We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imposing front bland back, but fantastic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Rocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Rocco Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Imposing front bland back, but fantastic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

A fabulous frontage and reception and some lovely details, like the Corbusier chair and huge propped up mirror in our room but it's a shame the same attention hadn't been paid to the back of the hotel, which was architecturally drab, with a somewhat municipal swimming pool. The bar was stylish and the range of drinks superb but the breakfast room, again, was uninspiring. Service was good but not overly warm, with the exception of the barman. We didn't eat in the hotel because of the range of restaurants elsewhere in the town. Overall good, and at the peaceful end of town, but lacking the follow through of the impressive arrival.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    174
    80
    30
    31
See reviews for
70
261
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

A fabulous frontage and reception and some lovely details, like the Corbusier chair and huge propped up mirror in our room but it's a shame the same attention hadn't been paid to the back of the hotel, which was architecturally drab, with a somewhat municipal swimming pool. The bar was stylish and the range of drinks superb but the breakfast room, again, was uninspiring. Service was good but not overly warm, with the exception of the barman. We didn't eat in the hotel because of the range of restaurants elsewhere in the town. Overall good, and at the peaceful end of town, but lacking the follow through of the impressive arrival.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MACAMAC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Its just to expensive for what it offers.

With such high prices you expect a bit more.
Better go to Stresa and make a Daytrip to San Giulio. Because this Little village Is so cute and romantic!

But the stuff Is friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaslerZweierlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great location and views of the magical lake. Our suite was large with 2 baths, dining alcove and balcony; fireplace, gorgeous inlaid marble floors and painted ceilings. Many areas of the hotel seemed tired and dark. Food was nothing special. An enjoyable venue for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: we had the presidential suite; 2 large rooms, 2 baths, balcony and wonderful view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I wasn't too keen on the shades of brown décor throughout the hallway and rooms – it did make the rooms feel dark. If you are claustrophobic – be warned the bathrooms are very small! We had a little window in our room with a lovely view of the lake which was nice.
Breakfast was a simple buffet style but adequate. Staff were helpful.
Internet comes with a charge – this is personal gripe of mine, I do not believe that in this day and age, you should have to pay an additional charge to use the internet.
The hotel is well located on the bank of the lake and is within easy walking distance to the main square.
The hotel is average and is in lie with pricing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AwA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
216 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed in the San Rocco Hotel as I was in Italy for a couple of days on business and all the arrangements had been arranged in advance by my colleagues in Italy. I had no idea which hotel I was staying in until I was dropped off here.

It was such a shame I was here on business and not here with my partner as it is just perfect. The hotel is a converted monastery on the banks of the lake. I had lovely views of the island in the centre of the lake from my room.

Hotel staff are charming and the hotel is situated in one of Italy's unknown gems. The town of Orta San Giulio is a medieval picture postcard setting with narrow winding streets and an abundance of charm and history.

Facilities include a state of the art indoor spa and an outdoor pool directly next to the lake. All the public areas ooze quality and sophisticated charm and you cannot help feeling good about life when here.

I would love to return here again with my partner as it is so romantic and just about the nicest place I have ever visited.

Room Tip: Got to have a lake view room...it's so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cags1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey Wales
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel was recommended when we wanted a last minute Winter break. Easily accessible- about one hour from Milan and a direct flight from the UK.
The location of this hotel makes it all worthwhile. Stunning. There was snow on the mountains and the breakfast room had a wonderful view of the still freezing cold lake.
The room was warm- too warm and we couldn't turn the heating off so we slept with the window open in minus temperatures.
Paid a supplement for a view- I think you would be disappointed to arrive and find that you weren't overlooking the lake.
The decor was international and not a lot to make you realise that you were in Italy. The bed was comfortable and the town was charming with just enough restaurants for a long weekend.
We didn't eat in the hotel except for breakfast which was copious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orta San Giulio
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Rocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Rocco Hotel

Property: San Rocco Hotel
Address: Via Gippini 11, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Rocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the picturesque Lake Orta, Hotel San Rocco is surrounded by the ancient walls of a monastery. It boasts a swimming pool and views of the enchanting San Giulio Island. The San Rocco was a convent for 150 years. The Baroque-style Villa Gippini was later added to the original building. The elegant restaurant features regional and international cuisine and breathtaking lake views. There is a beautiful garden, a golf course, and a beauty centre called the Body Harmony Center. In fine weather you can access the Wellness Roof Garden, set on the 4th floor. A billiards table and a fully equipped conference centre are provided. Rooms are elegantly furnished with a flat-screen TV and minibar. Most have lake views. Rooms in the annexe known as Villa Gippini are also available. The hotel is close to Switzerland and the Prealpine valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Rocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Rocco Orta Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing