This was a wonderful hotel which we would love to come back to!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alibub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Hotel la Bussola is a modern, clean and friendly hotel situated with superb views of Lake Orta and the town of Orta San Giulio. There is parking and a good-sized swimming pool, although the latter was closed when we stayed. The owners had intended to open it, but there had been little cause due to the heavy and consistent rain in May. It is quiet, being located just outside the centre of the town.
The breakfast is plentiful, with fresh croissants, cereals and fruit juices and - of course - good coffee in abundance. We chose to stay half-board, since we have a young son, but the set evening meal was functional rather than memorable. The winelist has a good mix of both local and regional wines, and is both regional and well priced. Service was attentive and polite.
The town is a 2 minute walk down the hill, and contains a good mix of bars and osterias for those choosing to be more adventurous.
Our room was of a reasonable size, with excellent views over the lake from a small balcony. The bathroom and shower were clean as was the linen.
Orta itself is beautiful, the lake being smaller than its immediate neighbour, Maggiore. It is clean enough to swim in, and small enough to drive around in a couple of hours.
La Bussola is a good choice if you are looking for a reliable, clean & friendly hotel. Our son was captivated by the huge dog in reception, a very friendly canine bear, and we were grateful to the signora who helped us with a small medical emergency with the minimum of fuss. She also gave us excellent advice for local amenities and child-friendly day trips.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ginge66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

A very reasonably priced hotel in a fantastic setting. The family run hotel was very friendly , going out of their way to help with problems - late arrivals, deliveries of delayed baggage from airports a day later.

The lady owner's language skills were very impressive assisting in fluent Italian, French and English. (and probably others too)

Resort tries to be family friendly but is best suited for couples and La Bussola caters very well for this.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank therealmikeymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

Great location and friendly hotel. Five minute walk down the hill to town, plenty of parking, air conditioned, quiet. The picture on most web sites is old and does not show the spanking new wing above the terrace. Light airy normal sized room, good towels, TV, CNN, mini bar, safe & phone. Oct ’06 Room 114, shower only, but balcony, Island and Lake view 120 € with minimal (e.g. no eggs and the same pimento-olive cold cut selection every day) buffet breakfast. Reserved directly with hotel via e-mail. There are old hotels in town, which we usually prefer, but we wanted the balcony, which is hard to get. We talked with another couple that had to take half-pension to get a terrasse room downtown and were unhappy with the meal. We recommend Taverna Antico Agnello, for dinner, a decent 12 € bottle of Pino Grigio made a 50 € meal.
Wednesday is market day in town. There are only two Internet spots in town both 4 € for 5 minutes, a rip-off so we used dial-up in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescoMantovani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonella824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bussola

Address: Strada Panoramica 24, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: $141 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bussola 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing