We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cracco Peck ? Cracco Berk !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cracco

Cracco
Ranked #256 of 8,030 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $143
Cuisines: Italian, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centro Storico
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cracco Peck ? Cracco Berk !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Let’s be clear: this restaurant does not deserve 2 stars, and it is likely that the experts from Michelin were in the middle of a severe flu when they did their assessment.
First thing first: the food. It is globally disappointing and even clearly bad for some of the dishes. The expectations are downsized at the very beginning, when one tries to take a small canapé served as an aperitif: it is glued to the plate… Hard to believe, but the red mulet was not fresh.
Regarding the wine, no good news. Although the wine list is quantitatively impressive, it seems expensive and no coherent with the 2 stars. The brochure mentions “an accurate selection from all the best wines present on the world market“, but there is no pinot noir. Not a single bottle of pinot noir in this 2 stars restaurant!! The wine waiter tried to sell a 295 € bottle and finally suggested a wine from Sicilia that costs 195 €. Not worth a quarter of this price…
So the “cucina” and the “cantina”: zero.
But what deserves a more aggressive comment is the service. When you take 782 € for a table of 4, you ought to stick to the most demanding rules of serving. The waiters were all not that nice and we had difficulties getting appropriate details about the various dishes. Obviously, the waiters were not Italians and that choice could be the origin of the problem. As an example, we were there to celebrate a birthday and we have asked a special desert with candles. The waiters came before the desert to ask how many candles should be put on the cake: the surprise was dead…
Of course, the restaurant is in the very center of Milan and the place is nicely decorated. But are we supposed to eat the curtains and to drink the water of the vase?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,006
    358
    212
    169
    173
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED, BAD SERVICE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I wrote this letter just to warn that unless you want your evening ruined, please avoid this place at all cost!!!

We came from Singapore and arrived in Milan via London on 1 March 2013. We heard about this restaurant and wanted to give it a try so we place our reservation weeks in advance while in Singapore. Just to to ensure that we have a booking, we called them in the afternoon to confirm with the female staff. Upon arrival, we were shocked to learn that there is no available seat as they claimed that they were trying to call us in the afternoon to reconfirm our booking but they have they were unable to contact us.

We were so tired and exhausted from our trip as it was already 8 PM, and one of the male staff suggested that we can come back at 9.30 PM for the next available slot. Little did we knew that that this was just halfway of our nightmares. We waited 30 minutes at the entrance with elderly and a pregnant lady among the 4 of us. I have never been ill treated in my whole life before and such staff did not even have the initiative to offer seats while waiting nor did the staff came to inform us about how long more did we need to wait. We wanted to walk off but eventually decided to wait as it was already past ten and we did not know where else to go and our hotel is 20 minutes away by taxi.

We were finally seated after 45 minutes wait and really felt so disappointed that none of the senior staff even came to apologize about the situation. We ordered the menu degustation which cost at 165 euros before tax and service charge. we started with the crystalized salad presented on a cheap wooden box and followed by 8 courses which to us and considering the price tag, far from any gastronomic experience that we had at the Noma or Allan du Casse in London.

We paid almost 1 thousand euros with wine (luckily we rejected the 400 euros wine that the sommelier insisted on) and swear that we will never come or recommend this place.

SDR from Singapore

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SDR1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had read up on this restaurant and was really looking forward to the night. While the food was excellent, and the additional tasters brought to the table were really fantastic, the service was just all wrong. I have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world and just cannot fathom how when such perfection comes from the kitchen can the service let it down so badly. The attitude of the waiter was just awful, a snooty glare, any question on the dishes was met with disdain, serving main courses for 4 guests, then when they were finished bringing the main for the 5th.

The premises are beautifully appointed, the food is fabulous, the wine list is a bit too much, weighs a ton, but some simply stunning options. The attitude of the staff, old world looking down the nose, any question was seen as a hassle, like an intrusion, the reality was their knowledge of the menu was lacking, the maitre D, I won't even comment. For 250 a head, you'd simply expect better. My advice, stay clear

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Heverlee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not like before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Last five years I went 3 times to Cracco because of his very good quote in the restaurant reviews.
First time it was delicious. Now he is not "up to date" anymore!!!
Not tasty anymore, not original and the prices of a three star restaurant in the Guide Michelin.
I will never go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spaansdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT ..HATS OFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

A very modern restaurant, the food is very creative. A basket full of vegetable chips, intense fruit flavoured wafers; cocoa coated hazelnuts with an amazing taste were served with the drinks. The delicious starters of rissoto and the divine main course (some ravioli with mushrooms) were really fantastic. The wine selection is very good. The waiters are very helpful. The table offered to us was one of the best seating in the restaurant.
Every good thing comes for a price and yes this is an expensive restaurant but worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracco also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Cracco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing