We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel and really helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Palais Hotel de Charme
Ranked #136 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor: it was really nicely decorated and had loads of wardrobe space, nice armchairs/seating and modern bathroom facilities but with stylish marble fittings.
The hotel only has 18 rooms so the facilities are limited but there is a nice lounge area (with a drinks table so presumably it also serves as a bar)
We thought the breakfast choice was fine: cold meats, eggs (cooked to order if you like or just cold from the buffet), cereals, fruit, pastries, yogurts and, yes, a toaster! Coffee was made to order and very good (rarely find decent breakfast coffee!)
The reception staff were really helpful: recommended and booked restaurants for us, checked us in online for our flight home (and printed the boarding passes), sorted the room safe without making me feel like an idiot and organised a taxi back to the airport
The hotel location is good about half way between the Duomo and the canal district: about a 7-10 minute walk to either and on a tram line that will take you to just behind the Duomo.

Room Tip: The 4th floor suites (only 2 of them) have a nice terrace which would be fabulous in the summer; I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katejcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madda-mizar, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your exquisite review. I hope to see you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 303 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We liked this hotel very much. Good position, rooms are big and quite. Staying in this hotel is like getting back in time. Very romantic and old-fashioned place.
People who cares about modern facilities shouldn't choose this place for sure but those who would like to feel a little bit of old Milan would find this here.
Breakfast was not very reach but tasty and fresh. Beds are really comfortable, all is clean. Not many people work there but if all was done on time.
Thank you for pleasant time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madda-mizar, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you like staying in a freezing room for 2 nights (out of 3) with staff doing nothing about it, and getting a laughable 10% discount on these 2 nights, this could be your choice.
Beautiful building owned and run by an incompetent manageress (Fummagali ).
Very thin staff that does not cater to basic requests of guests.
The hotel being on SLH system misled us to stay there: this place does not qualify in any way to SLH standards!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adikahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madda-mizar, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

The couple told to the receptionist that the room was too cold and he checked at computer the temperature. It was 22°C. We proposed guests to change room and we heated the new room with 2 degrees more than mormal temperature (in bathroom there were almost 26/27°) and our manager checked it personally. We gave 10% discount for the room change.
No one before told us that temperature in rooms was not ok, at least too hot not too cold.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

What a disappointment. This place is falling apart at the seams. The rooms are tacky and are in desperate need of an extensive make over. The previous one is terrible and cheap. Whilst the hotel is perfectly habitable it is by no means luxury. There is one staff member on the counter during the day.that is the whole staff! Apart from a cleaner and a person down at the depressing breakfast. Not even a toaster! You can apparently order an omelette (no one asks if you want one or even advises that it's possible to order) but it was awful. This hotel should not be included in the "small luxury hotels of the world" Its laughable.It would be more suited to a "best western". I am sure the manager will criticise my remarks based on what i have seen from other comments but it just isn't up to scratch. Go elsewhere as this hotels definition of luxury is very misleading. Don't be fooled.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank balisurfer187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madda-mizar, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

The mansion, owned by an aristocratic family from Milan, preserves the discreet charm of old style mansions in Milan.
The restoration of the seventeenth-century building wanted to convey to the traveler the atmosphere of an elegant house in Milan: outside discreet, rich and welcoming inside. To do this valuable antique materials have been used such as floors in breakfast room and lobby and works of art as the Roman bas-relief in the courtyard, and decorators of the Brera Academy have been employed to bring out the Lombardy craft.
At full capacity the mansion provides employment to 11 persons: the G.M. Mrs Fumagalli, Gian Mario, Davide and Lorenzo welcome guests, Banik and Khaled, during the night, keep an eye on your requests, Janina prepares breakfast (including eggs), Lito porter, Kalinka, the housekeeper, with two maids reorganizes rooms.
On all the tables in the breakfast room guests find a menu called "Petit Bonjour" written in English with our proposals including eggs. We prefer to prepare them at the moment for a better service. On the buffet you can find Italian products carefully selected after a deep research
I confirm that in the buffet room there is a toaster, probably as the guest has not seen the menu on the table and the 11 employees, he has not seen the toaster.
Lastly, the hotel fully complies with SLH standards as confirmed by SLH reservations we receive from SLH club members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This property is beautiful. My room was a gem; old world details with newish bathroom. The location was pretty good, about 1/2 mile from the Duomo. And not much within the block..though the Mexican restaurant across the street from it was actually pretty good. (I was tired, hungry and didn't feel like walking far, so I went to the Mexican place)...there is also a deli and bakery down the block.

Room Tip: I had an upper level room (3rd floor) and it was very quiet. I faced another building which was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleinCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madda-mizar, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed there for 1 night in September, on our last night of 2 weeks in Italy.

Pros:
- walkable distance to Dome and other nearby locations
- upon checking as members of SLH we were upgraded to Junior suite which was on the top floor, had a lovely outdoor terrace

Cons:
- car parking was in a neighborhood of 30EUR per day, which we only found out when checking out of the hotel
- breakfast is served in the dark basement, very average, especially for the price
- internet in the room didn't work. We had to call front desk twice to inquire about it. After the second time we were told it doesn't work with Apple computers and the only way we can use internet is downstairs in the lobby. So, if you have Mac, iPhone, iPad - be prepared to sit downstairs
- on a day when we checked in they had a photo shoot going downstairs in the lobby, so there was nowhere to sit, every time we wanted to get in/out of elevator, we had to climb over a model and cameras. It felt like we were always in their way intruding, nobody even apologized to us
- I wouldn't normally mention something like that, but for 300EUR a night we were disappointed that wine glasses in the room not only didn't match, but half of them had IKEA logos

Doubt we will be staying there again, there are plenty over hotels in Milan who offer better service and make their customers welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madda-mizar, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your review.
About your con:
- Our breakfast includes: multivitamine juice, blackberry juice, pomegranate juice, fresh milk, butter, salted butter, margarine, fresh bread (not frozen bread), fresh brioches, 1 or 2 home made cakes, home made biscuits, muffins, muessli, corn flakes, bran tablets, fresh fruit, home made friut salad, fresh orange juice (made for every client at the moment), 6 kind of honey, 6 kind of jam, different kind of yoghurt, actimel, yakult, 4 kind of dried fruit, salami Milano, ham, roast turkey, smoked salmon, smoked tuna, 4 kind of Italian cheese and a la carte, without extra charge, eggs and so on. Also drinks are a la carte, we have no dispensers and guests appreciate a lot this kind of personalized service.
- Parking price is written in our website and on slh website is written that it is not free
- I have an Iphone and Ipad and every time in hotel I can use them everywhere
- Shooting was an exceptional event and we tried not to disturb our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights over half-term at this lovely, small hotel. We had 2 junior suites which were both of a very good size. Each suite had it's own kitchenette but no cutlery or crockery, so not sure what you would use it for. Tea and coffe making facilites were provided, which was good, but we did need to ask for extra milk, which was readily supplied. The rooms are well decorated and the cleaning was exemplary, everywhere was spotless. We upgraded to have robes, slippers and toiletries, the toiletries we used were replaced every morning. The service of the staff here is excellent but un-obtrusive. Breakfast was not good, there was little for us to eat, bread, jam and croissants really, if you get there early enough! Once we searched and found 2 packets of cornflakes but they were not replaced. There is a lot of traffic noise, but slightly better if shutters are closed! Location is very good though.

Room Tip: I think rooms on higher floors may get less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rover500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madda-mizar, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your review. We hope to have you again as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Antica Locanda Leonardo
#123 of 430 in Milan
405 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#173 of 430 in Milan
385 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Maison Borella
Hotel Maison Borella
#98 of 430 in Milan
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#104 of 430 in Milan
1,494 reviews
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#102 of 430 in Milan
405 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#19 of 430 in Milan
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palais Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palais Hotel de Charme

Address: Via Molino delle Armi 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $180 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palais Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palais is a jewel of charme in the autentic centre of Milan. Really close to the exciting Corso di Porta Ticinese and just few steps from the famous Duomo Square, this seventeenth-century residence represents a marvelous example of the old Milan's genuine elegance.Hotel Policy:Please note that all guest’ bookings with the period of stay from September 1, 2012 onwards must pay a city tax of 4 Euros per person per night (for a maximum of 14 consecutive nights) directly to the hotel during the check out.Please be kindly informed that this is an additional charge and it is not included in the room fee.Please kindly note that the breakfast is a traditional homemade Italian breakfast buffet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petit Palais Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing