We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Views and a Peaceful Place”
Review of Lake Orta

Lake Orta
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.10*
and up
Tour of Lake Maggiore and Orta san Giulio from Arona
More Info
$46.26*
and up
Group Bus Tour to Lake Orta with Optional Cruise from Stresa
More Info
$272.80*
and up
Private Tour of Orta San Giulio on Lake Orta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
605 reviews
246 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Lovely Views and a Peaceful Place”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Away from the crowds of Lago Maggiore it is quiet. Indeed my first visit there was after a series of business meetings and I had to prepare a business plan - so conducive of creativity and clear thinking. This was in 1995.
Now on vacation - and a photographic one at that it was just as pleasant.

Tips - Don't stay in San Giulio - unless you want to drag your baggage down to the town. We stayed in Pettenasco - right on the lake edge.

Go on the trip - an €8 rover ticket can take you round both ends, and you can stop off at the island too..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Incartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,170
    415
    41
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The most romantic lake in Italy”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lago d'Orta is a place not to miss if you are visiting the lake distirct in north-western Italy. The ancient village of Orta and the lalke create one of the most romantic spot in Europe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Biri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Oh how lovely!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having spent a few days around Lake Maggiore we were advised to visit Lake Orta and we are very glad that we took that advise.
Lake Orta is small, unspoilt, quaint and picturesque with a much less touristy feel than the larger Maggiore. We spent an our or two wondering the streets of the town of Orta and wish that we'd had time to stay there and explore further.

We look forward to returning.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tjmutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Orta and Orta village - take your camera!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided that we would like to visit this unspoilt part of the Italian Lakes - and it didn't disappoint! Difficult to reach by public transport and we didn't have our own, so someone suggested we took a tour with Maggiore Discovery. The trip was fantastic! We were picked up promptly from our hotel by Fabri Anton and had a full day tour. It was an excellent, memorable and entertaining day, including a visit to the beautiful Madonna del Sasso church where we had magnificent views across the lake, followed by a tranquil trip across the lake from Pella and free time in the picturesque, unspoilt town of Orta. We decided to walk up to the Sacro Monte to visit the interesting chapels and were rewarded by more fabulous views over the lake! There was an added bonus here as it was Saturday and we saw THREE lovely Italian brides! Then a boat ride to the pretty island of St Julio. The lake is idyllic - beautiful scenery and unspoilt villages AND a UNESCO site - what more could you want! We thoroughly recommend a visit to this fabulous area - see the pictures if you're not convinced.

Tip: if like us you don't have your own transport, you can go on a tour like the one we went on with Maggiore Discovery @ http://maggiorediscovery.com/ It was only 32 euros pp - boat trips included!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret151151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Visit of the lake”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Beautiful lake, not may tourists, you still can enjoy the nature and relax of the views. Certainly worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Orta also viewed

Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 

Been to Lake Orta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing