We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Budget Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Arno
Ranked #266 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Budget Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed here a few times since 2011 and only now getting around to writing a quick review. The hotel is close to the Centrale metro station - maybe a 10-15 minute walk. It's attached to another hotel called Hotel Eva, but they both share the same staff. The first time I stayed here I had a room upstairs from the main floor of the hotel. The room had a full size bed and a sink. The shared bathroom/shower were just down the hall and were always clean enough. During my next visits I stayed on the main floor and my rooms were nice for the price I was paying. These rooms were spacious, had clean hardwood (or maybe fake hardwood?) floors, a sink, desk, and bureau. Wifi worked well throughout the hotel.

The staff were always friendly with me and suggested a few nearby restaurants (the restaurant at the ground floor of the hotel building is pretty good). Down the street there are two small supermarkets, which I found convenient for buying snacks. The closest metro is about a ten minute walk away along safe, pleasant streets. You'll be just a few stops away from the city center. There is a large park - the public gardens - a few blocks away, too. It's nice place for walking and relaxing. If you want to walk to the Duomo it'll take you about 30 minutes.

I recommend this hotel for someone looking for an economically-priced hotel in Milan. I stayed here a few times, after all, and if I had disliked the place, I'd have found alternative lodgings. Barring the possibility that the hotel's quality has diminished since I stayed a couple years ago, I think that if you stay here with fair expectations - a clean bed and hotel with free wifi, but without much luxury - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you don't like the first room you are assigned, ask to see others. I found that some rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMizoSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    65
    72
    23
    14
See reviews for
14
73
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel was adequate but nothing more. The rooms were not very dirty or very clean, but clean enough to feel comfortable unless you go looking in the corners (mouldy corners in the shower was a bit offputting). The water takes a while to get hot, but it does eventually in the shower. The linens and towels smelled like they are cleaned with a very cheap vinegar based soap which didn’t smell great. The location is closish to the centrale station (10 min. walk), however that makes it also closer to train lines. You can hear (and even feel) trains passing by in your room which would make it hard for a light sleeper I imagine. Wifi was good. Overall OK, but definitely not luxurious or anywhere you would want to be other than for sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cad_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

For the price i paid the hotel is great (because of location). But the room was clean enough. And the shower is not bad, but it better to book room with own shower! Feels pretty safe in the hotel, bcs there are many doors from the street till our room! And of course elevator - it very very funny because its smallest elevator i ever seen :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

As the title says, I have never felt so unsafe in a hotel before. Even though we were travelling with a tour group and I guess this place must have a deal going with these tours, my husband and I were so grateful to have only stayed here a night!
We had the ground floor room near the service desk and so it was always noisy with people coming in and out. The room did have a recent bathroom upgrade and water was hot (plus). However, being the ground floor and having a door that led outside we were so worried that someone could just open the door and come in!
The room smelt horrible and had a damp feel to it. I'm sure there are plenty of other nicer hotels to choose from in this historic city, perhaps avoid this one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Nimes, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was very very disappointed with this hotel.
I stayed in Milan last year in a "hostel" with one of my friend and we paid 8 euros for a 4 persons dorm, and it was more clean, and more cozy than this one.
I was on my way back home to France, and I wanted to sleep in a nice hotel, after 3 weeks on the road, sleeping on carpets and couches. I started looking for a hotel with wifi and Parking, and on booking.com, this hotel came up first...and what a joke! When I got it, I've realized how wrong I went with this, It's at the 4th floor, oh yes, there is a lift, for 2 persons max, which is never down.
The guys at teh reception were super nice and friendly though, but when I asked for the password they said " oh there is no wifi in your room, but you can sit on the couch next to me " ( yeah right) then I asked where to park my car and they answered " oh down in the street, it's illegal, but the cops never come" so really I was pissed off. then I went to the room, and as mentioned by others before, uncomfortable bed, crappy mattress, light bulbs missing, unbelievable ole furniture, noisy...
Really I've lived in hostels many times, and none of them was that bad, so 35euros a night for this? For your own sake look elsewhere, if your looking for a cheap stay go in a hostel ( a real one) and if you want a cozy stay, avoid this one, I think anywhere else would be better, I left at 8 am the next morning and that was the best part of my stay!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow, and sleeping bag, and mattress, and bed ;) and then maybe you'll have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cla_0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice budget hotel. But if you want go there, be sure that your credit card is good. We arrived there 23:30 and we were very confused because our reservation was canseled. Manager said they chek our card somehove and there was no money, so they cansel our reservation.(we have changed our card, but than we reserv hotel we dont have yet new card, and I call to hotel the day before we arrived to admit that we came tommorow). So we must sleep in another hotel, and only on the next day thay found hotel room for us.

Helpful?
Thank kockiy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

+ friendly staff
+ pretty central, walking distance from the Central Station
+ very good price for Milan
+ great cheap Italian restaurant right next door

- you have no say whether you are booking hotel Arno, or Eva, even though both pose as hotel Arno on the web
- not a hotel, but really a hostel
- shabby, very bvious signs of wear
- unclear whether breakfast is included or paid for (3 EUR, but not worth it)

After reading the reviews here I confirm that they are true, especially the negative ones. The place is run like a hostel (they expect you to hand in your key when you go out). The lift is tiny, but it is an old house. The interior is shabby and quirky, but the bathroom and the room were clean - although the bathroom fixtures are on the worse side of wear. The AC worked fine. My room (in hotel Eva, number 6, right next to the bathroom) had a window that provided no view. Also, hotel Eva is accessed through a really narrow winding staircase, which is difficult to get a suitcase up. Totally unsuitable for people with impaired movement.
Basically, you get what you paid for. OK for a sleepover, but I would not recommend it for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Insist you want hotel Arno, not Eva.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mogucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#208 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Cityhotel Central Station
Cityhotel Central Station
#379 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#323 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#290 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Porta Venezia
Del Sole
Del Sole
#270 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Milano Hotel America
#237 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arno

Property: Hotel Arno
Address: Via Lazzaretto 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Arno 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arno Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing