We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Genius Downtown
Ranked #106 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is so clean, the staff is so friendly, the breakfast is so fresh and tasty, location is soo good that i don't want to give negative critics but i have to.. Do not take left side rooms next to the lift!!! Plus the airco. It all made it difficult to sleep.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Irmak Gamze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    329
    117
    44
    41
See reviews for
109
243
57
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Service was great, people are very friendly. Everything was really very good, but 9€ a day for wifi and just 2 ipads on reception with no possibility to work with comfort - in the 21st century it is ridiculous!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syuzanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Brasov, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, and found the hotel to be of good quality. The rooms are spotless clean, bathroom was clean and functional. From this point of view I think it deserves 4 stars. Breakfast was just enough, coffee was fabulous way way better than any hotel breakfast coffee I have ever had. The room had just enough space, after all we only spent the nights inside. The hotel offers WiFi, it's not free. This is OK, less people using it - better quality. The thing that was not OK tough is that the charge is 9EUR for 24 hours PER DEVICE. This is actually a rip-off. If I have 2 phones I have to pay for each of them. The location was perfect, close to Milan center.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octavian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were travelling on a business trip to Milan. We wanted to stay near the city center, and this hotel is well located, near the metro station and close to via Dante, and at a reasonable price. Room is ok and clean, but for a 3 star, there was no fridge, and no bath tub. Breakfast is so-so. And wifi is not free.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 105 - big room, with window but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ma Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located next to a metro station and next to the pedestrian area which leads to the domo.
Room is normal size, clean, recently renovated. Although our room was facing the street it was not noisy, as the hotel is on a side road.
Breakfast is ok. Coffee is freshly served from a machine.
Negative: WiFi is EUR 9 for 24h



Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank zerouno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights 18-20 april. and boy what a fab little hotel in such a great location 3 minutes from cairoli Station and 2 mins from Via dante where we would start out every morning. lots of shops but not that i could afford to go in!!!!
the hotel is small and the rooms are very clean and modern, fresh towels both days, hairdyer in bathroom and shower gel and handwash.
The breakfast was lovely and a smile from the staff on entering the breakfast room made you feel very welcomed, you can help yourself to Cereals, breads, cheeses, Ham. I had an omlette made 1 morning! choice of juices and coffee or cappacino. I would stay here again in a flash. The manager Marco was helpful with the Printing out of 4 boarding passes...Thank you....and thank you for our 2 nights in your lovely Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

After doing a thorough research a few months before my departure to Milan I finally ended choosing Hotel Genius Downtown for my Holidays. Although I had a few worries about my choice after I stayed in this Hotel I can surely say that choosing Genius Hotel was a really good choice. The Hotel has a perfectly central location and a very kind Staff. It will be one of my preferred Hotels in Milan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_P_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#127 of 428 in Milan
381 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#45 of 428 in Milan
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 428 in Milan
780 reviews
Centro Storico
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#8 of 428 in Milan
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genius Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genius Downtown

Property: Hotel Genius Downtown
Address: Via Porlezza 4, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genius Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in a great place. Walking distance of all major attractions and subway stop just around the corner together with the major shopping area of the city. Train connection to airport is only minutes away which make the Genius Hotel the best choice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Genius Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genius Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing