We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Money (read if you're staying here to get married)”
Review of San Rocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Rocco Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Worth The Money (read if you're staying here to get married)”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I booked the Hotel San Rocco to stay at during my wedding in Orta. in total we had 5 rooms booked. 2 Standard & 3 superior. Upon arrival we were met by the most wonderful reception staff who informed us that our room was ready. The room was 385 euros a night. I had high expectations. Boy was i dissapointed.... we were met with brown walls, damp, black marks on the ceiling, a huge tree obstructing the view of the lake, the room was so dark i just couldnt imagine getting ready for my wedding day in there with 5 bridesmaids.

we complained to reception, who assured us that they would try and move us to another room as soon as possible, but at that moment the hotel was full. They were very helpful.

We moved to the room next door the following day, it was still dark, but had a terrace overlooking the lake so more space.... on the day of the wedding the hairdresser still needed lamps to see what she was doing. Our other guests felt the same as we did about their rooms. plus 40 euros to use the sauna.. really?

On a good note the breakfast was lovely, staff lovely and the view from the pool/ bar outstanding. If you do want a lovely room to get ready in with your wedding party these are not it.... for 1/2 the price there are other hotels on the lake, with bigger, brighter rooms. Leon D'oro for example.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    181
    83
    31
    31
See reviews for
73
272
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Situated right on the edge of beautiful Lake Orta. This hotel looks to be made up of several character properties plus some custom buildings. It can't make its mind up whether its for vacation or business, as it has a mix of both facilities. There is "tree-hugging" branding at work here, with the hotel making much of its environmental credentials. The rooms are a dark unattractive mud brown inside. They also penny pinch on electric with these key cards which only enable the aircon to work when you're in the room, so after a day out in the sun you come back to a baking room. Breakfast was ordinary. The pool was great, well maintained and clean. We had the special Ferr Agosto buffet which was poor value at 89 Euro but it was free wine and after we trained the waiter we got our money's worth solely from same. The food was catered in, but none the worse for it. The band was absolutely awful, some Eastern European pikeys with a guitar and double bass flanking a portly middle aged blond who couldnt sing. Finally the lunch food was warmed over pizza which wasn't very good. This hotel is very expensive for what it offers but was saved by the great pool and fantastic location.

Room Tip: Maybe one in the older part of the property would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludvika, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a really nice room with balcony facing the lake and Isola san Guilio. We had booked a standard double room but were upgraded because a storm two days earlier had spoiled the roof to the room. Staff really nice and helpful and we felt really welcome and enjoyed our stay.
Unfortunately the pool was closed ond day because of the earlier storm and rain - but that is not much anyone can do about such thing.
Liked both the hotel and the cosy little town of Orta san Guilio, think we will back again.
Only thing we reacted sligtly to was the "extras" for breakfast - the buffet was absolutely all right, but a glass och fresh squeezed orange juice would cost 4 or 5 euros...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAugustsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We had one night at the San Rocco in August 12. We found the hotel easily when we got to Orta and were relieved they had parking on site. We arrived at noon so our room wasn't ready but the hotel stored our bags and were helpful in prioritising to get a room for us as quickly as possible. The location of the hotel is wonderful. Right on the lake and only a 5 min stroll from the centre of town. Given the weather was so hot we were pleased that we picked this hotel as the pool and garden area are lovely. The only downside for us was that the hotel is not good value for money. We stay in a lot of hotels, both through work and for holidays and would expect more for this kind of price based on our experiences so far. We paid 180 euros for one night. That got us a small room with no lake view. The hotel charge extra for parking, the breakfast buffet is fine but if you want hot food like poached eggs, you need to pay extra. The hair dryer in the bathroom was one of those low power ones you see in lots of older hotels (it would take forever to dry your hair with it) And the wifi was only available in one function room on the ground floor. None of these were big problems for us, we just would have expected more for the price that was charged. The staff were efficient and friendly and if we visited Orta again in summer I would stay at the San Rocco. However if we were going in winter I would choose a different hotel in town. The pool and the location are the best things the hotel have going for them.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

An idyllic location in a beautiful village by lake Orta, but that's about all the positives we found in our stay here. We had booked 3 nights for a bit of pool-side luxury at the end of a two-week holiday but were so unhappy with the bedroom, the general condition of the place and the unwelcoming staff that we left after one night.

The rooms have been recently (a few years) refitted and this has involved painting them mud brown (all walls) removing virtually all storage space and installing a space-age but unworkable air-conditioning system

The few lights in the room seemed to enhance the oppressive nature of the dark walls so that even on a sunny afternoon our (€305) room felt like a dark prison cell. There are no instructions for the air-con system which has 7 buttons of indeterminate purpose. It took two trips to reception ( I did try to phone them, but no-one answered) to discover that a) you change the temperature by pressing the 'S' button and that b) their computerised monitoring system was showing that the unit wasn't working. Nobody seemed either concerned or surprised at this. It was eventually fixed later in the day. In its working state, you can set the temperature, but nothing else - e.g. you cannot turn it off.

The bath/shower in the room had a large handle missing, leaving two large bolt-holes open for water to run into and gather under the bath. . This may have contributed to the pervasive musty smell in the bathroom. THe hair-drier didn't dry hair.

The pool's location is ideal, beside the lake and you can choose to swim in either. The pool, however, is largely roped off, probably to ensure that swimmers enter via one of the two corners where the showers are placed. Fair enough, except that the water supplies to the showers were not connected when we visited which makes the ugly roping pointless.

Service in the bar was slow (we had to go and find a waiter to make our order). He did not return to ask us if we wanted another despite the fact that we sat for 45 minutes, reading. He did have a very nice chat with his friend, though.

This felt to us as if the hotel's staff felt that its location was enough and that everything else was unimportant. Not so, especially when you charge €305 for bed and breakfast. We made our excuses and left. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent a single night there in July. Poor value for money.
A wonderful situation close to the centre of the enchanting village of Orta San Giulio and right on the lake - a lovely terrace and swimming pool facing the lake.
The disappointment is in the hotel interior, both public and private spaces, decorated in an anonymous hotel minimalist style.
We had booked a room in the adjacent Villa Gippini but found it dark, tired, and spoiled by an ugly floor to ceiling modern corner unit (nothing like the illustration on the website). We changed rooms ro a lighter one overlooking the lake - one of many in a barracks-like converted block, off a long corridor. The room was small and devoid of any character. A small bathroom ( nowhere to hang a towel) and bedside lighting so poor it was impossible to read. Guests need to be warned that the hotel has no air conditioning - just an "air-refreshing" system that has to be controled from reception ( they did not explain to us when we were shown to our room). Heat control can be a problem in these west facing rooms.
The staff were OK - no overly helpful. WiFi is available only the downstairs bar area, and costs 12 Euros.
Breakfast was just adequate - bowls of tinned peaches and tinned pears should not have a place in a hotel in this price bracket.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lavillacap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Traditional hotel with cosy atmosphere and good modern room and bathroom. Lovely terrace for lunch- but only indoor dining in the evening which is a shame as the views are stunning. Staff helpful. Good location for walking into the square. Would recommend. (Only negative is that there is a 9euro parking charge per day which in principle is disappointing as where else would you park(?) and this was the only hotel of 5 we stayed in around the lakes that charged).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
206 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Rocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Rocco Hotel

Property: San Rocco Hotel
Address: Via Gippini 11, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Rocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the picturesque Lake Orta, Hotel San Rocco is surrounded by the ancient walls of a monastery. It boasts a swimming pool and views of the enchanting San Giulio Island. The San Rocco was a convent for 150 years. The Baroque-style Villa Gippini was later added to the original building. The elegant restaurant features regional and international cuisine and breathtaking lake views. There is a beautiful garden, a golf course, and a beauty centre called the Body Harmony Center. In fine weather you can access the Wellness Roof Garden, set on the 4th floor. A billiards table and a fully equipped conference centre are provided. Rooms are elegantly furnished with a flat-screen TV and minibar. Most have lake views. Rooms in the annexe known as Villa Gippini are also available. The hotel is close to Switzerland and the Prealpine valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your San Rocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Rocco Orta Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing