We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”

Ristorante Villa Crespi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $112 - $188
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: "Our passion for hospitality and restaurants have led us to treat this fascinating work with the love, respect and respect it so greatly deserves. Our innovative Mediterranean cuisine is distinctive and we love to pamper our guests in the romantic rooms overlooking the lake where staff and surroundings reflect genuine harmony." Antonino works on his cuisine every day of his life, drawing inspiration from life itself. His dishes also reflect and epitomise his journey northwards from the Sorrento coast to his wife, Cinzia, a native of Orta which is now his home. These are the secrets of our two Michelin starred restaurant.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The food was superb and the service excellent. The staff even organized a car for us back to our hotel in Orta.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hope0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,602
    212
    82
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely shocking”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was the antithesis of every Michelin restaurant we have experienced. A previous employee of Villa Crespi made the booking for us (he was working at a hotel we were staying at in Monferato). He also called them to confirm on the day of the reservation and informed us they we keeping a nice table for us. When we arrived they had no idea who we were, could not find a reservation for us in either our name or the name of the previous employee. When they offered us a not-so-nice table we should have followed our instinct and walked out. After giving us the impression they were doing us a huge favour by letting us in the restaurant, they actually found the booking. It was on the booking sheet for that evening, in our name, with the other six or seven reservations. The wine waiter's advice tended to contradict all the advice we had received during the previous four days we had spent wine tasting in the Langhe. So, we ignored him and using the advice we had received, chose a relatively modestly priced 2007 Barbaresco. He then rather belatedly said it was a good choice ? The same waiter brought the impressive cheese board but when asked to describe the cheeses, could only tell us where they were produced. 35 minutes after asking for the bill it arrived. It included an extra bottle of water and a wine charge EUR20 more than stated on the menu. Apparently the wine waiter had brought us a Barbaresco from the correct producer and year but "accidentally", a reserva rather than the bottle we ordered. Given they had taken 35 minutes to compile the bill, I will let you draw your own conclusions. Their attitude was quite astonishing as, without producing the empty bottle as evidence, they assured us how fortunate we were to have had the "very rare" reserva. They eventually removed the charge for the accidental riserva and phantom water but by that time the evening was completely ruined. Whilst we were waiting for the correct bill, another waiter brought the phantom bottle of water and was about to open it when we pointed out that we were waiting to leave. Good cooking accompanied by pretentious, aloof, pompous, arrogance and questionable honesty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank Tarrantini_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Ristorante Villa Crespi, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for making your review and for allowing us the chance to respond to your criticisms, one by one.

Firstly when serious complaints are made it is our habit to investigate the situation and consult our department heads and their records so we are able to respond adequately. In your case, there was indeed a little uncertainty in your booking, for which we certainly apologise. The booking was in your name, although we were advised on your arrival that it was in the name of our previous employee. As you rightly point out, while we soon found the booking, we did in fact have availability for a table. Which brings us to your next point.

The "not so nice table" you mention was in our blue room, one which is often photographed and reproduced for its beauty and rich colours but as soon as we realised it was not to your liking, you were taken to one of the best tables in the house, in the veranda in the hope you would prefer this one.

As a knowledgeable wine enthusiast, we were delighted that you had chosen to order a very fine wine from the southern part of Piedmont you had just been visiting and, as you had asked for an excellent 2007 Barbaresco, we erroneously thought you might appreciate the Riserva, which had just been released for sale, offering you the chance to drink a future great wine at a price that could only have been seen as great value for money too. Unfortunately, there was a misunderstanding which we have to take the blame and apologise for and of course we did not charge you the extra for the Riserva, once the error had been pointed out. We remain of the opinion that you had the chance to taste a future great wine, at a price that will not hold for very long due to the demand for this wine.

We can only apologise for the wait you had for your bill, it certainly took us a little while to sort some of these issues out and we are most upset that you did not have the truly memorable Villa Crespi experience we aspire to offer all our guests. We would be most obliged if you would contact us soon, be email or by phone, so that we can discuss this further and attempt to find a way to compensate your disappointment.

With our sincere apologies and best wishes.

Cinzia Primatesta Cannavacciuolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“So overrated”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Overpriced, under seasoned food. Beautiful spot with at best average food. Please don't give in to the hyped (by the host and the waiter) Lobster Spaghetti for 69 Euros. Absurd!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Lynnthetraveleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Ristorante Villa Crespi, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Lynn The Traveller,

Firstly thank for your reviews of our restaurant.

Sadly it is difficult to know how we can attempt any improvement when your comments are so concise.

You are upset, we feel, more than anything, by our prices.

These are widely considered to be contained for an establishment with 2 Michelin stars and all the many costs that have to be sustained in order to maintain the standards achieved and justify the awards won.

Of course these costs are reflected in the restaurant prices.

We have taken to heart the comments regarding underseasoning and lack of taste, these are serious criticisms and require investigation. Please be assured we will be checking our cuisine even more closely for the all important balance of flavours we have previously been so well known for.

We can only offer our apologies that we did not come up to your expectations.

With kind regards,

Cinzia Primatesta Cannavacciuolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilston United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

A very expensive meal with not much content. Quite theatrical but
the overall effect was pretty to look at with not much taste

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

One of the best meals we’ve had. We don’t go to Michelin-starred restaurants very often, but neither are we complete strangers to them. This was definitely some of the best food we’ve had ever. We were there on a Thursday in late May, so shared the dining room with only two other couples (and about 8 staff!).

The menu choice included the 7-course ‘Carpe Diem’, the 8-course ‘Italy from south to north’, the 10-course ‘Sensations’ tasting menu, and the a-la-carte. We went for Italy from south to north, and found it sensational! Every course was immaculately designed, prepared and served, and the wines that accompanied each were equally marvelous, especially a spectacular Barbaresco. We found our menu on their website after we got home, so it’s worth a look in advance if you’re contemplating a visit.

At 460 Euro for the two of us, this is the sort of meal that has to be seen alongside a night at a very superior opera or a hotel suite for a special occasion. It certainly made a perfect birthday present for me!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattAlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Villa Crespi also viewed

Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 

Been to Ristorante Villa Crespi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing