We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing lunch”
Review of Osteria del Palio

Osteria del Palio
Ranked #37 of 387 Restaurants in Asti
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had lunch here when visiting this lovely city.
A lot of locals is normally a good sign...
We could order (tris) a starter, primo and secundo from a selection for 10€.
All 3 variations were served at once on one big plate (!) and the pasta was semi warm, the vegetable cold and the tuna bone dry. We told the waiter our disappointment and she brought a very nice Tiramisu and has apologized.
Nevertheless and even for 10€ only the food must be served hot, not warm and certainly not cold, especially on such a busy day!
We have eaten here twice and left unhappy in both cases - hence my bad rating.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 823 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2019

The food here is good and well priced. We ate here twice, outside we had a bit of a wait between courses for dinner. The staff is very nice and friendly, including a young waitress who was unbelievably sweet and charming. Brava! This place is an excellent value, esp the 10 euro lunch, I recommend.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mitchwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

Procecco to start very nice touch. Antipasto with bread spicey but very tasty. Smoked fish trio amazing. Tuna starter like can and salty. Apple cider vinegar improved. Raviolini again salty - needed the vinegar again. Argentine steak poor and veal marginal. Panna cotta bit gelatinous. Staff warmed up as the night slowed down

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Nlenigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Sat inside, quiet even though full. Smoked fish antipasto, more than enough for two, great flavor, nice texture. Pasta with porcini and pasta with black truffles. Both were excellent, perfect Al dente fettuccine, the tajarin was, as usually done, softer. Add a quarter liter of wine, all in for 30,00 euro.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank kjjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Walking into osteria del Palio feels like walking into a local pub...except it’s a restaurant... greeted and treated by the staff as though you’ve going there for years. Really helpful menu translated to English ... check the Italian one though as it has extra dishes. Starter of complementary pizza bread with various light toppings...exactly what you want as a starter, tasty without the heavy cheese. Complimentary glass of local wine (excellent). Every meal served to our group was high quality, extremely tasty and a great example of the local cuisine. I had veal with truffle sauce. I didn’t want the potatoes it came with and it was no problem at all to switch to roast vegetables. House wine was fabulous. Limoncellos to finish. Absolutely great. Less than €20 all inclusive.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Tracie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Palio also viewed

 
Asti, Province of Asti
Asti, Province of Asti
 

Been to Osteria del Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing