We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Leon D'Oro

Ristorante Leon D'Oro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great view, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The view of the lake is amazing. The food we found to be average.
The service was good and friendly. Prices reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    144
    70
    44
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Superb food and extremely friendly staff. The fish and the beef were to die for. Not cheap but ow here in Europe is these days.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Whether this place is worth a visit depends on whom you ask”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I had completely different responses to the food we were served here. I had recently been in Venice where I had wonderfully flavorful seafood pastas, so I found Leon D'Oro's lobster pasta to be totally bland and lacking in the flavor of anything. I remarked that it was impossible to tell whether my pasta was made with any seafood at all. On the other hand, my husband enjoyed his seafood ravioli which was made with squid ink, making the ravioli black against a yellow saffron sauce that he said was delicious, not to mention aesthetically pleasing.

I was most unhappy with the aggressive service. Our server seemed really unhappy that it was taking me longer than 60 seconds to make a decision from the very large menu. I sent her away once, but she was back at the table a moment later pushing me to make up my mind. Pushy beyond anything I experienced elsewhere during three weeks in Italy. On a positive note, she suggested a really wonderful table wine out of several on the list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snicklefritzytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top quality food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Delicious food, in idyllic location overlooking the lake. Beautifully cooked and presented. Very good wine list and one spends hours just gazing at the wonderful scenery from the terrace. Very romantic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendy_mundie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Italian family run restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great position, beautiful terace. A limited selection of food on menu, but good quality and very efficient and friendly service. A nice relaxing atmosphere. Delicious deserts too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Leon D'Oro also viewed

Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 

Been to Ristorante Leon D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing