We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you're crazy about oysters”
Review of Ostriche & Vino

Ostriche & Vino
Reserve with
Ostriche & Vino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #627 of 8,180 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: $39 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navigli
Description: The idea of ​​opening this delicious French-style bistro came from the creative ex lawyer Francesco Zanoletti and from Vittorio Fenoglio, who has years of experience in restaurants you can taste oysters and fresh seafood (flown in daily from France and Ireland) combined with best French and Italian wines. The restaurant, warm and welcoming, offers, besides the aperitif served at the table, a vast menu of raw fish ( plateau royal ) and cooked fish ( soupe de poisson with toasted or fried crevettes gris and fish); sorbets and homemade desserts. For those who want to taste the oysters at home, are prepared away tray with ice and oysters already open. An aperitif and dinner, after dinner with any very unusual, where the scent of the French Riviera surrounds us nicely.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“if you're crazy about oysters”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I had been in Milan for two nights and been eating very average food; I am sure there is great food in this city but I have been unlucky: undaunted, I went to this place close to my hotel, without checking the reviews. Osysters are my favorite food: either they're fresh or not, either they're great or uneatable. They were great. The place offers a reasonable variety of oysters, different in taste but all with a shock of freshness.
there is also cooked fish on the menu, but fresh raw fish has no comparison to me therefore after my perfect expierence I didn't try anything else. The wine list is good with a wide selection.
the price: ok, it isn't cheap, BUT, I paid the same amount the night before for something without any taste at Navigli: Ostriche e vino was not as fancy as the other place maybe, but the food came from a different world: actually the wonders of underwater.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigliomediceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    228
    51
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great wine list”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

...to go with the oysters and other seafood on the menu. We shared half a dozen oysters and then went for the moules & frites and some carpaccio. Everything was presented with a flourish, but without fuss. A lovely evening.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Antequerana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Fresh fish and good prices: this is a rare couple in Milan. Oysters, shrimps, moussels, prawns...raw sea food fresh. Nice place, small and barely romantic, not much tables and soft lights. Nice service and good vine choice. Didin't try some dessert but they had offered us the "ammazzacaffè" at the end of the dinner.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silviaclodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“one of these simple, excellent places for fish”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

To me, Ostriche&Vino seems like a slightly unusual restaurant for Milan, and all the better for it. It has a French touch about it, which is rare in Italy, where people for some reason are completely uninterested in French restaurants. Their menu is almost entirely fish and, as the restaurant name says, "Oysters and Wine" is exactly what this is about. Maybe the owners are French..?

Anyway, you can have oysters from all over Europe, including St Michel ones, large seafood platters (Plateau Royale), and particularly good value are several versions of moules frites (Mussels with French Fries) that they have. Of course the menu is larger than that, I am just picking dishes I might especially recommend. In fact, I cannot remember any other place in Italy where I have ever seen moules frites on the menu...

Wines are decently priced as well, reasonable selection of cheap to medium priced whites.

The restaurant has a very pleasant ambience about it, all decorated with nautical stuff, little lighthouses on each table, etc etc. This might be usually tacky, but in this place it actually works. Very little direct light, so actually a really good place for a cozy, romantic dinner with your date or friends. Make sure to book a table in advance, particularly on the weekend this place will typically be full.

Strongly recommended as an interesting alternative to the many Sicilian fish places in Milan. Particularly if you like a little bit of French influence from time to time!

Helpful?
1 Thank greatgatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“my oyster bar in milan!”
Reviewed December 3, 2007

my oyster bar in milan!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ostriche & Vino also viewed

 

Been to Ostriche & Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing