We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe, cheap, clean stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cityhotel Central Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cityhotel Central Station
Ranked #379 of 430 Hotels in Milan
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Safe, cheap, clean stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Certainly not a destination but more of a way-point if you are travelling via Milano Centrale.

Francesco, who was working the desk the night I checked in, was very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are dated, but clean and relatively quiet considering the location right next to the train station. A 'bar' and 2 pizza places are very close by for food and drink options.

Ten minute walk to my airport bus. 25 minutes to Linate.

Va bene!

Room Tip: Booked via Hostelworld. Rooms facing front are likely a bit more quiet than mine facing the main, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclinjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    32
    12
    10
See reviews for
8
9
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good location right next to Stazione Centrale, although it seemed a little dodgy when we arrived at 3am! Our flight had been delayed so we arrived at an absurd time, but the hotel desk was still attended by a friendly man. He didn't speak English, but he was patient with our bumbling Italian.

The bed was large and comfortable, and the en-suite was adequate. It was mouldy and damp though, unfortunately.

My only gripe is that the sound of the motorway and people shouting at all hours kept me from getting any sleep. Maybe you'd want to request a room at the back of the building if you don't do well with excessive noise...

Room Tip: Request a room that does not look out onto the street, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaEscocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescello, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

this is a very well located one star hotel,coz it is really very very close to the central station, you don't expect luxary here, but very convenient for moving around, take away restaurants, laundry mat, supermarket, pharmacy...all around hotel, you may also plan the oneday tour for other cities taking this one as the basement. It is also just next to the airport shuttle bus terminal, so as you are flying in very late in the midnight, you feel no worry for heading to this hotel, same as the situation for a early departure like 4.00am. We don't feel nothing strange for the station area, as like all main station of a big city, we found all kind of people but we couldn't just stamp them dangerous, who knowns if they are thinking the same way of us.

Hotel service is ok, they offer you free map and information about the transportation and things to see, friendly and helpful, no breakfast served but several bars or food store around for fulfill the stomach.

If you prefer to be close to the Milano central station and don't want to spend to much, we suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rena468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
188 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Amy thank you- she was so very patient and informative with helping me get to places i needed to on this very short visit.
Free wifi a plus
May be noisy but I did want close to station and I got it.

Room Tip: Maybe not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albenga, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

My husband and I went to Milan only for business and we needed something close to the train station and cheap.

If you're looking for some luxurious place in Milan, obviously, this is not the place for you. I can't imagine anyone choosing this hotel if what they want is comfort and beauty: it's a hostel. But I expect serious problems from any hostel I stay in, particularly with cleanliness. This is the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in and the neighborhood isn't *that* sketchy (maybe if you're alone it's slightly more questionable). They have a computer with internet that's E3/hr. There is now at least one employee who can speak English. It's not very quiet at night but that happens a lot in cities. The staff are all very friendly and in the evening, they have a gate to lock out anyone who doesn't have a reservation. After you check-out they'll even let you leave your bags there if you have to stay the whole day in Milan and don't want to carry them everywhere.

Overall, I was pleased because I was expecting real grit and sketchiness.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Ended up staying here since I missed my flight from Stockholm to Milan, and train from Milan to San Remo. It's one of the first cheap hotels that popped up in the website while browsing though the expensive airport internet in Stockholm.

Didn't have a good feeling about the area at night when I arrived. Could hear some shouting from my room. The nearest restaurant was Chinese that served terrible orangey pasta. The shared toilet was dirty.

Good thing was it is literally 50 steps away from the central station. The last thing I want was to miss another train ride. But if you're not in rush for anything, maybe you can find something else especially if you want comfort at the end of the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lelelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#209 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Arno
Hotel Arno
#267 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
OstellOlinda
#365 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci
Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci
#272 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#292 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Bicocca
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#286 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityhotel Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Central Station

Property: Cityhotel Central Station
Address: 1st Floor Via Giovanni Battista Sammartini 15, 20125 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Cityhotel Central Station 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cityhotel Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Central Station Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing