We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, fabulous view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Giacomo

Da Giacomo
Ranked #735 of 8,082 Restaurants in Milan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food, great service, fabulous view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

After an hour or so in the museum, Da Giacomo makes for a very pleasant lunchtime stop before exploring the rest of the Duomo area. Get there at 12:30 and you can't pretty much choose your table and the views across the Piazza to the Duomo are fantastic. It's a shame to miss the seafood in Milan and this is no exception - well prepared dishes with excellent, fresh ingredients. Staff are friendly, professional and very genuine. Our visit made us want to try the other Giacomos to the east of the city. Not a cheap eat here, but a very good one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    202
    97
    56
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbounre
Level Contributor
249 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Best view of duomo form glass box room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Wonderful view of the duomo and great for a special occasion. I recommend ordering the salt baked sea bass. When in milan eat the seafood. As it is the distribution point for all of Italy's fish, it doesn't get better than here. This was one of the best fish dishes I've ever had and it was am amazing amount of flesh, enough for me to give large amounts to 3 members of my family. Who ordered pasta dishes and were a bit disappointed with them

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsWorldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty ambiance nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Don't go here if you expect a cheap dine but if your in for a real dinner some quality enjoying a wine and take your time this is a good place for you , experienced staff and a nice menu. I'm definitely coming back to this place , a nice red wine was served from the house and a starter main dish was a pasta with scampi all well flavored, see you next time

Helpful?
Thank DRoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old School Charm for Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you want to experience the charm and class of an old school restaurant specializing in seafood then this is the place for you. Is it pricey Yes. Is it worth it? I thought it was. Classical and straightforward preparations. I will agree with a previous reviewer that the surprising part of the meal is the free starter ... a thin crust pizza with anchovies.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotlantabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It didn't really meet my expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

For the price we paid, we expected more than we actually got in this restaurant. The grilled seafood salad was nice and the portion was good. The sea urchin pasta was way under cooked since we could even see the hard center of the noodles with a different color than the outside. When we asked the waiter to send it back to be properly cooked, he didn't even apologized. When the pasta came back, it became soupy and too salty. Another dish we tried was the grilled shrimp and squid. The texture was nice but the flavor is nothing special. Two ppl ordered one appetizer, one pasta and one main course w a glass of wine for a bit over 100 EURO. Honestly, the best of that meal was the free starter, the anchovy pizza with thin crust. LOL. At least the flavor is unique and rich!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Giacomo also viewed

 

Been to Da Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing