We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Beautiful Of All Italy”
Review of da Nonna Carla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
da Nonna Carla
Ranked #1 of 44 Asti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Quite a change from my busy life in the American city of las Vegas. ALFIANO NATTA Frazione of Sanico is such a beautiful little town. Rolling hills, the vineyards, the majestic hill tops with castles and churches in the distance. Very Medieval feel and just Beautiful!!!!
During my 3 month stay for work and pleasure, I fell in love with the Italian cuisine. The food at Carla's was wonderful. Carla's cooking was to look forward to as was Stefania's and their deserts were as sweet as they were. Paolo, Stefania's husband, was what I considered a gourmet chef and he had the charm and pride of a typical Italian. Their sincere love of all people is what made me fall in love with them and the Italian people as well as all of Northern Italy. Truly a wonderful, charming place to stay. One that I will never forget. Their two lovely children Silvia and Mateo visited now and then to help out with the chores I will miss them as well. My most memorable experience was being invited to "cut the grapes" with Paolo and Stefania at Stefania's family's Vineyard. Stefania's parents we so nice and hospitable. It was such an honor to help. I hope to do it again some day. I truly love them all and highly recommend the stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GypsumBoardmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 326 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2010

Our company in Las Vegas, Nevada sent a number of us to assist the start-up of a new plasterboard manufacturing plant near Asti. A co-worker recommended that I stay at da nonna Carla's because he was very pleased with the service. During my five month stay at da nonna Carla, it truly became my home away from home. Carla, Paulo and Stefania are such gracious hosts. They always made me feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms are very clean and the meals they served us were fantastic.
You will not find more wonderful people or better service anywhere. I recommend this bed & breakfast to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danoriv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Travelling from France to the Dolomites we booked this B & B and diner for the evening. Da Nonna Carla is easy to find with a navigationsystem, about 15 minutes after leaving the A21 Superstrada.

The welcome was warm and friendly by da Nonna Carla herself. After showing us our room, she offered us some cold orangejuice. The room and bathroom were very nice: spacious and newly decorated.

Diner was served by Paolo, the owner. He is very hospitable and dedicated to make the guests have a pleasant stay. He made us feel really welcome! And then the diner itself... Absolutely fantastic. We had antipasti (filled eggs, marinated aubergine (eggplant), salumi), pasta with tomato and aubergine, brasato as secondi and chocolate cream and coffe for dessert. Paolo asked us what kind of wine we liked. With our preferences and the menu in mind he adviced us a local wine: Barbera d'Asti. Good choice! Breakfast is Italian-style: sweet pie, cookies and crackers with strong coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels_k_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

My family and I were traveling from Pisa to Geneva and needed a place to rest our heads halfway in between. My mother-in-law chose this inn because of its central location and good price.

On our way to the inn, we got lost. We called to ask for directions, and the owner, Paolo, ended up meeting us in a nearby town and driving us back to the hotel. This was extraordinary service, given we arrived at 11 pm. On arrival, we were given a snack and something to drink and were given our choice of rooms.

The rooms were cozy, charming and newly renovated. It was hard to choose a room!

The next morning Paolo and Stefania made us a homemade, customized breakfast of eggs, toast, bacon, fruit and freshly made pastries. They knew we were American and wanted to make sure we ate what we were accustomed to. (Very sweet!)

After breakfast we all went outside and enjoyed the view of the countryside (because we arrived so late, we hadn't seen this the night before).

Da Nonna Carla is located in a quiet part of the Italian countryside. It's a great place to go to getaway from the stressors of life because it is in a rural area. We only stayed for less than 1 day, so we didn't take advantage of all there is to do in the area.

Overall, expect a quiet retreat a short drive from town. The owners are extremely hospitable, and the inn is one of our favorites on our 2 week trip.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtotravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Filippo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank gattoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asti hotels
10.2 mi away
Bed & Breakfast La Valle
9.3 mi away
B&B la Crota
B&B la Crota
#9 of 44 in Asti
42 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Fabbrica dell'Oro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
B & B Villa Ferrari
B & B Villa Ferrari
#5 of 44 in Asti
52 reviews
9.4 mi away
La Casa Celeste
La Casa Celeste
#11 of 44 in Asti
92 reviews
7.8 mi away
Cascina Patrizia
Cascina Patrizia
#7 of 31 in Asti
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to da Nonna Carla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Nonna Carla

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 11 | Alfiano Natta loc.Sanico, Asti, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Asti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Asti
Price Range: $73 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandmother Carla's farmhouse Nonna Carla’s farmhouse is placed in Alfiano Natta, a few kilometres far from Moncalvo and Asti, 60 kilometres far from Turin.Cascina Ada is the typical Piedmontese farmhouse in a quiet village of Monferrato, with a welcoming and family atmosphere, ideal for a restful weekend, to discover the surrounding villages and wonderful panoramas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your da Nonna Carla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing