We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt right at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Genius Downtown
Ranked #116 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

When I return to Milan this will be my hotel of choice. At Genius Downtown I found a team that really cared about our comfort during our stay. From clean and fidy rooms to a really exciting top notch breakfast with freindly staff. Place very close to centre of the city this was home away. Highly recommend it, and we will return in the future for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruijferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 706 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Room 334 was spacious and new. Enough for our cargo and cabin bags. Lightings were good. There were bedsides and main lights. Bathroom was good. Water pressure was strong and good water heater system which was essential during winter. Continental breakfast was provided and it has a decent spread. Breads, fruit, cereals, cold cuts, cheese, hard boil eggs, coffee & tea etc. The chocolate croissants are delicious. It was so close to duomo area yet in a quiet lane which we like it.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Rooms are nice and spacey - this is compared to rooms in other hotels at this rang in Italy. We were here beginning of November and heating did not work so bathroom was vary vary cold. Breakfast was pretty satisfying - again compared to standard italian breakfast. There was enough variety for everyone. The location of this hotel is really convenient for people who are coming only 2-3 days. You can get to all the important places in short time and everything is walking distance. Also important and vary convenient is that train station which goes to airport is 10min walk. I can recommend this hotel for friends, family or solo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

a wonderful design hotel in the city centre of Milan. and a more than excellent service. When i arrived by the hotel it was possible to park my car in front of the hotel. unloading the car something went rong, left my key in a locked car. I asked Marco (owner) to call the car dealer how to open the car. We arrived on friday late in the afternoon, so the dealer was not able to come before monday. Marco went to my car, the trunk was still open, and looked if he could find a way to open the car. Let me try to open the car for you he said, and togheter with a employee from the hotel he tryed to open the car. after 1,5 hour he had succes and my car was open. It was amasing for me and my wife that the owner from the hotel take so much time to help us. This is more SERVICE than you can expect. hereby i want to give my respect to Marco for wath he did, thank you very much. And not to forget the hotel, a very good hotel if you want to stay in the city center of Milan. Design rooms with everything you need, very good breakfast and a helpfull staf. If you go to Milan you have to stay here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hennie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Genius for one night in October.The room was clean and met our needs. The price for water,beer etc was lower than prices in the immediate area.The breakfast selection was good.
The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. ( All within a short walk)
When we checked in the receptionist was extremely helpful.The next day she excelled herself again when she helped us locate our Coach which we had booked to take us to Malpensa airport. The street is narrow and the coach driver had to park away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Well situated and close to metro station.
general impression: cold (so-called modern design)
standard room: very small, was infested with mosquitos, but hotel provided repellent apparatus after first night. Very poor lighting in the room.
refurbishment works were going on, so maybe improvement is to be expected.
personnel was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

On the plus side, we received good service and the breakfast was good for an italian hotel. But I would never stay here again because of the millions of mosquitos in the room. In October! The multiple stains on the walls? Killed mosquitos...yuk. our rooms were nothing like the pictures on their web site, very disappointing. Old old old furniture, nasty bedding.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MaretSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#123 of 428 in Milan
388 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#32 of 428 in Milan
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 428 in Milan
1,400 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#37 of 428 in Milan
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genius Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genius Downtown

Address: Via Porlezza 4, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $168 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genius Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in a great place. Walking distance of all major attractions and subway stop just around the corner together with the major shopping area of the city. Train connection to airport is only minutes away which make the Genius Hotel the best choice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Genius Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genius Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing