We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service but that's it!”
Review of Villa Crespi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Crespi
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

When you're expecting something to be that special to be let down that badly really tainted and completly took the gloss off what was a fantastic four days in the lakes. Lake Orta, Maggiore and Como were magical as was mount Mottarone, awesome. The hotel however was tired and the gardens unkempt. The room was clean but not the wow expected. Have to say however tge service from all the staff was examplary and a cresit to them all. Our last night was to be the dinner experience of a lifetime from a 2 Michelin star chef! Again service impeccable but food was poor and all in all very disappointing. More than €400 for dinner for two when we'd had a much much better meal the night before (Locanda del buon riso) for €75 including a bottle of wine, you can't help feeling annoyed and ripped off. Our opinion admittedly but for what it's worth give this hotel and its restaurant a wide wide berth if you have any value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philly1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villacrespi, Proprietario at Villa Crespi, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Philly1411,

We are very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay and dining experience at villa Crespi, although you were obviously enchanted by the area you visited and this we are delighted to hear and indeed wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Constructive criticism is always welcome for its valuable input regarding plans for future improvement..on this occasion, we would like to point out just a couple of things for the benefit of Tripadvisor readers: the gardens at Villa Crespi are cared for on a regular basis by contracted gardeners who maintain the mature plants, paths and lawns to fine standards.
Perhaps some of the summer flowers are no longer with us in September and this may have accounted for a slightly unkempt appearance and we apologize for any displeasure you felt

Secondly, the hotel is closed for almost three months each year for maintenance and restoration work. The unusual nature of the Villa's Moorish architecture, which may not necessarily be to all tastes, with its rich decoration of stuccos and colorfully intricate painting, extremely work intensive and is attended to annually.

Please be aware that we endeavor, with some not inconsiderable success, judging by most comments we receive, to maintain the extremely high standards of cleanliness and conditions demanded both by Relais & Chateaux and by our extremely discerning clientele.

With regard to your comments on the dining experience, we can only apologize that this was not to your taste. In all fairness, we feel that it is hardly credible to compare establishments where the style of cooking, the ingredients used and the service are of an entirely different nature, but we are once again very pleased that the village of Orta was up to your your expectations.

Thank you once again we hope you will one day return to this beautiful area.

With kind regards,

Cinzia Primatesta Cannavacciuolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Each year my wife and I spend two weeks exploring less traveled parts of Italy. Because we live in New York our arrival and departure airport is either Malpensa or Rome. Typically we stay in either city, but this year we decided to spend our last night at Villa Crespi and drive over to Malpensa in morning. After this stunning and wonderful trip we will never stay in the city again. From the stunning beauty of the hotel, our huge room, and the top notch service the Villa met every expectation. That afternoon we took a walk to the town and visited the sights. This lead up to the magnificent meal in the Villa we entered into. Whatever keeps this from a three star I have no clue. The service was true old world excellence and the food was the best of modern italian-French cuisine. A can't miss, just say no to the cookie hotels in the city

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights and also hosted our wedding at Villa Crespi in August 2013 and the weekend could not have gone better.
The staff were very helpful from the moment we stepped in the door, bringing us to the rear garden for welcome drinks with all my guests plus others that were not staying there.
Having organised the entire wedding myself I was feeling on edge but the staff and assistance was flawless and went beyond my expectations.
The hotel itself is something special, they Imperial suite was of course spectacular, from the views to the furnishings throughout.
We had booked the Imperial suite and two classic rooms, one of which was very kindly upgraded to an executive suite. Love the high ceilings.
We had our reception in the yellow dining room, the dining rooms each and every one superbly decorated. The food was without doubt some of the best I have ever experienced, thank you chef Cannavacciuolo (the chocolate, mango and passionfruit wedding cake was just the best). As a 'foodie' the dinner was actually the most exciting part of the day and it didn't disappoint, so be sure to make a reservation.
I dare not tell people about Orta San Giulio due to it's wonderful beauty (I think it should be a secret between those who visit) but at the same time I can not stop praising this wonderful hotel. Just a short walk from the town along the lake and around the corner only 1-2mins walk out of the front gates is the actual lakes edge from where you can hire a boat to take you to the lakes little island.
Just Perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

magical experience , felt like day dreaming

a bit pricey , very friendly service , always smiling , very helpful

didn't try the restaurant , best room ever stayed in ,

perfect location , cant wait to get back & will never forget this experience .

Room Tip: avoid the room at the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanaty183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Reading the wonderful reviews of The Villa Crispi I had no doubt this was the right choice for our 4 day visit to Lake Orta . The villa is magical and first impressions were very favorable despite arriving in the rain. The Reception staff were excellent and immediately made us feel welcome. After a sandwich we were shown to our room. It was, what we have come to expect from Relais Chateau, very well furnished, but there was no view of the lake from the room. The room description said “partial view” it would be better described as “obstructed view” True a part of the lake could be seen if you peered over the enclosed balcony, but if you sat in the balcony you felt very enclosed with no views at all. The bed was raised but still no view of the lake and a large step made nocturnal visits to the loo a bit precarious. I thought about requesting a change but reading the description of the garden rooms they had no balcony and no bath so we decided to stay put. The breakfasts are outstanding and need time to fully enjoy and relax. The situation of the hotel is good for vehicle access but no direct access to the lake. A private beach is mentioned in their hotel guide but this belongs to another hotel. With no swimming pool and no direct lakeside access a swim involves a 10 minute walk to a small public beach.

The restaurant was going to be one of the highlights of our stays and again the reviews the Villa Crespi has received in this respect heightened our expectations, but, regrettably, it fell a little short of these. A fuller explanation can be found under restaurant reviews for Orta

We loved our 4 day stay in Orta and the Villa Crespi is certainly a magical place, it just did not live up to our expectations, based on the reviews and star rating. It is difficult to criticise or to make a complaint because the hotel has been “over praised “. I have rated the Villa Crespi as "Very Good" because it would be unfair to call it "Average" but for us it was little short of "Excellent"

Would we visit Lake Orta again, definitely. Would we stay at the Villa Crespi, probably not

Room Tip: If you want the lake experience go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

From the amazing visuals of this beautiful villa to the service from all the staff, the food .....wow the food and the opportunity to cook in one of the worlds best kitchen this was truly amazing! Antonino thanks for sharing your home and passion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamworthtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend at Villa Crespi and we had a wonderful time. The service is truly 5 star with every staff member clearly well trained and motivated.

The location is perfect, less than an hour from Venice Malpensa and just a short walk down into Orta.

I must mention the outstanding restaurant. On our first night we had the 10 course tasting menu which was superbly executed both in the preparation and front of house presentation. For the other nights we were never short of somewhere to eat in Orta (tripadvisor was very helpful here).

Finally the building alone is worth the trip, it makes a real change to stay in such an interesting place!

Many thanks to all at Villa Crespi for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orta San Giulio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#9 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
540 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#1 of 1 in Gozzano
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Crespi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Crespi

Address: G. Fava road 18, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: $532 - $924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Crespi 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Crespi, a dream location set in the gorgeous countryside around Lake Orta, is in not far from Milan's international Malpensa airport. This fairy-tale palace and its Moorish architecture are a unique experience with the magical atmosphere of the Thousand and One Nights and a journey through the flavours of the two Michelin Star Chef-Patron Antonino Cannavacciuolo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Crespi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Crespi Hotel Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing