We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milan on a budget”
Review of Salerno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salerno Hotel
Ranked #243 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Our front street facing room was quite noisy as it was still warm enough to warrant the opening of the window. But for the price in Milan with access to the Central Train Station it really can't be beat. Do not expect anything fancy, it is clean and modest in typical European (not American standard) fashion. Don't exprect much in the breakfast department either. What's with the low level lighting in Italy?

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2009

Although the A/C was broken during our stay, the room was cool enough to sleep well. The hotel is a 5-10 min. walk from the train station and is close to a subway station. The interior was pretty nicely furnished and we had a balcony as well. Breakfast was provided, it was the minimum juice and pastries that other hotels might provide. Nice little TV with a good selection of satellite channels.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chueybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

good location (close from metro). Very friendly staff. Nice rooms. Nice breakfast, you won't go hungry. Regarding to other reviews : yes there is hot water, it just takes a little bit of time to come. I would go back to this hotel on my next visite.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blablablaAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights and we have been suprised, the hotel was clean, just 1 minute from shopping centre, the stuff was very kind and the price was very good. So I can recomend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristyna_hanzlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL !!!!

The Salerno hotel in Milano was the worse surprise for us during our 4 days trip in Italy.
We booked the roooms via phone , we were supposed to stay there 3 nights for which we got the confirmation of the owner Il Signor Guiseppe Whoever ...Unfortunately , in a pure italian manner , the above mentioned signor Guiseppe , in a try to get as more money as possible , had double boooked his whole hotel and on the 3rd evening we ended up with no rooms .The owner did not bother himself to "kick out " the half of his guests who had booked their rooms in advance and on a lower price in order to receive some euro more from other people , ready to pay more.
If you wouldn`t want to take the risk to make a deal in a real "Italian " manner you better look for other hotel and do not trust to the "word " of the owner !!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BulgariaBulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed our first night at the Rallye Hotel, a short walk from the Salerno, and then would have stayed another had it not been fully booked. The hotel clerk suggested the Salerno as it is very close to the Rallye Hotel. It ended up being far superior to the Rallye (old, run-down, ceiling fan but no air conditioning, curt staff), for only slightly more money. It has recently been renovated and is great value. The hotel staff is also very helpful and friendly. We had a room that faced the smaller side street.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank Junemtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2006

We were a little wary about booking a one star hotel, but were arriving in the early hours of the morning and begrudged paying three times as much for a hotel we would only be in for a few hours.

All in all, we were pleasantly surprised with the standard of the room. Our main criteria is cleanliness of the rooms and this one passed with flying colours. We have stayed at three or even four star properties which were not as clean and tidy.

Yes, the bedroom is fairly basic and not particularly spacious but the bedding was fine, the bed nice and firm and the pillows comfy. Our room was on the first floor and had a balcony overlooking the back of the hotel and the piazza to the side.

There was a TV (no English channels, but we weren't in the room except to sleep), adequate room for clothes in the wardrobe and double glazing plus shutters kept out the noise from the street. The bathroom is small and has a shower but no bath (we would never use the bath anyway) and the towels were a bit of a mismatch and not the softest, but like the bedroom, everywhere was clean.

Arriving late is not a problem as the hotel has a 24 hour reception and is only a short, straightforward walk from the Central Station. Before we left, we did consider taking a taxi from the station based on some comments we had seen about the area, but once we arrived, we felt totally comfortable walking the 10 minutes or so as the area seemed very safe and well lit with plenty of other people about. The guy on reception during the day is very friendly and helpful and speaks good English.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the shopping street, Corso Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Que
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#158 of 430 in Milan
616 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#257 of 430 in Milan
213 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Demo
Hotel Demo
#309 of 430 in Milan
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bagliori
Hotel Bagliori
#254 of 430 in Milan
180 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel St. George
Stazione Centrale
Mythos Hotel
Mythos Hotel
#183 of 430 in Milan
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salerno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salerno Hotel

Address: Via Vitruvio 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $80 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salerno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salerno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salerno Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing