We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and pool”
Review of Hotel La Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Bussola
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location and pool”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were looking for a hotel with pool in Orta, there are two and this is the one with reasonable prices. Positives are parking lot, lake view, pools including one for small children, location close to the town. Service could be more smiling and the elevator faster. Otherwise, lake Orta is so stunning, difficult to leave dissppointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papapasla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    132
    33
    11
    2
See reviews for
62
154
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I realy like this hotel. It's clean the staff are very friendly and the location is great just a 4-5 min walk down quiet cobbled streets to the town center. The pool is also great, very clean and their is always a member of staff around. We had a fantastic view from our room and watching the sun go down from our balcony was a pleasure. Breakfast on the terrace was also very nice.

I would have given a 5 star review if not for a few problems. The biggest problem is the air conditioning, it works just fine but they turn it off at midnight!!! We stayed in the middle of summer and it was very hot, you would get into bed with the room at a nice comfortable temperature only to be woken in the middle of the night sweating and with all the covers thrown off! So we opened the patio doors trying for a breeze to relive the discomfort which worked. In the morning though we both woke to find we had been eaten alive by Mosquitos I had 15 bites just on my back! We had to spend the rest of our stay sleeping in a sweet box, a very nice sweat box but still very uncomfortable. And the bites drove us both mad. This is the biggest issue the hotel has and as we didn't have one good sleep then I can't give a better score. The other issue is the Wi/Fi, on our 2 week road trip we stayed in 5 hotels and this is the only hotel that charged. I think people expect free Wi/Fi in the modern age so charging €5 per day is a bit of a rip off! We didn't have lunch once at the hotel as a restaurant 2 mins away had free connection so they got our business, our hotel lost out on 4 lunches because of their policy of charging €5.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank itsfredlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our third visit so it is obviously somewhere we like. The hotel has an excellent hilltop position with great views over the beautiful lake and mountains but it takes less than ten minutes to walk into the town square, a bit more coming back up the steep hills. The rooms are large and there’s ample free parking. It is a family run hotel with friendly staff, some of whom have been there for years. There is a lovely pool with spectacular views and a nice bar and terrace. The only downsides were that the air-conditioning was only on from 3pm to midnight, so the room became hot during the night, and they were a bit parsimonious with the shower gel providing only two sachets most days when we each needed to shower twice a day. Wi-Fi is available throughout at a cost of around €1 per hour.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the lake view ones cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveNKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel La Bussola.
The rating system above really needs a 3.5 star button ( good ), because this hotel was rated above average, because of its location, views, friendliness and cleanliness, but probably no longer rates a "very good", which it would have warranted in the 1980's.
The room was large, and clean and comfortable.
The décor was functional, but appeared to be original from a fitout in the 70's.
The staff were friendly, and the service was good, but the hotel has a general atmosphere
of being in need of a makeover.
Its located on the edge of town, and its elevated position gives it nice views over the lake
and island. Orta San Giulio is a charming town to visit, and the lake and region are beautiful and interesting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is located at walking distance from the town center and it has its own parking (which here is a great asset).
The structure looks renewed in recent times, it's clean and well equipped. The view from the terrace is beautiful, the pool is ok and there is some garden around. We had a lake view room, with a small balcony, which we found nice and comfortable. The bathroom is big and well equipped.
It's not a memorable hotel, but a very good and honest 3 starts, perfectly located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilliputMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I'm not sure why there are negative reviews about the staff at this hotel. We arrived after lunch, without a booking and asked to look at a room before we decided to stay. We were shown a couple of rooms from which to choose and found the manager/owner to be very friendly and helpful. An excellent suggestion was made about visiting the church on the island (Isola San Giulio) for a special Palm Sunday mass at which the nuns would be singing. This proved to be a highlight of our visit on an otherwise rainy, miserable and cold weekend. Even though we had initially said that we would stay for three nights, given the poor weather we decided to stay for two. This was not a problem either. In fact, we found the staff to be pleasant and very helpful on all counts. I would stay here again. It is not too far from the Piazza, perhaps a ten minute walk. The walk back is uphill, but I am not super fit and did not find it difficult - you might if you were elderly. The view from our room was perfect.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sequim
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My sister and I spent our last night here while on a Rick Steves Tour. No fault ETBD!
The rooms were nice and location great but seriously the owner and staff were not at all welcoming and seemingly unhappy to accomodate our needs. As a business owner myself I depend on my customers and they are my #1 priority. I do everything to make them return customers. I don't know what the issue was with the owner and staff but I would not return there since I found the owner to be rude and condescending to me and the staff did not provide even adequate service without being prompted to do so.
Considering the amount of money brought to this hotel from our tour group I would have expected far more. Didn't leave me with a good impression unlike the other lovely family run hotels we stayed in while on our tour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank makingchoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.1 mi away
San Rocco Hotel
San Rocco Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
866 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bussola

Property: Hotel La Bussola
Address: Strada Panoramica 24, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bussola 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing