We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find a better price/quality sushi restaurant in Milan than this one”
Review of Wasabi

Wasabi
Ranked #1,692 of 8,234 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stazione Centrale
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Hard to find a better price/quality sushi restaurant in Milan than this one”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I lived in Milano for almost two years. This is one of my favorite places to have a lunch. I feel that I owe this excellent place a review. I came here at least twice a week if not more. The Lunch menu set has an excellent value between 10-15 euro, for which you get primo, secondo and dessert. For example, the primo with 9 pieces of well cut, top quality sashimi alone is worth the price( you can choose also many other dishes). The secondo you can again pick and choose from a big selection of sushi rolls, grilled mixed seafood, noodle dishes, etc. The dishes are always fresh and beautifully presented on traditional Japanese plates, garnished with fresh flowers. I love the owner's attention to details using cast iron teapots for serving tea. My favorites are sashimi and scottato misto with a special sauce made in house. The place is packed with business people between 1 -2 p.m. when the Italians are on their lunch break. If you want a sunny place outside not during the hot summer days, you really need to arrive before 1.

I always brought my visiting friends to this place and everyone loved it. Milano is not short of Japanese all you can eat sushi restaurants run normally by Chinese owners, but this one is way ahead of the pack in terms of overall ambience, quality, price and service. The location is excellent, right by the tram stop 2/12/14 at Cusani stop, one stop away from Duomo if you don't want to get ripped off by those mediocre over priced tourist packed restaurants near Duomo.

For dinner, I can't comment. For special Japanese dishes, such as black cod in miso sauce, you would have to go to a more high end Japanese restaurant such as Hana, which is quite far away from the center with bus 61 near the Pagano metro stop or Nobu if you are on biz account.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriaxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    210
    148
    41
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Food, great prices, bad service but still great value”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is an excellent place where for only €10, €12 or €15 euros you can get a very nich Japaneese menu, with miso soup, gohan, sushi and even dessert. A very good option, the ONLY thing you would need to tolerate is the waiters lousy service because they don't write down the things that you order and it gets pretty confussing if you're in a group. BUT, the overall experience, ignoring this little messy detail, is very good.... excellent VALUE for your money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricardo-s-serrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fave happy hour in the city!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I've always loved sushi, after all, it is a California favorite. Wasabi is my go-to place for "aperitivo" (Italian happy hour). For 16€ you get a drink or cocktail and can help yourself to their generous, all-you-can-eat good-quality Japanese sushi bar. Now, I know there must be other expensive, higher quality sushi places out there but this place still takes home the cake when it comes to the price, location and really decent-quality food. Their raw salmon is delectable. Their maki rolls are incredibly fresh and savory. They also serve noodles, fried Japanese finger food and rice. The only downer is that if you're a drinker, then you'd have to pay 16€ every time you want a cocktail (it includes the sushi of course). I'm usually ok with a nice glass of Prosecco so getting a drink and all the sushi I can manage to eat for 16€ is actually great value for my money. Their happy hour starts at 6 or 6:30 and ends I think at around 10. Make sure you get there at a decent time so you can get the better part of their selection and beat the crowd (on the weekends).
You can read as many reviews as you want but as with everything, the best thing to do is to get out there and try it out for yourself, I dare say for almost anyone you won't be sorry!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank G-Rodmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good value for money for the apero”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I had the Apero for 15 euros and there was a buffet with sushi, rolls and some Chinese food. For the price paid, you can have a good dinner! Sushi is average quality but for the price paid the value for money is really good

Helpful?
Thank Ebelloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good sushi”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

nice food. Very good price for tasty sushi. Friendly staff. would go again. we sat at the rear of the restaurant, is not such a nice place as in front.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Wasabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing