We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda di Orta
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for two nights April 2013, based mainly on previous reviews. Stayed in room 9, top floor with jacuzzi on the balcony.

OK - Good stuff...

1 Great location for Orta, right in the heart of the old town. View towards the Lake over the roof tops. Lift straight out to the street out the back for out of hours access very handy.

2 Lovely tasteful decor and first class fittings give the place a real quality feel - seems a lot of thought has gone into it.

3 Staff polite and presentable.

4 Decent spread on offer for the inclusive breakfast

5 reasonably priced considering the location, and other rooms without the jacuzzi are cheaper

Could do better...

1 The whole place has tiled floors - with the new roof top cafe directly above, we were disturbed several times during the late evening by scraping chairs on our "ceiling". They supposedly stop serving at 9.30pm but the noise went on much longer than that.

2 The restaurant serves some very, ermmm, pretentious and expensive food. We felt that probably appeals to a small minority, and the hotel would serve itself better by offering some wholesome, ordinary but well prepared traditional Italian dishes offering a wider appeal and offering better value for money. There are plenty of choices locally instead, so maybe they need to aim at the majority and keep people "in house".

3 Small point perhaps, but the TV was both small of screen and the reception was awful. Whilst a TV is not normally a high priority for us on holiday, for 150 euros a night I'd expect to be able to watch a champions league game and enjoy a decent picture. The poor quality of the TV seemed at odds with everything else - which reminds me....a top end A/C unit with a complex remote control, so how about some instructions ???!

The hotel demonstrates some nice ideas and thoughtful touches, and it's obvious they are trying to be different and tasteful at the same time, and they are certainly on the right track. Call me fussy if you like, but hopefully they can appreciate that guests also like a few "home comforts" even when on holiday, and will take the above comments into account for the benefit of both them and their guests.

There is no "free parking" as stated on our reservation - we were told that there were a few free spaces but there isn't. You have to park outside the town and walk to the hotel - it's not far but through steep streets with a case is still a pain. This is not the fault of the hotel though. The multi storey is 10 euros per day or overnight. Go prepared.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethpagejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 148 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I have just spent week at this establishment , set in the most glorious location, just off the main square of picturesque , Lake Orta.
The owner, GianMario, went well above and beyond our expectations, to help make our visit, both memorable and comfortable, from waiting for our late arrival, parking our hire vehicle, arranging luggage transfer on so on.
Beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, fantastic and helpful staff, brilliant in house restaurant, Michelin standard cuisine.
This is a serious family business, since 1815, well managed and run to make your stay, a memorable experience.
The family also owns and runs a separate and excellent waterfront hotel and restaurant ( where you'll find Gianmario, his mother, auntie and father, servicing their patrons, daily), "Leon D'Orta", which we also recommend, highly.
This was a truly excellent experience .

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 6, overlooking Piazza Ernesto Raggazoni, with glimpses of the lake. The room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was our second time in Orta. We have been there 10 years ago and wanted to do a little weekend to remember the good time we had over there. In Oct. is low seaon so a bit too calm for my taste, but as we were there to have good food & sleep it didn't really matter at the end. This small hotel has all what you need. It is nicely furnished of which is a bit of mix of old house mixed with totally modern boutique hotel. Only 50m away from the lake and the principal square of the town, you'll feel close to all the daylight animation. We really enjoyed staying there as we could feel home. The little downside was the breakfast as it wasn't really changing from one day to another. We didn't try the restaurant but looked nice.

Room Tip: All rooms are looking good. If you want to treat yourself right you better choose a suite. We had th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicematteo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank chiaraviaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Je0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alessandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
56 reviews
0 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#9 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
144 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di Orta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di Orta

Address: Via Olina 18, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: $100 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Locanda di Orta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing