We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a special dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria del Collegio - CLOSED

Osteria del Collegio
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Great place for a special dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We celebrated our 26th anniversary here with our two sons. We had the taster menu, which came with wine for each course. It was a great experience - the food was delicous and the service was excellent

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    40
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Very good good and service, excellent choice! Well prepared, a very good value overall

Helpful?
Thank Gkrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Almost great meal but needs tiny bit of improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautiful location and setting in Pavia, you walk down to the basement and can see the foundations from the monastery from 10th Century. The decor is a little subdued, some planting would have broken up the colour scheme a little, but some good design going on here.

The other half went for the tasting menu while I went for the business lunch. Business lunch was pretty pedestrian (ragu and rolled veal with pasta) but it includes coffee, glass of wine and water and a dessert surprisingly enough, so you can't really go wrong if you are just hungry.

The tasting menu was either fish or meat. Started off well with some large prawns, but the mussels later on were incredibly salty, the tuna completely tasteless. The dessert was a huge chocolate ball which the waiter proceeded to blowtorch a hole into - presumably so that gushes of chocolate would fill the plate. All that happened really was that the chocolate burnt to charcoal and the smell of burnt chocolate is not pleasant nor does it taste great either. A warm spoon would have worked better. It was also huge and after 5 or 6 courses, just too much food.

However, even though I went for the business lunch, they brought a small plate so I could share the dishes, even portioning out some of the dishes for me as an extra portion and they were very generous with the wine servings, I think I must have had 2-3 glasses in all, which we weren't charged for. Great service, great location, but we were just yearning for a small increase in the quality of the ingredients and then they would have had a fantastic restaurant and 5 stars.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chillybeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
219 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Modern creative food in central Pavia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Pavia is fortunate to have such an attractive, comfortable, and stylish restaurant in the city center. When we did our research before this trip to Pavia using the usual guide books, we found very few restaurants that seemed to be of interest. Tripadvisor came to the rescue.

The Osteria del Collegio occupies a glorious space with arches and pillars and the restaurant’s design is spectacular. The menu is very creative and the service is welcoming and thoroughly professional. Our first course was maltagliati with calamari and a guazzetto di totanetti. There was nothing unusual about the dish other than the two-piece presentation: the pasta with its sauce, and a little bowl of little totani (totanetti?). One of our secondi was the Porca l’oca, which arrived as a plate with three compartments, each of which contained three small pieces of food, including roast goose, a small canapé, a piece of roasted pear, salame d’oca, a small tube of pasta filled with foie gras, and some vegetables. All of the tastes were interesting and they went together well, although the total quantity was not great. The other secondo was the petto di piccione su schiacciata di patate e bisque di crostacei, an unusual but successful combination of bird and seafood flavours. The bisque was served in a small jug and was poured around the potato cake on which the breast of pigeon sat. We chose the Vigna del Re Barbera 2009 of the Marchese Adorno from the Oltrepò Pavese.

The restaurant seems somewhat overrefined for Pavia, but it does what it aims to do.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stubled upon this place by chance, must have walked by many times without noticing. Went to dinner mid week. Good, snappy service, nice menu and well prepared food. Lacked a bit of atmosphere, maybe that's a mid-week thing. I couldn't decide if it was a smart, formal restuarant, or something a bit more modern and edgy. A place for celebrations, certainly.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Collegio also viewed

Pavia, Province of Pavia
Pavia, Province of Pavia
 
Pavia, Province of Pavia
Pavia, Province of Pavia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing