We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our travel in Pavia at October, 2012.”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pavia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed 9 nights at the October, 2012.We was so happy with our stay at Hotel Aurora. Everything went smooth and was according to the pictures and info from booking. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet and were a decent size. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel is two minutes walk to Pavia station, 5 minutes walk to Pavia center and about 30 min train journey to Milan €3.85 single. The last train back from Milan was 00.25. It was so helpful to have welcoming English speaking staff that was happy to tell us all about Pavia and transport to Milan. All the staff is the professionals in their field. We were a group of 3 friends and everyone was very happy with their stay. Pavia is a place to stroll; the Saturday Market is bustling and full of amazing meats, cheeses, olives, honey and vegetables. The Duomo is well worth a visit, so many cafes/restaurants to drink and eat. ... We will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKadenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 262 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great little lace in the centre of Pavia. Two hotel parking spaces in front of the establishment. Otherwise undercover commercial car park CCTV supervised 24 hours at cost of 7eur per 24 hrs.
Nice self service breakfast spread..no restaurant however. Plenty of good eateries all around the city. Recomend it to everyone on basis of solid service and quality all around. And plenty of hot water and warm rooms...at great price... .

Room Tip: Recommend room no 28...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We loved this hotel. It was a 1930's hotel full of charm and very clean and tidy.
The staff were wonderful and so happy to have English speaking tourists as they
say hardly any tourists come to Pavia. The hotel was situated just near the train station
and across the road from a funky little bar. The town is full of history and has a Medieval bridge
very similar to the one in Florence. Why go to Florence and battle with the tourists when you can go to Pavia and enjoy all the history in a small romantic town. Pavia has everything, the piazza, wonderful restaurants, a medieval bridge and old historic churches and NO tourists.
They just haven't discovered it yet.

Room Tip: We had a room near the top floor but I think any room in this hotel would be OK. The service was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrangipanniBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Aurora is a very clean and small hotel near the Pavia Central Raylway Station. Very kind the receptionists and helpful and also the breakfast is ok. The bathroom and the room were clean but so small. it is no more than 15 minutes on foot from the city centre.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alearezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I booked a room at the hotel Aurora but unfortunately there was no room in the main hotel so I ended up in the "dependance" rooms. I do not know about the main hotel but my advice would be to go to another hotel rather than end up in the dependance rooms. Soundproofing is not a concept that they master, it feels as if the people in the room next door are sleeping with you (not great when they come back at 3am). And the bathroom is ridiculously small - the toilet doubles up as a bidet :(

Room Tip: don't book a dependance room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frogabroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is ideally located, near the railway station.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff very helpful.
The price is very reasonable. I intend to stay there frequently during the coming year.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the same level as reception if you want to keep your window open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here twice during our vacation because my son had an injury and had to be seen at Pavia hospital and then we had to return for follow up a few days later. The hotel is modern and simply furnished in clean, blond and dark woods. We had two rooms - they are spacious and the linens and bathrooms are very clean. The breakfast is very good at 5 euros per person - lots of choice of pastries, yogurt and cereal and good coffee. The staff was very helpful. There is parking on the street or in a garage about 5 minutes' walk. This 3 star hotel was far better than others in this category we stayed at during our trip - consider it a 3++. Pavia is a small city that doesn't get a lot of tourists, which was nice. At night, everyone was out strolling in the two main squares - truly delightful. We stayed here in order to visit the Certosa di Pavia - which is highly overrated by the guidebooks. I can't understand why Michelin gives the Certosa 3 stars - I'd say it should have 1 star max. Anyway, if you find yourself in Pavia, try this very friendly small hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Bakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pavia
0.0 mi away
Moderno Hotel Pavia
Moderno Hotel Pavia
#3 of 6 in Pavia
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#4 of 6 in Pavia
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#5 of 6 in Pavia
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Riz
Hotel Riz
#1 of 2 in San Genesio ed Uniti
229 reviews
16.7 mi away
Motel K
Motel K
#1 of 2 in Casei Gerola
723 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#1 of 1 in Certosa di Pavia
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Viale Vittorio Emanuele II 25, 27100 Pavia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Pavia > Pavia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pavia
Price Range: $105 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and welcoming,Hotel Aurora is located near the train station, about one hundred meters from the pedestrian center of town. Its location allows you to better organize any sojourn in the city.Confortevole e accogliente, l’Hotel Aurora è situato vicino alla stazione ferroviaria, a circa cento metri dall’area pedonale del centro storico.La sua posizione permette di organizzare al meglio qualunque soggiorno in città. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Pavia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing