We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good room, Appalling Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Genius Downtown
Ranked #119 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed October 17, 2012

First the good news - this hotel is very well located on a quiet side street in the center of Milan. It is VERY convenient for walking to the main areas of interest, the cathedral, the castle, La Scala, the shopping area, etc.

The room itself was nicely done - clean, modern, with minimal furnishings as necessitated by the size of the room (tiny). Good bed, linens, etc.

The breakfast was sub-standard and we skipped it after the first morning, preferring instead to go to one of the many wonderful cafes in the area.

Now if only I could say something positive about the desk staff. Unfortunately, the best was merely competent and the worst was outright rude and offensive. How on earth he manages to keep his job is beyond me, but he should be dismissed outright.

If you expect pleasant, personable and welcoming staff, this is NOT the hotel for you. If you have a thick skin and can put up with such insolence, then the hotel's location makes it a good choice.

Room Tip: There was a fitness center? A pool? No member of the front-desk staff bothered to tell us of ANY p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wabuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 719 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is its central location although that meant a lot of noise outside throughout the night. We arrived at about 12:30 and we were told the room was not ready and we should come back at 3pm. Not a good first impression after a long trip to Milan. We assumed that all rooms were occupied although was it actually possible? Walls in the room were paper-thin and an American couple in the room next door was arguing during the night and also screaming at each other the following morning at 6am after they've checked out. We also had to pay cash and look for the nearest cash machine in the dark.The lady at the reception desk was very nice, however, another man that replaced her later on lacked a proper customer service. Taxi service to Linate airport from the hotel was 60 euro but you can get a metro ticket for 1.50 euro to get there in 30 mins. Won't stay there again and won't recommend it either.

Room Tip: Room not facing the entrance, away from the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Location is good. My issue is with what seemed like the owner. She claimed that the credit card machine did not work, and we would need to pay in cash. Remarkable thing is that the phones, internet, and fax machines were functioning. She offered to let us leave a signed open charge consent to charge our cards at a later date....not! There were no hair dryers in the two rooms we stayed in, which she acted unconvincingly "surprised". There was no shelf of any kind in the showers to place your personal products. Although there was an unlabeled dispenser in the shower filled with either soap or shampoo..... The room only had a sheer for a curtain, with a large light outside our window lending to a light-filled room throughout the night. The air conditioner was broken as well. Not a hotel I can recommend, or would stay at again!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcycrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viaggiatore_nonstop, Direttore at Hotel Genius Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your patience writing this review. I was quite surprised while reading your words because I expected you to mention city tax that your refused to pay or the noise caused at night comming back from the disco, disturbing other sleeping customers. I may agree with you if the owner was not so polite the next morning after handling an entire floor of customer angry because of the noise. Regarding to your remarks, so all web users may know it is not allowed to smoke in the rooms. Nevertheless you insisted in doing so. Keeping the room window open does not makes airconditioning to operate (like in most hotels throughout the world). Regarding to payments, you have booked through travel agency. You had nothing to pay at departure and credit card is taken to cover any incidentals. Standard policy in most 4 and 5 star hotel around the world. But just to be clear what happened that specific week-end: all our communications lines are digital, except for the bank machine that is still analogic. Power falldawn resetted all line to digital again and changing one of the lines back to analogic required phisycal maintaince of technician. This happened Monday morning. All our superior rooms have to dispensers provided by Geneve Guild, shampoo/shower gel in the shower and soap near the sink, each of them identified by factory label. Hairdryer was burn out and will be replaced. However, we have spare hairdryers on request. I hope that you where still able to enjoy our city and that you found the best deal considering our location. I would like to have you again with us. See u soon
Marco Ferreira
Genius Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Located just a small block from the main street Via Dante, and 5 mins from Castello Sforezesco, this small hotel may look plain from outside compare to others. But don't let this deter you. The rooms inside are modern and clean, and of a good size, unlike other hotels we stayed for our Italian trip when the room is dingy and small and outdated. I am very happy with my stay there and if I were to return to Milan, I will definitely try to book with them again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelingFoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with our two girls, a family room, large room, large bathroom, great location, close to the hop on hop off bus, the staff were a great help. the breakfast was also very good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay if you want to visit milan historical zone.
The hotel's location is exceptional, next to train station and a lot of interest place to visit.
The staff was very helpful and nice. The room was always clean and the air conditional always worked when we were there.
A hotel that we will recomend to stay.

1  Thank SDDWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I had booked to stay at this hotel but made a huge error. I booked for the previous month instead of the one I wanted. Therefore I forfeited the money I had paid and had no room to stay in on our arrival in Milan. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked for that night so it seemed to be a disaster. This was to be our last hotel after travelling in Italy for 5 weeks every other booking had gone smoothly. There is a lesson, check and recheck your dates before you book.
The wonderful Marco at the Hotel Genius came to our rescue and quickly found us another hotel close by and inexpensive and booked it for us. As he had a room available the next night, he offered to come to the other hotel and collect our bags while we were out sight seeing the next day and take them to his hotel so we could stay there the following night. It was a lovely offer but we ended up staying at the hotel he had found for us.
Sometimes when you travel plans go astray and problems arise but it is so nice when a local comes to the rescue and helps you solve the problem. This is why I felt I needed to write this review to highlight the helpfulness of this staff member at this hotel. It speaks volumes to me.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Traval2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#33 of 431 in Milan
839 reviews
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Brunelleschi Hotel
Brunelleschi Hotel
#101 of 431 in Milan
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#128 of 431 in Milan
502 reviews
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#7 of 431 in Milan
1,450 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#191 of 431 in Milan
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genius Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genius Downtown

Address: Via Porlezza 4, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $144 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genius Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in a great place. Walking distance of all major attractions and subway stop just around the corner together with the major shopping area of the city. Train connection to airport is only minutes away which make the Genius Hotel the best choice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Genius Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genius Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing