We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms and very quiet but poor costumer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Genius Downtown
Ranked #114 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean rooms and very quiet but poor costumer service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have very mixed feelings on this hotel.

The property was great; very clean, great location close to the Duomo and the metro, very quiet, and the breakfast was very nice. However the general attitude of some staff was a bit off putting. Most interactions with the general manager were perceived as quite condescending and somewhat uncomfortable. Any time we had questions it was a hit or miss whether or not they would be answered and if they were we were treated as if we were stupid for asking them. Other staff were friendly but completely uninformed.

I've traveled quite a bit and also worked in both the hotel and tourism industry and this kind of attitude is intolerable. People work hard for their holidays and when they choose to spend money in an establishment they should be treated with respect. If the management does not enjoy working with tourist that need a bit of guidance- then get out of the industry.

Otherwise, if you know Milan and just need a peaceful respit from the city, great choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshleyDashlyDont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    308
    113
    43
    40
See reviews for
106
228
55
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We made a reservation for this hotel via hotels.com, and when I emailed them to confirm the reservation, they replied that they are currently holding our reservation, but as there is a major event while we are in town, they may have to RELOCATE us to another hotel if necessary.

As this trip is our honeymoon, I wanted to make sure nothing goes wrong, so I wrote back to ask them where they might relocate us to? The hotel's reply was, THEY DON'T KNOW!! Basically they will just stick us in the nearest available hotel on the day of our arrival.

They also suggested that as it's a busy time in Milan, the relocation will MOST PROBABLY happen, and if we are on our honeymoon and don't want anything to go wrong, we should consider cancel our reservation and book somewhere else.

During our visit, the annual furniture exhibition is happening in Milan, so there will probably be no hotels available at all!! The nearest available hotel may be very far away from city center or some horrible accommodation.

As we only have 1 day in Milan and didn't want to waste time to be RELOCATED, we decided to cancel our reservation. When the room was released again in hotels.com, the rate became Euro 800 instead of the Euro 125 that we booked at. So I strongly suspect that hotels.com mispriced the room when we booked it, that's why the hotel doesn't want to hold our reservation for us, because they want to sell it at the higher rate.

If the hotel had contacted me beforehand to explain the mistake in pricing, I would totally understand! But they didn't contact me at all!! They waited for me to contact them, then told me about the relocation. If I hadn't email them to confirm my reservation, we find out on the day of our arrival.

I think the location of this hotel is great, but the service is horrible!! Fulfilling your guests' reservation is probably the most basic requirement for a hotel! I would not recommend Hotel Genius Downtown to anyone, and travelers should be especially careful during peak season!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waffle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viaggiatore_nonstop, Direttore at Hotel Genius Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank for reviewing your experience with us and others. In your particular case, the hotel was overbooked for one night is April. It happens, even if we work in order to avoid such things to happen. Being represent through more than 1000 companies, OTA's, distribution systems througout the world, sending out a stop sales might be tricky. Many take up to three days to respond to our request and your reservation arrived in the meanwhile. Please note that booking with third parties website does not provided us with customers info details. As soon you wrote us, making us aware of your honeymoon, we decided to let you choose how to proceed letting you know about the facts. It is clear to us now that this effort was not appreciated. Regarding the room price posted after by Hotels.com is simply a backup measure to make sure rooms are not sold due to unavailability offering an unattractive price. We received in the meanwhile cancellations, therefore it would be however great having you with us, doing what we like to most: hosting. Best wishes

Marco F.
Genius Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le marche, italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

It's not always easy to find a central hotel in Milan that is quiet and close to the metro. On a side street off the main piazza of the Carioli/Castello metro stop, makes Hotel Genius Downtown very quiet and very central, just two stops from the Duomo. Renovated but still with charm, the rooms are comfortable with large showers and bathrooms. The laminate floors in the hallways are a little noisy - carpet would be better. Breakfast was adequate. I liked that they made caffe latte to order instead of machines which many hotels have these days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calecerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Staff was great, the rooms were a tad on the small side but nothing out of the ordinary for Italian standards! It's located off of a side street so it was a little hard to find but the local resturant staff was more than helpfull in getting us there! Will be staying their again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SupeSIx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff was pleasant and efficient. They made you feel comfortable and VERY WELCOME!
The location was all but absolutely perfect. Though on a side street, it was well lighted and clean.
The breakfast, though I always look for American buffets, was good and a lot.
The units we stayed in were not huge but neither was it tiny as with many European hotels I have stayed in. It was clean and fresh everyday.
The wifi, however, was a little iffy. But I'm sure that's one issue that the hotel owners will fix asap. Besides, with a city as beautiful as Milan (less the graffiti of course) how can one stay long enough in the room and use the wifi?

I can say a lot more but whenever I come back to Milan, this is where I will always hope to stay. That is if they have a room available for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street which are the best rooms. If you get a room facing the small '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenArrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Genius hotel is really genially placed near the Duomo and just a few minutes to Cadorna station where the trains from Malpensa airport are finished.
Room was clean, big enough. Bathroom OK.
Disadvantage was noise from the street only, but it stopped after the midnight. It think that everybody should be prepared for the noise from the streets late evening in Italy, it is standard there.
Breakfast was of the good quality, plenty choices and espresso available.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet room if you are tired and want go to sleep early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We are glad that the lady madam at reception welcome us warmly in the cold rainy night after we left Rome (5.5 hrs train ride).. The room is newly refurbished, freshly painted in soft violet; it was simple & comfortable & yet spacious. The price is reasonable compared to others that i checked online. It is near to the Metro station (walking distance is 3 mins). Very convenient & i will surely return if i visit Milan again.

Interestingly, you will find note written on the card holder for room key: "Sharing with us the fact that you are a trip advisor reviewer will not entitle you to a better room."

I like that - they value & they are honest to every customer regardless who you are... :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdriaSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#123 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#70 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Centro Storico
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#11 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genius Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genius Downtown

Property: Hotel Genius Downtown
Address: Via Porlezza 4, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genius Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in a great place. Walking distance of all major attractions and subway stop just around the corner together with the major shopping area of the city. Train connection to airport is only minutes away which make the Genius Hotel the best choice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Genius Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genius Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing