We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hip!”
Review of nhow Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
nhow Milano
Ranked #29 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We really liked staying at this very hip hotel. It is not central but near an area Navagli which has a great night life with a lot of restaurantS and bars anda lot less tourists.
We had the standard room which is not huge but totally fine for one night and a cool design... The bathroom too had an interesting design.
Breakfast was good with a really big variety.
Cocktails in the bar in the evening were fantastic. Recommend black mojito.
About 30 mins from central station with metro and walking.
Recommend for couples and groups of friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC_Malmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were instructed to park in the rear of the hotel upon arrival only to be told the next morning that we were charged 25 euro. We were not given any notice/ information that we would be charged. I would suggest parking on the street in front of the hotel and walk the 20 meters. This somewhat ruined the stay for us.

Also, the reception was quite unhelpful and unwelcoming in their response to our requests for further information about the room, parking and internet. Definitely affected the cool vibe that has been created at the hotel.

Otherwise, very cool and edgy hotel

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bouvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for a night on our travels through Italy and were very pleased with it. I cant recommend staying here for anymore than a night or two which is why it was perfect for us.

Pros: The place looks like a gallery in some areas and pee-wees playhouse in others. We caught a well needed second wind after arriving here at midnight. Breakfast was free and the best free buffet style breakfast we've ever had. Mimosas and piles of fruit and bread. The room had its minor flaws but overall was comfortable.

Cons: Your kind of in the middle of nowhere. Its a good thing the hotel kept us entertained enough for the evening since there is nowhere to go. The bed was a bit stiff for my taste.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebo996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked at Nhow for a couple of nights whilst in Milan recently, it was very much a last minute booking and we just wanted somewhere nice to stay that wasn't to far away from the centre.

We got a taxi from the airport (Licante) which was about 30 Euro's as we didn't want to waste to much time on public transport. Check-in was quick but they did try to push for a room upgrade which we were not interested in. They also told us breakfast was included in the room rate and after eating breakfast the next day we found it wasn't and was an extra 16 Euro's each, which was annoying to say the least. The food was fine with lots of choice but definately not worth the price. Much better to go and get coffee and pastries from one of the places nearby.

The hotel is very designer throughout with lots of interesting spaces. As you approach the lifts in reception don't look if you don't like heights. Rooms are minimalist, clean and the bed was very comfortable, I had a good nights sleep both nights never waking once which is not normally the case when away from home.

The hotel is a bit of a walk from the nearest station and can be tiring getting there in the heat, however from there it is easy to get around on the Metro and is only about 15/20 mins to the Duomo.

If I visit Milan again I would probably book a hotel nearer to a Metro station, other than that I would have no hesitation going back (but would double check breakfast first).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0rkpieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at the Nhow Milano hotel during my recent trip to Milan for a conference.

I had looked at the brochure of the hotel and it was a treat for tired eyes when I stepped into the hotel lobby. Very very designer and chic hotel with similar rooms.

The corridoors are a little dark and each floor welcomes you with something unique....

I LOVED THE PLACE.

The food was also very nice though I must admit that most of it was already included in our Conference Plan, but it is definitely worth praising.

The staff was very warm and made me feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anupam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I spent my first night in Milan at the Maison Moschino which cost twice as much as Nhow Hotel and was just a bit too cool for its own good - verging on being unwelcoming. Nhow, however, is just the right amount of cool and a really good value buzzy place to stay. My room was big and airy, the bed linen good quality and the breakfast included and fantastic (unlike Moschino where the breakfast may have been fantastic but was an extra 20 euro so I never found out). WiFi is not free, which is a pain, but otherwise I can thoroughly recommend this Milanese gem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esskayell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The design is definitely in the "interesting" category. It won't be everyones's cup of tea for sure, since it's quite contemporary.

As you approach the hotel it becomes obvious that this is not a fancy neighborhood. You can find 15-20 mins walk away restaurants and bars, but the environment is less than impressive. It looks a bit too industrial -no surprise, since the hotel looks like it was some kind of factory before. You arrive to the hotel through a tunnel that looks like it would be leading to an underground garage -instead, that's your hotel. The first impression is weird after this and seeing the plastic furniture outside (colorful, not inconvenient).

The lobby is fine, even impressive. The front desk is OK, nothing more, nothing less. They speak good English which is not a given in Italy, not even in restaurants etc. I had only very simple questions and requests and it worked just fine. At busy times however they don't care much who comes to the counter, who was first, who's queuing -you have to fight it out yourself.

Every floor has a bit different theme but the overall idea is the same: something unusual, without being shocking. The corridors are dark, it reminded me to some theme park attractions (the scary rides type of thing). The doors are black with white patterns on it, at a first glance it looks like graffiti.

The equipment in the room is OK. Everything is functional, industrial-art deco styles mixing, if that's your thing, you'll like it. The sizes of the rooms vary a lot among floors -I got a bigger one on the 4th floor which had extra space but others were not so lucky, I've been told their rooms were quite small, with not much space left besides the bed -this is second hand information but from multiple people (my colleagues). Everything works and it's clean enough (the industrial style has some dirtiness about it by default, eg. some concrete parts in the bathroom). The bathroom equipment works fine, their own branded things like shower gel are good -it seemed though that the shampoo and the shower gel are exactly the same in different bottles... Small luxuries in the room are the bidet and the fact that there's a power outlet next to the bed so you can charge your phone comfortably, unlike many other (much fancier) hotels... I also had both a ceiling shower (holes in the ceiling, interesting) and a handle. The shower has a half-transparent glass wall separating it from the bathroom, so I cannot recommend for sharing the room with people you don't want to look at taking a shower (at least the silhouettes). The minibar is expensive as always but this is the same everywhere (eg. a soft drink is 6 EUR which is ridiculous in Italy by any standard). Instead of a wardrobe, my room had a wardrobe-shaped area separate by see-through curtains, that had the hangers etc -interesting idea. The bed and the pillows however were one of the best I've experienced in a hotel, a perfect mix of soft and hard -this is obviously highly subjective though.

Breakfast is fine, the selection is good, but it's exactly the same all the time. There's enough stuff however, well distributed in the room, that the crowd is never extreme.

No lunch is available as far as I'm aware -not sure though since I was at a business trip where this was organized for us separately, but it seemed like it was no problem closing the whole restaurant down for us only at lunchtime... Same goes for dinner.

The staff is OK, but again, I had no outstanding requests so cannot comment on how they would react if I would have had a problem.

Overall, the hotel is OK with some interesting extra coming from the design but losing points in other areas like location. No reason not to stay here if you know about the downsides and OK with them.

Room Tip: 4th floor higher up rooms (412 and above) seemed to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n0rdicguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Enterprise Hotel
#31 of 431 in Milan
1,734 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 431 in Milan
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#72 of 431 in Milan
2,768 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#8 of 431 in Milan
6,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nhow Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nhow Milano

Address: Via Tortona 35, 20144 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Milan
#24 Business Hotel in Milan
#24 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#25 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $109 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — nhow Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nhow Milano hotel in Milan benefits from a great location in one of Milan's most dynamic neighborhoods. The "Tortona e Navigli" area has been converted into one of the most fashionable and modern districts of the city center. The area is filled with enticing restaurants and bars, exhibition centers, as well as design and photography studios. Nhow Milano is the place to be for all art, culture and fashion lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, NHHotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your nhow Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Milan
Nhow Milano Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing