We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, comfortable rooms”
Review of nhow Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
nhow Milano
Ranked #28 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The first thing that strikes you about this hotel is the decor, modern and very impressive. Every floor is like an art gallery (exhibiting modern art from local artists) and they have very unusual funky furniture. The lobby and the rooms are colorful and stylish.

The staff were friendly and more than helpful, we asked for a restaurant suggestion and had one of the best meals of our stay in Milan.

The rooms are very nicely appointed - lovely robes and slippers. A generous bathroom pack with very nice contents for the bath or shower. The beds are large and comfortable with good quality linens.

The hotel is located just outside the inner city center, you need to walk 10 minutes to the tram station which takes you to the city center in another 10 minutes.

The buffet breakfast was great with a good variety.

The only downside was that wi-fi is only free in the lobby and you have to go to the front desk to request a voucher with a code that is valid for 30 minutes usage. Not very convenient and it gets annoying after a while.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aylin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 2,015 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed there last week for one night only. It's well positioned and seems to have been just redone completely on the inside. It's made to look super modern and fun and pop and I think they went over the top - I don't think that influenced my opinion at all but all the furniture is over designed and there are no chairs that look like chairs in the lobby (diamonds, colored blocks, muffins...) actually there's an art piece that resembles a chaise longue and they had to put a "do not sit down" sign on it (hahahaha). Anyways, the room was big and comfortable but I payed a lot for 1 night and regreted not calling other hotels and b&bs in the same area that costed half the price. Because other than the crazy furniture there was no value added at all. It's a very big hotel and I wish the NH people a lot of luck to try and keep it full at those prices. So my word of advice is compare with other hotels before booking, i felt like I could have saved half of the amount I payed staying in a simpler but just as comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judecarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I choose Nhow based on their website and a recommendation by my company. Nhow is an old warehouse transformed into a trendy hotel. I liked the property and room very much. The style is the highlight. The hotel internet is so slow it is practically unusable (web mail took 10 minutes to open). I was in town to present at a conference and the hotel refused to make an iron or ironing board available, insisting that I have housekeeping do it for me, but of course, it would take several hours for them to complete this task. There is nothing much located near the hotel and taxis are required to go anywhere. The hotel bar is expensive and the bartender is always absent (needed to ask front desk to locate them). I would stay away from this hotel unless you enjoy high prices and low service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Other reviews are in line pretty much with our experience. We only stayed one night and had to catch an early train from the Central station. Arriving from Malpensa the previous evening we took the express train to Cadorna and Metro to Porta Genova and then cab to NHow. We were glad we didn't walk from Porta Genova. The Porta Genova station didn't seem to have a lift and escalators only went up, so with two large suitcases we decided to avoid it in the morning. In all we spent about 30 euro on cabs but some of this was because the exit from the hotel goes around behind it and there is a large gate which was not open and did not open. We had to drive back around past the hotel entrance to find we were still blocked in by a large truck!

We also didn't realise too that there is a bed tax of 4 euro per head additional to the hotel cost. Anyway, we loved the fit out and style of the NHow, and our room was quiet with a very comfortable bed. The front desk was friendly and helpful and we would be more than happy to stay there again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank grazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having just returned from a short break to Milan, we were very pleased with the NHow Milano. As other reviews have noted, the hotel is a little out of the city centre but we found it easy to get to all the sights by the metro (equally it was easy enough to get the malpensa express and metro from the airport) and one day we walked to the Duomo (was pleasant and took us about 35-40 minutes). Yes, the area is somewhat industrial, but we felt safe walking around day and night. Similarly, the hotel is well located for the Navigli area, which has plenty of bars and restaurants and a good atmosphere in the evenings. We really liked the design of the hotel and found our room to be clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as it wasn't included in our deal, but ate pastries and coffee at a little cafe near the bridge over the railway which was both tasty and affordable. If you are looking for something very central and are not happy/able to walk far then this hotel may not be for you but if you are looking for good value for money (well, on last minute.com at least!) with easy access to the city centre then we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heva19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very modern and different hotel that will suit some tastes...but not all!
Breakfast is self service, with coffee and hot water from a machine which let down the breakfast
experience, as it was not representative of good Italian coffee!
The rooms were very good with a orange glass walled dressing room and curtains deviding off
an excellent bathroom. In there was a walk in shower and loo area, again behind glass.
The corridors are very dark and the black decor makes for a somber stay. It had a feel of a Malmaison esque style in the bedroom corridors. As a light sleeper the railway line at the rear of the hotel was active during the night which was not good. The biggest let down was that having taken a reservation for dinner, on arrival we were told the resaurant was closed that evening (Friday) and Saturday and Sunday too !? So a walk of 10 minutes through what is not a very nice area to find a restaurant and take a calculated chance. On a very positive note, the staff at Nhow were very pleasant, accommodating and polite.

The area like most of Milans suburbs has more than it's fair share of graffiti

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A little late with this review as I stayed here back in April but beter late than never. The first thing that strike you about this hotel is the decor, modern and very impressive. The staff are more than helpful and the rooms are clean comfortable and the trendy glass wall in the shower was interesting (if you've been you will know). This hotel is not right in the city centre but with the station about a ten minute walk away you can be in the centre of Milan in about another ten minutes. Near the hotel there are a few bars and resturants and many more are situated around the train station.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHitman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Enterprise Hotel
#31 of 430 in Milan
1,708 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#37 of 430 in Milan
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
690 reviews
Brera
NH Milano Touring
NH Milano Touring
#51 of 430 in Milan
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nhow Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nhow Milano

Address: Via Tortona 35, 20144 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Milan
#24 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#24 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#24 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $116 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — nhow Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nhow Milano hotel in Milan benefits from a great location in one of Milan's most dynamic neighborhoods. The "Tortona e Navigli" area has been converted into one of the most fashionable and modern districts of the city center. The area is filled with enticing restaurants and bars, exhibition centers, as well as design and photography studios. Nhow Milano is the place to be for all art, culture and fashion lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your nhow Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Milan
Nhow Milano Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing