We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Spacious, and Really Interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo IL Milin
Ranked #6 of 44 Asti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

What a wonderful and warm welcome we received at Il Milin. Michela helped us settle in to a huge comfortable room with separate sitting area. The building looks to be 500 years old, right down to the stone window sills, but it is in fact absolutely brand new, not more than 4 or 5 years old. Everything is spotless and tastefully decorated. We were shown the kitchen and breakfast area and told to “ help ourselves” whenever we wished. Breakfast included wonderful breads, jams, cakes, cheeses and meats, and of course really great coffee. There is a cooler with wine and bottled water. Wine is on the “ honor system” - just tell Michela what you took when you check out. Grappa and Acqua Vive ( a/k/a eau de vive) are on the counter, complimentary for the tasting. Try the “cugna,” a regional specialty jam made from the must of grapes, with nuts and wonderful flavors. It, like the other jams, is made by the Roveros and is delicious.

Our first evening we dined at the Dente restaurant, a 90 second drive. Michela will make the reservations for you. This small family run restaurant was fabulous and reasonable. At the end of the meal, the co owner and chef, with his wife, will pour you a wonderful grappa, a special reserve bottled for him by Rovero.

After dinner, my wife and I spent an interesting evening into the wee hours, with 3 other couples staying at Il Milin ( including the last reviewer- “hi Deb”) solving the world’s problems over Limoncello and Montenegro amaro. What a great end to a wonderful day.

The next day, we were able to dine for a "light" lunch- still huge- at the restaurant, normally not open during the week, because a small tour group was scheduled in . We were provided wine pairings by Enrico, the wine maker - probably about 10 different bottles. Lunch was delicious and a great value, as was the room - €65.00 per night. Enrico gave us a great tour of the facilities. Rouve, the Rovero’s signature wine , is formidable. If you have friends or relatives that only drink sweet wines, the Bracchato is a great dessert wine. Their Calisaya, which is a fortified wine, was rich, mildly spicy, and delicious, as was their camomile liquor, made from their own grappa. We took 5 assorted bottles home. If you enjoy their wines do go ahead and buy, because the price is reasonable and they are not easy to find outside of Europe

We even got to meet the beekeeper who lives at the Rovero winery, and his friendly little dog, Giancane ( “John-dog”).

Il Milin’s website is good, but neglects to tell you the entire farm, including the winery and distillery, is organic, which will be of special interest to some.

We stayed two days, and wish it could have been a week! Thanks again Michela and Enrico!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 99 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and found everything to be a truly wonderful experience. Michella is eager to please and provide you what you need. Rooms are extremely spacious, clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the use of the kitchen and "common area" where we were lucky enough to meet other guests. Enrico did a great winery and distillery tour and made our stay memorable as well. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed two nights, but wish it had been two weeks! This B&B is amongst the most pleasant we have found anywhere. The rooms are very large, extremely comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Our hosts, Michela and Enrico Rovero, were kind, generous, and helpful. They were a huge factor in our tremendous enjoyment of Il Milin. Michela served us breakfasts which were greatly superior to that we received at first class hotels elsewhere, and Enrico provided us with an excellent tour of the farm's wine and grappa production facilities. The wines and grappa produced here are outstanding in quality. Il Milin is located in a beautiful rural area, ideal for relaxing, yet with many wonderful touring opportunities only a few minutes drive away...Asti, Alba, countless little villages. Additionally, major centers such as Turin can be accessed easily by road or a day-trip by rail from Asti. Il Milin would be a superb base from which to explore the Italian Piedmont. And, the Roveros are the perfect hosts to ensure a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERP444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed just one night in this B&B, which is much too short.
The owner, Michella, is a very welcoming host. She took care of our needs, such as fixing a little defect in the room immediately after we had notified the problem.
Michella served us a breakfast that we will remember for long time. It was an incredible display of home-made cakes, home-made foccacia, home-made jams, etc. etc.
Our room was very large and had a view over the hills. We considered it very good value for the price.
The family's wine maker's facilities are situated close by, in a different location. The B&B is a convenient base to visit Asti and the wine area. A little hard to find though.
We bought some wines to bring at home and remember this beautiful B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_Astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at Il Milin. Our hosts, the Roveros, were warm and gracious. The room(s) included a sitting area, large bathroom, and small kitchen, so our shopping for Piedmontese specialties included many cheeses, fruits, and dairy products. Il Milin is prepared for families and small children, with cribs and highchairs in the breakfast room. Also included withnour stay was a tour of the cellars followed by a tasting of the entire line of Rovera wines and grappa. The site was a little hard to find the first time, but we eventually found that we were only a short ride from Asti, Alba, Bra, etc. There was no beating the perfect weather or beauty of the surrounding hills and vineyards. We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathysommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asti hotels
0.6 mi away
Agriturismo I Suri
Agriturismo I Suri
#16 of 18 in Asti
32 reviews
7.6 mi away
Agriturismo Tre Tigli
11.9 mi away
da Nonna Carla
da Nonna Carla
#1 of 44 in Asti
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast La Valle
4.3 mi away
Agriturismo La Regibussa
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo La Cascina del Castello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo IL Milin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo IL Milin

Address: Frazione San Marzanotto 216 | Località Valdonata, 14100, Asti, Italy (Formerly Il Milin - Agriturismo Azienda Agricola Fratelli Rovero)
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Asti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Asti
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Agriturismo IL Milin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing